We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet hotel in heart of Panajachel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dos Mundos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dos Mundos
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in heart of Panajachel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Dos Mundos for 3 nights. I liked this hotel a lot. Clean, quiet, comfortable. The breakfast is very good. I also like La Lanterna, their Italian restaurant on site. I had some delicious house-made pasta and good wine. Staff is very friendly and professional although there is not a lot of English. They understand English but probably prefer not to speak it. Beautiful pool but it was cool when I was there so no swimming for me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice hotel for the price, simple but ample accomodations. The grounds are beautiful, the pool delightful. The food at the restaurant was "adequate" and it was nice being able to eat there after a long trip from Antigua on a van. The only negative thing to say about this hotel, is that the "day" staff spoke no English, it was difficult communicating, however they were pleasant. I had a negative experience with a young man who was selling his wares outside of the hotel lobby. we stayed three nights and he was there all the time, very aggressive and ended up using profanity when I had just "had enough". BIG PROBLEM IN PANAJACHEL.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artist865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was a nice place to be based for one night while visiting Lake Atitlan and Chichicastenango. The room was plenty big enough, the shower was lovely. The pool looked inviting (although it was reportedly quite cold). The food at the restaurant was yum (particularly dinner, breakfast was a little more ordinary; but still good). The wifi seemed plenty strong enough to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidgwayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away off the main road. Beautiful landscape. The rooms were clean and well kept. Bathrooms were a but small. The service was good. Ate at the cafe onsite. The food was ok, not fabulous. Would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGirl_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Quiet and peacefule considering it's location on the main road to the lake. Rooms good size and water reasonably hot. Free wifi that was a little hit and miss. Breakfast ok. Generally a decent mid priced hotel I would stay at again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jbjo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Paid $50USD for one night. Strange front desk where the guy said it's $50USD cash or $70USD for card....he then said we didn't need a receipt after paying.

Anyway other than that its a really nice place. Very clean with nice gardens and quite tranquil for such a central location. And the pool is an added bonus, its good with a lovely lay out with deck chairs all around the pool. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Overall we had a nice stay at this hotel. Our kids lkied the pool, although it was chilly. The food in the restaurant was OK, but there really is no lunch menu unless you want a full italian meal. The breakfast was great. One tip I would suggest is to not have the hotel arrange your trip around the lake, you will pay double and they will contact the same vendors that are standing near the lake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mundos

Property: Hotel Dos Mundos
Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dos Mundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Mundos Hotel
Dos Mundos Panajachel
Hotel Dos Mundos Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing