We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice zip lines”

Reserva Natural Atitlan
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Indian Nose Hiking Adventure
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Atitlan Nature Reserve is both a must for visitors of Lake Atitlan and a force in the environmental cause: Atitlan Azul. It is an extraordinary gate to the magnificent Lake Atitlan and its spectacular volcanoes. Its zip lines, butterfly preserve, trails, hanging bridges and lodgings bring you in close contact with nature. On the zip lines you fly above waterfalls, coffee groves, oak stands and the steep cliffs that guard the lake. At the Butterfly Geodome you enjoy the colors and forms of hundreds of butterflies surrounded by flowers and the sounds of water. Humming birds and the murmur of the river accompany you while you have lunch, coffee or a drink, then you continue to explore the diversity and beauty of this natural wonder. At night, the crickets, owls and the sounds of the night will be your company in our lodging. The Reserve supports the work of scientist and students concerned with biodiversity and environmental degradation.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Zurich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice zip lines”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went to cables extremos in early Jan 2014; the zip lines are very nice but a bit short for our taste (having done this before in Costa Rica), and you have to wait for everyone to be done with one line before going to the next, so it's mostly waiting and not so much action. The hike up is very nice, you get to see quite a bit of nature (if you're lucky, and we were!) including some monkeys and there's a Mariposario (butterfly dome) where you can see a nice variety of butterflies (and we happened to run into one of the people maintaining it who was very happy to answer our numerous questions!). There's also a part where you can see the larvae feeding, which was very cool.

As for the zip lines, the views are incredible, you can see the lake and the volcanoes in the background from high up, as you fly through the jungle. The ziplines seemed to be in great condition, no sign of oxidation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bmarcoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    146
    40
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest IL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Zipline Value with Good Nature Hiking”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really a must if you are in the area. Ziplining is a good value for amount of runs you get on regular intensity and very appropriate for all ages. There is a weight restriction of 100 lbs for high intensity so keep that in mind. The hiking around the area after was also very good and not far from pana with several locations near for lunch after. Really worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yopis, Director General at Reserva Natural Atitlan, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for for enthusiastic evaluation of the zip lines. We have made an effort to insure the safety and the quality of the experience for everybody who visits us. In that regard I would like to clarify the weight limits as follows: for the Cables X-Tremos = 250 lb/113 kg, for the Cables ULTRAS = 200 lb/90 kg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is probably the nicest place to visit in the area, and if you don t suffer from vertigo, DEFINITELY do the ziplines, and take the long ones. Great value for the money. I did ziplines the first time ever (one thing off my bucket list) and had a blast. Also enjoyed the walks, hanging bridges, and butterfly dome (not spectacular, but nice - they just realized they were breeding an unknown species of butterflies for years which has just been named Pan Achel).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wow and more wow, great retreat from Pana”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the best part of our day in Panajachel. Almost all visitors were locals or national tourists. The park had tons of animals and we enjoyed the spider monkeys the best. Huge families of indigenous folks were visiting as part of their holiday and it was a joy to hear their native languages and see them in their huipiles. the children hooted until one monkey really put on a show on the high branches. The trails were lovely, the staff were so nice and helpful. The restaurant had good food although it was understaffed. We also enjoyed the VERY informative butterfly sanctuary. The zebra butterflies were amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Hiking”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Atitlan Nature Reserve is a great spot for hiking and zip-lining. They also have a lovely butterfly sanctuary as well as hanging bridges and waterfalls. It's a beautiful place to visit for half a day to a full day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freidka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Natural Atitlan also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Reserva Natural Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing