We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“watch out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“watch out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

when you get a gut feeling like something is not right.... trust it

when you think something is too good to be true....it is

when someone speaks to you rudely......you can expect the same treatment the next time they speak to you

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valuetraveler805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
It is difficult to respond to bad reviews that lack specific substance. However, management at our hotel has been trained to be aware of guest-employee relations and to do it´s best to correct any lack of courtesy. We are not aware of any complaint made in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

The hotel is situated right by the Nature Reserve and on the shore of Lake Atitlan. The location couldnt be better for a quiet, romantic get away (Pana is a 5 min tuk tuk ride away). Rooms are spacious, well kept and u can always get one of the suits which are also very good value for money given their size.

Polite and helpful staff, good food and a very relaxed atmosphere make this a very good place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in a large suite with another couple, 2 bedrooms kitchen the staff was excellent, the accommodations clean, and comfortable. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was very good. I feel for the space comfort the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Avoid this place like the plague, unless you like paying $160 for a YMCA-camp like experience. Came here because TripAdvisor gave such great reviews and wanted to spend a nice place for christmas. I do not know what planet they are on, perhaps they have never traveled in developing countries before. I know that for $160 here you should get 5-star hotel. Instead, this place is at best a two star. The first sign of trouble was that you have to put down 50% ahead of time. I have traveled in 80+ countries and never have I done this. The other 50% they charge you after your first night.. Inside, you have alot of room (215m) but what do you do with it? It is all empty. Where to begin? It is freezing cold downstairs (the door leading to outside has window screens open, and only a curtain to close) so I had to make a tent-like structure of the two ratty blankets they gave you to sleep on the upstairs couch, which was circa 1960s college dorm style. I had to get up in the middle of the night to blow my nose, but guess what? No washcloths-WTF?! The interior is all brick and mortar built in arches, so if you ever have an earthquake you are going to get smooshed. The shower had spiderwebs in the window, and while the pressure was fine, the cracks and stains on the floor tile made me wonder how clean this place was. At the really lame breakfast (cold eggs, black beans, and a slice of white watermelon) I met another family who got roped into this place and if anything were more vocal than me about how they got screwed. BTW, they charge for everything here, which given that you are paying $160+, you should get for free. A fire in your room costs Q30 (~USD3.80), a ride to town Q10, a kayak Q70. The playground equipment here is ancient and is dangerous for small children- make sure they get there tetanus shots before they go on it.

Basically, I have traveled throughout GUA and this is the worst value in the country. In Antigua I paid $60/night and had basically a semi-luxury hotel. This place is like old lady who was once a beauty queen 50 years ago and still thinks she has it. It reminds me of a place you would have for a party, because there is alot of space & a kitchen (though you would have to stock everything from the town as they provide nothing) otherwise unless this place goes to 40-60/night do not come here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AussieFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmecnrg1, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Prices for our units vary between high and low seasons. The highest daily price we charge for a suite for two during Christmas season is $156 USD. This includes the 22% in taxes charged by the Guatemalan government. The same suite for most of the rest of the year is $123 USD.Single and double rooms are less expensive. These prices are a bargain considering our unique location and facilities. We are on the shores of Lake Atitlan at the edge of a semi-tropical coffee plantation. Our natural brick, vaulted construction with large glass doors and windows is designed to maximize the sense of being in touch with nature and is the workof a prominent Latin American architect. Weather here is normally Spring-like year round although this year we have experienced some unusually chilly nights. Extra blankets are always available without extra charge on request. Our suites are fireplace equipped and the charge for firewood is nominal. Units are equipped with regional thematic furniture and a complete complement of quality linen and towels. Our restaurant is small and we pride ourselves in our kitchen and table service. Our food is served hot although guests are sometimes tempted to leave their seats after ordering to enjoy the spectacular view from the entrance - and return to find their order waiting. Our playground equipment is for the pleasure of families and is painted and inspected regularly. The management is sensitive to the standards of sophisticated guests and responsive to any complaints, especially to those of uncleanliness. Our generally highly complementary reviews are, of course, not the invention of Trip Advisor but that of the pleased clients who have found us responsive to criticism and ready to correct any problems or misunderstandings. In this case we received no complaint during the stay and were surprised by criticism on the internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We came to this hotel many times. It will always be my favourite place at Lake Atitlan because of it´s spectacular setting directely at this beautiful lake. Beautiful views from the terrace, and it is nice to have breakfast or dinner and just enjoy the beautiful setting. Another great thing is the tropical garden and I find it also very nice, that all the waiters are wearing traditional dresses. Service is exellent and the food good.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colocha70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The hotel overlooks Lake Atitlan and is located right by a beach. (also has a pool) The service, hospitality and the food was excellent.. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemiebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

my comments would echo many of the other reviews. true the Riveriera hotel is looming but it may be better in the apartments for 4 people that is where I stayed and I loved it.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Franni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Property: Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Buenaventura De Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing