We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty hotel, good location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de los Volcanes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights.

The hotel itself is pretty - has an elegant style, there's a small well-kept garden, and a good view. The rooms are quite spacious and have clean and well furnished bathrooms.

Highlights for me were: 1) the guy on reception (Fransisco, I think) was very friendly and knowledgeable, he gave us advice on how to get to places and put up with me quizzing him relentlessly on his life in Guatemala, 2) the parrot at reception, Paco, who is a delight.

The tours/shuttles that you could organise from the hotel were reasonably priced at the going rate (think they were ATI TRANS).

The location is convenient for the boats (lanchas) and is right next to where my shuttle from Antigua arrived. On the other hand, its maybe a 10-15 minute walk from the busier part of Pana town (which seemed to us to be away from the waterfront). That didn't bother us.
Its a good hotel, and you pay a premium for the service and luxury. If I was staying in Pana again, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor probably has the best view, but there's no lift. All rooms are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rukhru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
81
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The owner is extremely nice and accommodating. The location is really nice, only a couple blocks from the lake. The rooms are cozy but really small, for the money it was perfect. Would stay here again. The only complaint I have was that in paying for the shuttle service they get over on the exchange rate so you end up paying a little more than other places. Finding private transportation in guatemala is so easy you need not use the shuttle at the hotel. But overall I was highly satisfied and truly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is really pretty, and the staff are very polite and helpful. They speak good English and can set you up with pretty much anything you want to do in the area - from paragliding to trips to other cities. The location is great, as it's right on the "main" street and an easy walk to shops, restaurants, lanchas, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bg0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the perfect home base for exploring Panajachel and the surrounding villages. excellent breakfast and access to everything. Fracisco and Julio will take very good care of you. great wifi and excellent value. we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Roooms are small ,but with seating on the balcony outside it becomes a spacious place.The top floor is the best with a wonderful view on the vulcanos and glimpses of the lake through the trees.Located in the town, restaurants and shops all around. Breakfast is extra, but a choice of sevral dishes and the guatemala breakfast was great.
The staff is helpful and everything is sparkling clean. julio, the owner, became a friend!

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 293982Barho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have visited Panajachel many times and this is my favorite place to stay. Even though it is just off Avenida Santander (very near the lake), it is quiet (yes, there is the occasional rooster crowing and/or dog barking, on Saturday nights some club noise, but if you can't handle that you should probably stay home!). The rooms are spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, and the balconies are delightful. Free WiFi and cable tv are plusses (I was there just after the US presidential election so was pleased to have cable tv). They now offer delicious breakfasts included in the rate. The staff is exceptional - exceptionally helpful, friendly, efficient. I love gardens, and there is no garden, but the other positives make up for that. For comfort, security and value, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie44Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

When we were looking for lodging in Pana, this place was rated #1 on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a great value, clean, well located, with some of the most attendant staff we've experienced, including the owner Julio Estuardo Parajón C. and his wife Jeanette. Francisco and Pablo are front desk staff par excellence. Others were Jose (cleaned rooms) and Jonathan (weekends). All made us feel like family.
We knew we were in good hands from our first email contact with Julio. He responded quickly and answered all our questions and made everything easy. We made arrangements for Julio to pick us up at the airport and he was there like clockwork. The trip to Pana with him was most enjoyable...as he shared many tips of what to see and do. His wife Jeanette was one of the most gracious and kind hosts we've ever experienced...more like a good friend rather than someone we were renting a room from. She personally saw to any need/request we had. She also oversees and helps cook the breakfasts every morning that come with the room. You have your choice of 4 different options. My wife and I are vegetarian and I am also gluten free, but Jeanette and Francisco took care of us and made sure we got plenty to eat.
Julio and Jeanette started this Posada roughly 12 years ago, with just three rooms, and over the years they have built three more floors and now have 12 rooms. Their hearts and souls are in this place, they've overseen every little detail, and you can tell the difference.
Its always a pleasant surprise when you stay in a place and come away with not only a pleasant experience and memory, but with new friends as well. That was our case at the Posada de Los Volcanes.

Room Tip: #403 is on the top floor and has 2 queen beds and has a view of the lake. Our favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pswasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#9 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
28.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Property: Posada de los Volcanes
Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing