We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Nearby Hotels
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
$75
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$62
$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Posada de los Volcanes(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hospedaje El Viajero(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
$32
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
$320
$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
$155
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Los Encuentros(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sol(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
127
143
64
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
143
64
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall museuma lake view roomlake atitlanupper terracehotel amenitieshotel safeacceptable hotelthe air conditioningsoap dispenserping pongrestaurant terraceroom was spaciousvery nice hotelbars and restaurantssister hoteluntil midnightamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 361 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at La Posada with our kids in a room in the newer wing that faces the lake. The room and bathroom were outdated and dark, which made it seem a bit dirty. A few minor improvements would bring the room closer to expectations for the price—additional lamps in the room, extra blankets and pillows, a newer TV with a remote. The view of the lake and little grassy area outside the room is nice, as is the air conditioning which provides comfort and white noise for sleeping. Overall, the hotel seems committed to the environment so it offers things like ecological liquid handsoap in the bathroom and recycling receptacles. There’s a computer with free internet access and a game room that has seen better days, but still provides fun with ping pong, foosball, and billiards. The grounds of the hotel (including the outdoor corridor with hammocks) are lovely. The pool area is little icky with the smell of garbage coming from nearby and the water was quite cold. Despite some of these negative aspects, the wonderful staff at La Posada won us over. The front desk staff, bellmen, and restaurant staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, and attentive. The examples are many: When we needed to wait for about a half hour upon arrival for our room, we were offered complimentary drinks. When we borrowed the billiard balls from the front desk one evening, a bellman rushed to make sure the lights were on in the game area. When we were attempting to exit the hotel from a side gate that was locked, a restaurant staff member came rushing down to open it for us. When we were rolling our suitcases down the corridor to check-out, a bellman came sprinting across the courtyard to help us. Overall, we found La Posada to be a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Panajachel with adequate comforts and exceptional service.

We ate four breakfasts and one supper at the on-site restaurant--Las Espadas--and were really impressed with the food and service. The orange juice and breakfast items were excellent, especially the fresh corn tortillas (even negritas). The dinner menu is a tad expensive, but we were able to order off the lunch menu late in the evening. The platanos fritos were some of the best we’ve ever had. The service at Las Espadas is exceptional. The wait staff are very personable, extremely attentive, and basically treat customers like royalty. The atmosphere is spacious, pleasant, and comfortable. Live marimba music is played at peak times. Even if you’re not staying at La Posada, this restaurant is worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank _SLH138_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
We are very honored to have all these wonderful comments from you... This is exactly what we are trying to accomplish with all of our staff, to make each client feel extra special.
We will definetely take into consideration all of your observations regarding the rooms, and pool area. This is something we will work on.
Thank you once again for your preference, and hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Our guide book said this hotel was 'away from the action' so I expected it to be off the beaten path, which it isn't. In fact, it's right in the lake shore and quite in 'the action.' We stayed in the newer part of the hotel on the lake shore that other reviews have mentioned as being the preferred wing.

Excellent customer service, especially Heidy, who really was concerned that our every need was met. Good breakfast in the morning too!

They say there is free wi-if in the rooms but we had to go upstairs to catch the signal. The only negative was the slightly creepy security camera in the outside bushes aimed into the guest room French windows.

White Listed.

White Listed = I'll Go Back
Black Listed = I'll Never Go Back
Gray Listed = 1 More Chance

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel met your expectations, we feel honored to have such great customers as yourself...
Regarding the security camera, thank you for letting us know the aspect of it... We will try to set it up in another area, this camera is intended to help our security sistem so customers are at ease that everything is well protected.
Thank you once again for your comment and your preference! Hope to serve you soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very charming hotel (much quieter that it's sister establishment in Antigua). Staff was wonderful. There was a pool with a huge slide that was a big hit with the kids. The adults watched a spectacular sunset with Gallo beer (a must) and divine guacamole and chips.

Fresh tortilllas at breakfast a big plus - though the eating area for breakfast was .... not too exciting - of course the food generally wasn't too exciting either.

Location is great - felt very safe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry to hear that our food did not meet your expectations, if you have any suggestions we are more than happy to hear so we can improve anything.
These reviews are what help establishments such as ours to get better.
Thank you for your preference! Hope to serve in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is the best feature of this hotel - sitting at the Sunset bar watching the sun set behind the San Pedro volcano is very special. Fajitas are good in the restaurant, too. The staff are friendly but a few things don't work. It also appears to be something of a party hotel - noise went on most of the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are so sorry to hear that there was too much noise at the hotel, we have been working on this issue together with some other businesses since it has been disturbing for a long time know. We hope that on your next visit this will all be a matter of the past. Thank you so much for taking the time to write!

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Posada de Don Rodrigo was the second place we stayed in Guatemala on our honeymoon and were we brought down to earth with a bump! The staff were all very lovely, but I'm never sure what I'm going to think of a hotel that hands you a TV remote control with your room key! The first room we stayed in (a non lake view room in the older part of the hotel) was the absolute pits! Our "window" looked out onto the corridor outside, the room was clean but there was something about how old and tired the decor was that made it feel dirty. The bathroom was very outdated. We had booked our honeymoon through a tour company in the UK and I emailed them just telling them how unhappy we were with the hotel, almost immediately their counterparts in Guatemala had contacted the hotel and we spent our last night in one of the lake view rooms - what a difference! The room was light and airy with a beautiful view of the lake, the bathroom was more modern. It was like staying in a different hotel! The grounds of the hotel are lovely and well maintained, we didn't use the pool but there were families in it every day (they may want to re-think the massive slide though, doesn't seem to fit in with the surroundings and gets in the way of the view from the restaurant!) Breakfast was OK, nothing special. We didn't eat dinner here as didn't fancy it so can't comment on that. If we hadn't been upgraded to a different room this review would have been a 1/5 I'm afraid. Considering Panajachel has so many tourists visiting, they could do with re-vamping the old wing a little, just a lick of paint would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are newer and worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
We will definetely take into consideration all of your observations. We are already working in some changes for the rooms and bathrooms. We apologize for any discomfort. We hope to wow you on your next visit, not only with the lake view rooms but the all the hotel, including meals. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, this always helps to improve!
Hope to serve in the near future!

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews