We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to the Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was only in Panajachel for a few hours, traveling back to Antigua from San Marcos, and I needed to catch my shuttle outside the gates of the Posada Don Rodrigo. My suitcase was large and heavy and I didn't know what to do with it while I explored the Panajachel waterfront. I lugged it into Reception and asked, in my student Spanish, if they could store it for me. Normally hotels don't store baggage for non-guests but they were kind and helpful and let me leave it with them. When I came back to retrieve it, the gate guard was also very friendly and kind. If good staff are the sign of a good hotel, then I can recommend this one!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank VillaStraylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 334 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here a part of a tour with Friendly Planet. Due to a snafu we stayed someplace else the prior night (see review on Hotel Kakchiquel) and it was a night and day comparison. This hotel overlooks Lake Atitlan and the 2nd floor rooms have balconies that overlook the lake (through the trees, but you can still see it). Room was clean and comfortable. The weather was a little windy and the room apparently had a metal roof...it was a little noisy until the weather calmed down. There are street vendors right outside the hotel complex and plenty of good restaurants to choose from. The hotel restaurant was fine and breakfast was quite good. Right behind the hotel is a bar that has a great view of the lake and the sunset. Grab a front row seat, a cold Gallo beer, and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have a better view but may be noisier due to the metal roof.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we stayed here as a group and were lucky enough to be upgraded to lakeside rooms and immediately set up the table outside so we could enjoy a glass of wine at the side of the lake with a backdrop of volcanoes. superb. great lunch too. the rooms were perfect - clean, luxurious, spacious and very tastefully decorated. I enjoyed the little museum of lake atitlan but didn't have time to enjoy a massage or swim in the pool. An early morning walk along the promenade just below the hotel led us around the charming town before the many vendors with their many coloured wares arrived. This little town caters for tourists

Room Tip: splash out on a lakeside garden room. heaven.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed with the family two days. For what I have seen it one of the few hotels in the center of Panajachel with a decent garden. There are nice places to just hang is a hammock. The pool is nice enough to have a dip after a warm day. The staf is friendly and helpful in arranging transportation and other staff, We requested a change to a lakeview room and that was very efficiently handled.

Room Tip: The rooms with lake views have a stunning view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in early July 2012. During our entire stay the staff was accomodating and thoughtful, and by the end of the trip half of them knew my name and room number! A special thanks to Eddie and the front desk staff for negotiating a lower rate for us ($40/night less than the advertised price!), Vicente for being an excellent tour guide of the grounds, and everyone in the restaurant for consistently good service every morning.

To all readers planning to stay here, don't forget to try out the giant pool slide!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lakeside view. If you stay longer than 2 nights, ask for a lower rate!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinitaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our Medical Team consisting of 17 volunteers, chose this resort on beautiful Lake Atitlan for some R & R after an intense week of humanitarian relief clinics in the highlands region of NW Guatemala. The view of the Lake & volcanoes in the background was breathtaking! Try lunch or an early evening meal on the "upper deck" above the pool for the most spectacular views! Also, the hotel is located at the end of a busy market street with lots of merchants that are ready to haggle and make you a deal on anything from "jade to junk!" The property is protected by hotel security to keep unsolicited vendors from approaching their guests. Wireless internet works best within 20 yards of the office...any further than that from the router, the reception becomes sketchy! The food was good and so was the coffee and soft drinks (try the limon o naranja con soda). They also use filtered water, and are pleased to refill your personal water bottle from the filtration unit behind the bar. (HINT: Don't drink the water from the tap in your room, or brush your teeth using the water--USE BOTTLED WATER ONLY!) The beds were comfortable and the outdoor hammocks were great for afternoon naps! Well-kept grounds with gorgeous flowering bushes and trees added to the beauty and respite nature of this hotel. We will definitely return to this oasis for rest once again on our next trip to Guatemala!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night, the room was great with a big bed, bathtub and great view.

The hotel is situated on the lake, at the end of calle santander.

We stayed here at a reduced rate ($85) which is expensive for what you get, the internet doesn't reach the rooms, the cable TV is fussy and the 'included breakfast' limits what you could choose.

The restaurant is extremely extremely over priced (4-5 times the cost of everywhere else)

To improve this hotel they need to reconsider the rate, change the breakfast menu, improve the wifi and cable TV and lower the restaurant prices substantially.

Overall a great room in a hotel which isn't quite there yet!

Room Tip: ask for a room 'downstairs' with a lake view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $86 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing