We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NIce Hotel in great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is situated at the end of a main street and is in a great location to explore the town. It is also on Lake Atitlan and the views from the terrace are stunning. The rooms are very nice and decorated in a Spanish hacienda style.My room had a fireplace but i didn't use it since the weather was nice. My one complaint was that the bathroom was very old and needed a serious update. The hot water in the sink would sometimes stop running but the hot water in the shower was ok. The WIFI is free but is only available in the bar and restaurant. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and they have a nice swimming pool with a slide. The food in the hotel restaurant was very good. For breakfast, they did not have a buffet but a good selection from a menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful. With the exception of the bathroom, I enjoyed this hotel very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    129
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
84
106
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is the best place to stay in Pana for lake views. It's located just by the water and the views from most of the rooms and the restaurant are amazing. I loved having breakfast overlooking the lake! The rooms are very large, clean and quiet and the surrounding gardens are beautiful. The main street with bars and restaurants is just a five minute walk away. It's true that this hotel is slightly more expensive than most but it's a peaceful oasis and totally worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights. The pool is small, but water slide was a HUGE hit with my son!!! The hotel is located only a few blocks from the lake and right around the corner from the "main drag." We had a lovely lake-view room. The room was clean and comfortable. Would have appreciated a safe in the room, however. The restaurant has an AMAZING view, although it's pricey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Such a beautiful spot. The views are amazing. Be sure that you go on the upper terrace that is located over the restaurant to get the best view.
and you walk out the front and you are right in the town with all the action.

I really have no complaints about this place, except maybe a remote control for the tv would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantstogotoguatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is ideally located on the shore of Lake Atitlan in Panajachel. The best rooms (one of which I was fortunate enough to have) face directly on this incredibly beautiful lake, and feature small patios fronting on a lovely garden and lawn with a dazzling view of the lake behind. The amazing location alone would be enough to recommend this place. The bedrooms themselves are spacious and comfortable. No problem with the modern bathroom facilities either. There is a decent restaurant and a pool as well. The staff is friendly and helpful. Panajechel itself is not that interesting a town; the attraction is Lake Atitlan and the traditional Mayan villages that surround it. The boat dock is seconds away from the hotel, and it's easy to get all around the Lake.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

only stayed one night so hard really to give a justifyable review but it is set right on the edge of Lake Atilan which has risen 8metres since last may and is now metres from the hotel gardens
my room had a lovely view onto the lake with great sunrises very comfy large airy room with tv etc free internet but no assistance with luggage and it was quite a walk to the room
food was fair but if you want more you will have to pay and the staff do not speak much english also when i was there i was 1 of only 3 guests !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Built in the days of spreading lawns beside the lake, views of resident volcanoes floating over the water are framed in colorful flowers. Surrounded by this spacious tranquility, rooms are in the old style with traditional textiles and dark wood furnishings. Breakfast is various and plentiful and the dining room a place to linger with memorable views of lake, lawn and and graceful gardens.
Pleasantly costumed in traditional festive embroidery, the smiling staff maintain a balance of relaxed and efficient service.Better food prices outside but atmosphere can't be beat.

Room Tip: Too many rooms a bit confusing--ask for what's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Property: Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing