We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little details make a difference!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“little details make a difference!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

The service staff was of the best quality. They were hospitable, friendly and efficient. They responded to all our needs (we had a multi generation group of 11.) The landscape was gorgeous, the food was great. They had great terrace for us to hang out. We wanted sweet bread with our afternoon coffee and they didn't have any, but by morning, they went and got us some, without us even asking for it. My mother wanted to hear marimba (a traditional instrument) The staff is learning to play and they do so on weekends, but since we weren't going to be there, they played for us on a Thursday. The batteries on my father's camera died and one of the servers offered to run and get some from the store. They even got us a trustworthy boat to tour the villages. The slide in the pool was great!!! The rooms were also gorgeous aond comfortable!!!

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    122
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
76
100
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
piKasso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

I had a wonderful experience at this great hotel in Panajachel.
I used to study in Solola and always I wanted to stay there for at least one night. You know what, my dreams came true, because this past April I was able to stay there for two nights. Well, I am from El Salvador but now I live in the United States. The purpose of my visit was just for Vacation!
Yes, was a little pricy but it did not hurt because the accomodations and the staff were just wonderful!
I highly recomend this great hotel!
Five Stars!!!!

Yours, Pablo Hernandez

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank piKasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

We loved our stay at this hotel!!! Great location ~ Great staff. great restaurant!
We had such a neat experience with the staff at the restaurant. Both dinner and breakfast there, the staff was so attentive and sweet. We just loved them. They shared a lot with us and we were really touched.
It is a great hotel right on the lake with a beautiful view and a very nice pool and water slide.
We are in our 30's but had to try the waterslide out :) It was great and very refreshing!
We loved Lake Atitlan and the towns across the lake as well. What an amazing little place~
I highly recommend this hotel. I wish we would have had more time here.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tiffb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Overpriced for Guatemala, but cheap on a more global perspective. Get a Lakeside room; spectacular views and better beds. (Have been there twice). This hotel is all plusses and minuses:
PLUSSES:
Best location in Pana, great views, nice room, ambience (marimbas, rooftop retaurant, etc.), great little museum, nice bar service, friendly restaurant staff, GREAT breakfast and views.
OKs--Restaurant is great breakfast, good lunch, OK dinner. Fish not real fresh, tenderloin a little tough, but rest was fine.
Minusses--Usual Guate stuff--no washcloths or facial tissue, terrible room lighting, minimal reception area amenities and service.

  • Liked — Best location in Pana and best views (important in Pana)
  • Disliked — Missing basics...internet, kleenex, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, iron, etc.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Artemus_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2007

probably the most expensive hotel but still reasonable compared to uk prices. Grounds, rooms and facilities 1st class.
Staff the best in Guatemala

  • Liked — lake views
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UKflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2007

The hotel is nice, the rooms are well decorated, but the beds were substandard. The hotel is quite expensive for Guatemala. You can easily stay at a different hotel that's practically as good for half the price.

The staff were extremely helpful. Internet is expensive, use one on the main road instead.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Little_Peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

Excellent modern, large rooms. No lobby/sitting room or garden.
Service was above average and pleasant. Great location for
walking to all needed services. On main noisy Santander Street.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Property: Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing