We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We enjoyed our short visit here, breakfast with smiley staff in restaurant with stunning views over lake. Room a bit dark but ok, lady in reception not particularly friendly or welcoming, maybe we expect too much? But great position in Panajachel. Sister hotel same name in Antigua very different, definitely recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BucksLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us... We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 335 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited this hotel in Dec 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Few things I liked :
- booked everything on the web - quick and courteous responses
- excellent location just like it looks in the pics - right on the lake with the best view of the volcano
- excellent property - nice rooms - ours was lake facing; good restaurant with volcano and lake view
Lot of restaurants closeby; good place to shop for Guatemalan mementos (most economical)

Best view of volcano is early morning - 5.30 am

Room Tip: choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shail_Guggali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!
We appreciate your kind words, and at he same time we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us... We hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We had bad experience and the management team did not seem to care. The toilet seat in the bathroom was all chipped. This not only is not hygenic it looks horrible. We had to put paper every time we had to use it as we do in public bathrooms especially because of our 5 yr old girl. When we informed management they did not do anything so we decided to leave after our first night. Our room was also dark. Our night there was like being in a haunted mansion with strong winds and a horrible sound made by a cat. The food is good and the view very nice. The rooms need to be udapted and some areas need better cleaning.
Panajachel looks abandoned.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Crisbeasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review about your stay with us... We apologize for any inconvenience your experienced at our hotel, we take all of your comments and suggestions very seriously, and we will definetely make the necessary changes to improve everything in the hotel.
Again we apologize, but we hope to change you mind in visiting Panajachel again.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had reasonably high expectations given positive reviews and appealing photos but this hotel really delighted. A fantastic position in the town which is by no means attractive but nowhere near as touristy as we feared. If you want to be centrally located you won’t do better. This is a large property with beautiful gardens and very nice rooms (we had a lake view room) although there is no question the decor is dated and the fittings could do with some TLC: chipped bath, scuffed walls etc. But none of this detracted sufficiently from the appeal of the property and, most importantly, the overwhelming service.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who catered to our every request. Having thoroughly enjoyed our dinner on the first evening and then been equally as pleased with our breakfast, we ended up eating virtually every meal at the hotel and just ordering pretty much whatever we wanted and they delivered with a smile. The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to accommodate literally any request was really what made this hotel so exceptional for us and we would return in a heartbeat.
The one criticism? The dowdy swimming pool and its hideous water slide. The slide needs to be ripped out as it is an eyesore, not in keeping with the style of the rest of the hotel and blocks the wonderful view of the lake from the dining room. The pool needs an overhaul, predominantly of the surrounding area which is nasty concrete with a few paltry rusty chairs. Investing in some good quality chairs and sun loungers and sprucing up the area in general would make a world of difference. But it is unlikely you would choose this hotel as a base from which to spend a lot of time around the pool and thus again, this should not deter you whatsoever from staying in what is otherwise a lovely property run by wonderful, warm staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!
We are very happy to hear all the wonderful comments you had while you stayed with us... It´s nice to hear our staff service was outstanding.
We also appreciate all the suggestions and comments regarding everything we can improve, it is something we will definetely take into consideration.
Once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent three nights here. The grounds are lovely with awesome views. Our room was not ready so they sent us the terrace for drinks which was perfect. Came and got us and had bag in room. French doors opened to lake view. The staff was wonderful. Tolerated my horrible Spanish with a smile and gave us hugs everyday. Easy and safe to walk at night and they will get you a Tuk Tuk if needed. Into the recycling big time and refilled your water bottles at front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review... we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff´s service is one of the biggest strenghts of the hotel, and it is always nice to hear our clients comments and suggestions.
Thank you once again, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Unfortunately, I was really disappointed with our room here. It was extremely dark due to the only window opening on to the corridor, which meant also no privacy if we wanted any light.

The room had uncomfortable beds and was generally unappealing and the bathroom equally bland and with ants running around. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

On the plus side, it is very central and on the edge of the lake, the staff are friendly but to conclude I would not stay here again in such a depressing room. Looking forward to moving on to next destination.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, make sure you get lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review!
We are very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay with us. We will definetely take all of your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.
We hope you can change your mind, and give us another opportunity to make things better.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this and hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a lake view room that looks out towards the three volcanoes on the other end of the lake. The room and bathroom was a little on the smaller side for the price but we weren't here to spend time in the room. The restaurant serves very good food. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The lack of safety box in the room was the only drawback.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your review!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the food... and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Having a safetybox in the rooms is something that we will definetely take into consideration for the future.
Thank you again, and hope to serve you again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $121 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing