We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a group tour. Our 5th floor room was quite comfortable and roomy and, as far as I could tell, quite clean. There were 2 double beds, big desk and a nice balcony with 2 chairs & table and a great view of the volcanoes and the beautiful grounds of the property. Also, plenty of space by the bathroom to store luggage and spacious bathroom that also had a hair dryer.
Husband couldn't always get the wifi to work in the room, so he would go down to the lobby area and use the one computer available to guests. Luckily, he never had to wait for it.
There is NO AC in this hotel! They provide one of those "tower oscillating fans" but we left the sliding door open and did not need the fan.
Since this was the "low season" we had the place almost to ourselves! On the first night, they warned us of possible noise from a party and early on we could hear some music in the distance but, by the time we went to bed, that was not on our radar.
Breakfast was a varied and well balanced buffet and some of the items changed the 2 mornings we ate there. Yes, the omelette station was a welcome change from our previous hotels during our trip.
My only "complaint" was that in order to get to the 6th floor roof terrace, you needed to get a staff member to open the door that gave access to it and we were not told about it.
On our second day, I tried to capture a beautiful sun set between the 2 volcanoes, so I rushed up the stairs and found the door locked. Then I got on the elevator and punched no. 6, after about 1/2 a minute wait, the elevator brought me down to the lobby! I told the manager and he offered to call someone to take me up but, by that time, the moment had passed and I declined his offer.

Should also mention that one of the elevators had a tendency to malfunction on and off. They said they were working on it.

As others have stated, the staff was super friendly, as was every one we met during our 2 week trip through Central America.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajilimojil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights. the lobby and public areas are a little dated, but when you step outside to the pool area it is fantastic! all rooms have views of the lake and volcano. we upgraded to a suite, it was located on the corner and was worth it, huge with a wrap around porch.
i thought the food was terrible. if you are a little more adventuresome, there are some great places to eat by the lake and also you can get any kind of food in town.
overall, if you want a hotel with some amenities and a pool i think this is a great choice.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view, but the elevators are slow.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank bwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we were here for just two days - having stayed at the Porta in Antigua - we were very pleased with the standards at the Porta in Lake Atitlan. The location is hard to beat. It is a quick 5 minute walk to Calle Santander and the many markets and eateries there. Tuk tuks drive by regularly if you are too lazy for that ;o)

the food was delicious at breakfast and for snacks - filtered water is available on each floor for free (a bonus, it means you can fill your water bottle for free before heading out).

the staff were friendly from start to finish

the pool was amazing - very clean and a great temperature - there was more to do for the kids than we got to - the view of the lake from our balcony was fantastic!

we will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: probably higher than floor 1, so you get a nice view of the lake - all rooms are facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maiden888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our tour group used this hotel as a base while exploring the region around Lake Atitlan. The hotel is a modern, eight story building; each room has a balcony overlooking the hotel grounds and the lake. This looked like a great place for families as there is a pool, play area and outdoor games. My room was comfortable with a great bed, clean modern bathroom, TV with various channels in all languages, and a great guide to the area. It is a short walk into the main part of Panajachel, but there are tuk-tuk taxis available. Also, right below the hotel is the boat landing if you want to go across the lake.
There was a huge breakfast buffet and also an omelet chef is available. Plenty of food, everything you could want.
One of the nights, I did not feel like walking into town and the restaurant appeared deserted, but we were able to order light meals in the bar, which was perfect.
Everyone in the hotel seemed friendly. The wifi was a bit limited, I had to stand in one spot outside the bar, when I sat down I lost the signal.
The only downside is that with all rooms overlooking the pool and many families, it was somewhat noisy at times.
I really enjoyed the hotel and found it a comfortable base for touring in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get on one of the floors 4 and up. The central rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CulverCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Porta and really enjoyed the stay. Each room faces Lake Atitlan...with picture postcard views across the lake toward the volcanoes...you can enjoy them on your small balcony. The room was clean and the linens were well stocked. Pool towels were available. The pool area can get noisy when there is lots of activity there--and the noise also travels from the bar area when there is music playing. Water pressure was good and the water hot. There is free WiFi available...it is best in the lobby and near the bar. The included breakfast was a large buffet...with many choices of fruit, yogurt, local breads, meats, eggs, frijoles, and several kinds of juice. Coffee service was prompt. It was a short walk from the hotel to the main shopping street--which was also where many of the local restaurants were located. There was a wide variety of reasonably priced restaurants--so we did not eat in the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner. The front desk staff were helpful in answering questions about the local area. I would certainly recommend the Porta to anyone traveling to Panajachel.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms have less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Going with the kids, stayed here, as its more comfortable with them, the pool, and theres a kids room and activities for them to do. Rooms are small, with small balcony, but every room has a great view of the lake (hotel is lakeside). Pricing for rooms is about right. Choose the non inclusive package, as this way can eat out (lots of nice restaurants with better food outside) and order a la carte when necessary. Was a weekday, and they had a local school taking swimming lessons in the middle of the pool. Also there was a conference there one day, rendering the restaurant area useless for other customers. Jacuzzi was out of service. If you want a more intimate and cultural experience, theres lots of botique hotels on the lake, but usually the price will be much more. Ask for room highest as possible for a better view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigone2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

A group of 9 travelers stayed at the Hotel Del Lago for 7 nights, and we all agreed it was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable. The bedding and pillows were great. The television had channels in English, Italian, French and Spanish. The showers were spacious and the water pressure was powerful. The daily maid service was fantastic, and overall, every single hotel employee was friendly and capable. The view from the balcony (every room has one) was amazing. The ala carte breakfasts were delicious as well as the occasional breakfast buffet if the hotel had a big crowd. The food was artfully presented and always tasty. I had dinner there a couple times too and everything was top notch. A bit pricey by Guatemalan standards but reasonable as hotels go. The gym had old equipment that was beat up, but I managed to get in a couple decent workouts. The Jacuzzis were not functioning which was unfortunate but minor. The hotel is very close to Calle Santander which is the main street for tourists and visitors. Tuk-tuks whiz by all day and into the night, so it's very easy to get a lift. The only thing that drove us all universally crazy was the music that played in a constant loop in the restaurant and pool area. Let's just say, I've reached my Chuck Mangione limit for 10 lifetimes. PLEASE offer more variety. Can you get Pandora in Panajachel? The most important factor in any hotel stay is the staff who were all marvelous. We stayed long enough to notice who was having a bad day, and even during those moments, humor and grace was the order of the day. (And some of us were difficult people...) Very well run. Very well done. We would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. All face the lake and all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rephello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $100 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing