We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend a half day”

Reserva Natural Atitlan
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Indian Nose Hiking Adventure
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Atitlan Nature Reserve is both a must for visitors of Lake Atitlan and a force in the environmental cause: Atitlan Azul. It is an extraordinary gate to the magnificent Lake Atitlan and its spectacular volcanoes. Its zip lines, butterfly preserve, trails, hanging bridges and lodgings bring you in close contact with nature. On the zip lines you fly above waterfalls, coffee groves, oak stands and the steep cliffs that guard the lake. At the Butterfly Geodome you enjoy the colors and forms of hundreds of butterflies surrounded by flowers and the sounds of water. Humming birds and the murmur of the river accompany you while you have lunch, coffee or a drink, then you continue to explore the diversity and beauty of this natural wonder. At night, the crickets, owls and the sounds of the night will be your company in our lodging. The Reserve supports the work of scientist and students concerned with biodiversity and environmental degradation.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a half day”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited with a friend in February, and had a nice time. We went early, so it wasn't to crowded and also because I had seen from other reviews that the butterflied were only out in the morning. We did see a TON of butterflies which was amazing. The hike was really pretty, and we went all the way down to the lake which was quite a walk. For someone not in great shape or has trouble with uneven surfaces, this is definitely not for you. The monkeys were fun to see but a bit sad that they were caged. There was not too much water to see because it was the dry season. I would go back, it is not expensive and nice for a hike and picnic by the lake.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAnnGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yopis, Manager at Reserva Natural Atitlan, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your comments, specially those regarding the difficulty of the trail to reach the lake. We will put up signs and have our co-workers inform visitors of the trail conditions and difficulty.
In the enclosure where we have the monkeys, there are 12 large trees and sufficient space in it for them to choose to join or not the social life of the local community - the name of the groups. All of the monkeys were "pets" and most of them were caged for years in a space barely larger than their own bodies. The information on the monkeys found on site tells this story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    146
    40
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Way to Spend Half a Day”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our time here. With the exception of the Butterfly area, which was lame and only had a handful of them, the rest of the activities were great. We took a medium-intensity hike over to the lake - not much there, but you could bring a picnic lunch if you want.

We then hiked over to see the monkeys (monos), and that was really neat. You are up close and personal and it was really fun to watch them play and swing by their table. You could also feed them bananas, and the coatimundi live there too.

Next we went ziplining. The hike is quite a ways up before you can start, but they give you lots of rests, which I thought was nice and something I've never had a zip line tour guide do before. The 8 platforms can be done in under an hour, the views are amazing, and you are really, really high up!! Don't bother doing a separate hike to the waterfall or monos if you are ziplining, because you will be taken right past all of it, and they allow you to stop and watch the monkeys.

Or, if you don't want to zipline, just do the hike itself. Nice bathroom facilities and a gift shop on premise as well. $225Q per person for access to everything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WealthShips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to escape”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this nature reserve. It was very peaceful and well maintained. The monkeys put on a great show for us and we were lucky to also see some coati. We did the easy swinging bridge hike which was a lot of fun. The butterfly farm was not very active when we were there. Overall, a great place to visit, to see a little bit of how the countryside must have been before everything got so civilized, and to get out of town for a while.

p.s. If you have kids they will love the zip line.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HeinousCling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nature Reserve Oversold”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The picture of the "mono" used to advertise this "nature reserve" is the only "mono" visible in the park. We did see this one distant baboon or monkey, but there were no signs of any other animals although many exotic ones were listed in the brochure. The multitudinous hanging bridges seemed hazardous with the wood planks set far apart from one another. Someone with medium to small feet had to place his/her feet very carefully so as to span two planks and not fall through or get caught. Trails are not well-marked. All in all, the reserva natural was a disappointment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gailchiarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yopis, Manager at Reserva Natural Atitlan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It is impossible to guarantee the sighting of wildlife, yet, this is the first time someone remarks that they did not see the monkeys. I do hope next time you have better luck.

By the way, the monkeys are spider monkeys (Ateles geoffroyi), they are the acrobats of New World primates. They actually swinging the body down and around the grasping hand and using the prehensile tail as a fifth hand to aid in their rapid locomotion. Most visitors enjoy and remark on the acrobatics the monkeys put on for them.

Indeed, the hanging bridges are designed with planks that occasionally on may move somewhat and create a gap. We regularly check the conditions of the bridges and at this moment we are verifying that there is no danger on the bridges from such gaps.

Thank you for you comments, we are replacing signs and improving the trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed the 1 hour hike around the park and over the bridges. Was not the correct season for butterflies however some beautiful flowers were in bloom.
The historical displays of the area and lake were very interesting to read.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Natural Atitlan also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Reserva Natural Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing