We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Speedy check-in and check-out. Has it's own secure and guarded parking. Breakfast is included and the restaurant menu is the exact same as the Posada de Don Rodgrigo in Antigua. I didn't use the pool, but it looked like it would be fun for kids with a pretty cool looking slide! Getting up early and watching the sunrise over the lake and the volcanoes with a steaming (and readily refilled!) cup of cafe con leche is one of my favorite memories of Guatemala. Beautiful views from the terraces. Also has an inner courtyard with colorful hammocks for relaxing. There is a small but very well-done museum of items pulled out of the depths of Lake Atitlan.
Our room (2 double beds) was very nice and large, with a fireplace (which we didn't try out since we were there for one night only and got in late). Bathroom was nice and shower stall was HUGE!
One thing to note.....the hot/cold in the shower is opposite what you would find in the USA (we found this to often be the case in Guatemala). My roommate took a shower first and said "The water was warm, but never got hot." She was adjusting it like an American shower and was inadvertently turning on the cold more than the hot. I experimented and realized the hot was on the RIGHT and the cold on the LEFT and had a nice, steamy shower. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    128
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
82
106
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Would recommend paying more for the lake view rooms - as we had a great view and it was nice to look out over the lake. Ask for 305/306 as 301-304 are directly under a terrace and close to the restaurant so very noisy, and 307-310 are set back from the lake so without much of a view.

rooms are basic - tv is mostly static, no safe, no minibar, no remote for the tv or aircon, and doors are flimsy, so don't leave your valuables.

restaurant was nice during the day (a great view), but three times the price of equal quality restaurants on calle santander (would recommend Guajimbos for great steak).

and finally, we were told when we arrived that breakfast was not included (even though it was on our reservation), so if that happens to you, eat the wonderful banana pancakes or deli special breakfast at deli jasmin, 5 metres from the hotel gate.

would stay again for the view....but with lower expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel was nice, with a nice view, but nothing that blew me away. We paid extra for a lake view and you would only be able to see the lake if you walked across the grass and over the plants. I wouldn't bother with that again. The rooms were nice and the beds were okay. It was a great location and the grounds were pretty with beautiful views.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is located lakeside on Lake Atitlan in Panajachel, Guatemala. We did not have a lakeview room but were pleased with the size of the room, furnishings and nice bath. I had looked at the reviews and was pleasantly surprised by the services at the hotel. The staff were very attentive. While there was not individual soap and shampoo provided, there were dispensing containers in the room. A hairdryer was available at the front desk as were services of a hotel safe.
The grounds were just lovely with many tropical plants, hammocks and chairs. We did not use the pool but it was available with a slide. There were many lake views at the hotel--from the garden, pool, and a terrace on the second floor above the restaurant.

One morning we had breakfast in the lovely Deli Jasmine, around the corner from the hotel. The gardens were delightful and the food was very reasonably prices. The second morning we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. While more expensive than at the deli, the early morning lake views were gorgeous.

There is internet provided in the public areas for free but the only places we could easily pick it up were in the restaurant and in the pool area in front of the restaurant. There were lots of restaurants and shops within a few blocks of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,819 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 922 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stopped by here for lunch on a day trip from Antigua to Chichicastenango and Lake (guide's choice).

We were in a small group of five and we didn't feel right breaking off for lunch elsewhere, so we stayed together.

The menu is wide and varied, featuring many traditional and seafood dishes. The views of the lake and volcanoes from the restaurant's terrace are beautiful, but probably not worth the price of the entrees ($14-$20).

The menus were only in Spanish and we got surprised when our entree came featuring mostly beets. Our Spanish is pretty good, but the beets were a surprise!

There are many other smaller mom and pop places to eat along the waterfront for much less money. The prices here were more than we paid for entrees at Kakao in Guatemala City!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We read reviews of where to stay on tripadvisor and decided NOT to listen, we knew better. So we chose Hotel Atitlan... well we stayed there ONLY ONE night. The staff was rude as was the owner and you guessed it, she is an American. I remembered reading good things about Posada de Don Rodrigo, so we checked it out. Man were we pleased with our move. The staff was oh so accommodating, especially with our food requirements (recently discovered one of us is Gluten intolerant). We HIGHLY recommend this beautiful setting, good food, but especially because of how we were treated!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travler_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Great staff. Friendly place. Go to panajachel in the dry season though...not the rainy season like I did.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandonmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Property: Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing