We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place!”
Review of Pana Rock

Pana Rock
Ranked #14 of 80 Restaurants in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Probably Panajachel's take on Hard Rock Cafe. Main seating inside is the interior of an old bus! Can write your name and/or comments on side walls and ceilings. There's other seating and a bar. Large screen showing music videos or sports info. We were a large group with prior-set choices; all good comments. Tipico Plate (or something like that) was a small thin steak; good flavor and mostly tender; others raved about the pizza. Margaritas & mojitos good. Friendly service. Local bands play later in the evening; takes requests. Can get a bit loud with conversation and music, but a fun place. Patio seating gives views of the street vendors and locals and tourists passing by. Fun place for a simple, but good, inexpensive meal, conversation and music, or just stop for a drink while out strolling or shopping.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had dinner here with a large group. Everyone was very happy. The pizza was great - even compared to some of my favorite pizza in the states. My Mojito was really good - one of the best I have ever had - probably because the fresh mint grows all over the place in Pana. My friend had the steak - I had a bite and it was very good. The band playing the night we were there was good. They were playing American music from the 70s and 80s - which is my music. The waiters was nice. This was an overall very good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Traveled with a group of 10, and we all loved it. I had one of the best steaks I have ever had! Great mojitos, and fun music. Other travelers commented on the great pizza.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lunch and drinks”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stopped off here for lunch and a few drinks. It was pretty quiet so we were served right away and just ordered some nachos to share and a few beers. The nachos were ok served up with the usual super fake cheese which seems to be normal in Guatemala.

Sounds like the place was pretty good in the evenings but unfortunately we did not get a chance to see that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“This Place Rocks!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

While we did not eat here, but only came for drinks and to hear the music - it rocks! It is a nice place with friendly staff and a great band.

As a special treat, the band "allowed" a member of our group to play the drums during one of their songs. He brought the house down!

A fun evening in a fun place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pana Rock also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Pana Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing