We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Rooms are modern and clean (we were on second floor), great location, but the best part was the staff - they were tremendously helpful with tips, advice, calling a coffee farm that we wanted to visit. Free internet in the lobby. And it's worth it to pay a bit extra for their van rides - they have seatbelts, and the vehicles are fairly news.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — no coffee in the a.m.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aafuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    95
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
95
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Posada Los Volcanes is in a great location and is affordable, safe, and an overall great deal. The hotel is very near to the Lake and you can walk to everything in Panajachel. The staff are the friendliest I encountered during my travels in all of Guatemala. If you go, be sure to check out Sunset Cafe just down the road for views of the sun setting over the lake.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank vikstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I spent 2 weeks in guatemala as an independent traveller.Initially I hesitated ,because i was looking for place with charm and lake views.So i was pleasantly surprised to find a place that had a view on the 3d foor and specially on the 4th(I had room 402).
What made posada de volcanes so special was its owner julio and its staff.(francesco and carlos) .Julio called me in guatemala city to tell me that he is picking me up and then he sent a mimibus just to pick me up for the 3.5 hrs drive to pana.I was the only passenger all for $25 as this was a shuttle service.
When I wanted to extend my stay ,he called other hotels and heped me find a place as he was full.
The people here are very reliable and honnest .they gave me back Q100 of overpayment with out my asking

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pierre45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

This property was the best value so far in my 5 trips to Guatemala. The location was excellent, the staff friendly and several were bilingual The owner arranged transportation and introduced himself when I arrived. There was a wonderful restraurant right next door--and a coffee shop on the other side that opened before anything else in the morning. Best- this room was clean and not expensive. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Countrylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Posada Volcanes is a clean, safe, very affordable hotel, just steps from the Lake and walkable to everything in Panajachel. The best part about the hotel is the staff. They arranged all of our tours - the lake, Chichicastenengo, and shuttle to Antigua, and even emailed us a photo they took of us on a tour. They also made us dinner reservations at Hotel Atitlan and did our laundry. On the downside, our room was slightly musty, and a roosters next door woke us up every day before dawn. Still, it was a decent hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — Wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Noisy roosters next door
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Guatemala is a great country to visit. My husband & I especially like the Lake Atitlan Area. Panajachel is the main town. This hotel is modest very reasonable prices. The owner Juillio was especially nice, picked us up at Guatemala & drove us to the hotel. The hotel is in a great location on the main street of town. Approx 2 min walk to lake-front & boats available for hire to other towns across the lake. This is a comfortable place to stay, safe& clean. A great Bargain!!!! Would definatly stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — Location & price
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annslatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

We stayed here for three nights with our four children. The rooms are very clean but a little on the small side. The rooms on the 4th floor have vaulted ceilings. One of the problems we faced was that the hotel is near to what seems like a hundred roosters, which have the habit of making noises quite early in the morning. The staff of the hotel are extremely helpful and polite.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — roosters
  • Tips/Secrets — It is more convenient and cheaper to rent a minivan for the day to see the markets than it is to sign up for the tour buses
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4children
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Property: Posada de los Volcanes
Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing