We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived here quite early and although our room wasn't ready they kept our bags safe for us while we went and had lunch.
We booked two lakeview rooms which were very large and had a great view of the lake. The pool was enjoyable for us, especially the waterslide since I was traveling with my son. Close to shopping and places to eat. We also enjoyed the small museum.

Room Tip: The lake views are really great and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review, and at the same time we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to serve you in the near future.
Once again thank you for your words,
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 335 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our room led to a garden overlooking Lake Atitlan. It was a beautiful view. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was good. We had dinner and breakfast there as we were exhausted when we got to the hotel. We only stayed in this hotel for one night but as beautiful as the hotel was, I was glad to go because the beds were not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for you review!
We are very sorry to hear that the beds were not comfortable. It is very hard to have beds to the expectations of each of our clients since some prefer softer and some harder beds. However we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service of our restaurant.
We thank you once again for taking the time to write this review, we hope to serve you in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Hotel is situated on the Bank of Lake Attitlan, many rooms as ours have view to the lake and the volcanoes on the other side of the lake. We took many nice pictures without moving from our room.Our room was spacious with large beds, that's what we ask for every room we reserve, so we were completely satisified. Some of the rooms were sitiated on the lower level,where we stayed, having balconies leading to a grass yard or on the upper level on the courtyard.It has a big restaurant with nice view and a place where staff preformed local dances.Many choices for breakfast and dinner,In the roofed corridors leading from the reception to the main hotel there are hamacs where you can lie down to read or have a siesta.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us in Panajachel. We pride in having wonderful views to the lake from some of the rooms.
we thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, and hope to serve you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Don Rodrigo. Rooms are pretty we had a lovely garden! Excellent location, easy access to the beach and kayaking. Good service, lovely food and nice bar. Had a few glitches with breakfast the first morning, but nothing major!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review from your stay. We are very happy to hear that in general you had a nice stay hearing that you enjoyed our food and service. However we are sorry to hear you had a slight problem for your first beakfast.
We would love to hear more comments from you, and hope to serve you in the near future!
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hotel, service, location, rooms, staff. This place was amazing and highly recommended. The entire experience in Guatemala was exceptional. We have always been treated like family. In the posada it was no different. Everyone was there to make our stay pleasant. The food was great and the hotels also provided kids entertainment which was great after the day's activities

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review!
We feel very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Panajachel. We work very hard with our team members to provide this kind of service to our clients. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this, and we hope to serve you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have eaten at the restaurant here numerous times over the past several years. Most of the time, I have come with a large group (20+ people). Every single time the food and service have been fantastic. My favorite dish is the Plato Chapin, a traditional Guatemalan feast consisting of tenderloin, plantains, black beans, guacamole and goat cheese. I've also had their sausage plate which is also delicious! Meals are served with warm, freshly made tortillas.

And, the view...oh, wow. I could sit all day looking over Lake Atitlan from the dining room of Don Rodrigo.

Shopping, dinner at Don's, then a little nap in one of the many hammocks dangling from the covered walkways of the hotel...my trip to Pana is complete!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_Tamiwithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are honored to receive such amazing comments from your stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us each time you come to Panajachel.
It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

As with our other experiences in the Guatemala highlands we were struck by the extreme hospitality of our hosts. From the guys who wrangled our bags to the front desk clerks, restaurant staff and every other associate with whom we interacted we were struck by the sincerity of our welcome. It must not be unique to us. We mentioned this to staff at other hotels in the area and the smiled and said the same thing - yes, they treat you like family there. I will return someday, I have no doubt.
Also, perfect location for Panajachel, great views of Atitlan.

Room Tip: Ground floor view has access to grassy garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boldtownbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review!
Reading your review just brought a big smile to my face... It is an absolute honor to read such lovely comments, and to know directly from our clients that our staff members are delivering what we stand for; which is excellent customer service and quality of food and services.
We thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, and hope to serve you in the near future!!!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $121 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing