We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de los Volcanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. This is a small family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were basic but clean and we had a lake view from our top storey room. Breakfast was huge, fresh and tasty. We had dinner there one night and the owner-chef went to great trouble to ensure our vegetarian diet was catered for. (This proved more difficult at other places in Guatemala). Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 402 for a window view of the lake but beware there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    82
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
81
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very homey. The staff and owners treat you like a member of the family. Paco the parrot is a wonderful asset to the hotel. The rooms are spotless, the breakfasts are delicious. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

stayed here 4 nights with friends. We booked 5 rooms. All of us agreed it was great value for the money. Rooms are basic, but not sure there are any upscale hotels in Pana anyway. Breakfast was great. We loved the tropical choice...a huge bowl of fruit with youghurt and granola. Very filling and tasty. The staff, especially Julio, were very accommodating and friendly. We hired Julio to take us to Chichi for the sunday market. He stayed with us to see the church and guided us thru the maze to get to the indoor market. The hotel is on the main street and was a bit noisy, but I discovered after spending another 10 days in other parts of Guatemala, that you can't avoid the roosters crowing at 4am or the motorcycles revving their engines at 6am or the fireworks that go off whenever they want. comes with the territory.

Room Tip: they told us ask for rooms in the back, but it really doesn't matter. Bring ear plugs. Best tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayanNawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice guesthouse located just a couple of minutes from the lake, in the main street of Pana. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They are on the basic side, but have everything one needs (except perhaps for toiletries). Breakfast is really good and generous. They also organise tours and shuttles, which is what we done. They organised all our shuttles on Guatemala and our lake tour. Overall and considering the room rate, this is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koyasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Felt very at home with the wooden furniture and floral bed spreads! The rooms are clean with free daily water and cable tv. Importantly the staff are very friendly and helpful and speak English. Wifi works in all rooms even the top. No view of the lake but good views of the mountains and volcanoes. Don't forget to say hola to the parrot on your way out!

One of the nicest places we have stayed in Central America in our budget. Free breaky too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessienrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had been in the Posada two weeks before Eastern, having a double room with private bathroom. The room was clean, the bathroom as well. The furniture etc. was already a liitle bit old, but well maintained. The price for the room was fair considering the prices of nearny hotels. Breakfast is included and good, WIFI is also free. Water was hot and plenty.
Due to its location directly on Calle Santander it can be noisy at nighttimes.
The hotel offers shuttle from and to various places like Antigua, Chichicastenango, etc. at regular prices.

For the confirmation of a reservation the hotel likes to debit the credit card with 50% of the overall price - the rest needs to be paid on check-in. To pay the residual amount with credit card an additional charge of 5% was requested, so we preferred to pay cash instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were thrilled with our one week stay at this hotel. The owner and all staff are friendly, accommodating and always helpful. We chose a room with 2 beds as it was larger than the 1- bed rooms and it was quite spacious for a week. The washroom is large with a great shower and the staff are fastidious about keeping the entire hotel spotless! The breakfast was hot and tasty, the fridge always had COLD beer, and sitting in the courtyard was like sitting in our own living room with a constant supply of entertainment. Within a day we knew everyone staying there and traded great travel stories and info. The TV had a surprisingly large number of English channels, although we only watched late in the evening as there was so much to see and do.

The boat day-trip around the lake was a highlight, best coffee in town is at the Crossroads (near the Church @ other end of Pana), and be sure to ask where the market is and spend some time in the maze. Lots of great shopping nearby, although the street vendors can be quite aggressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrootLoop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#9 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Property: Posada de los Volcanes
Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing