We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A garden to match the eternal spring of Guatemala”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
219 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A garden to match the eternal spring of Guatemala”
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Aaprt from being located at the most beautiful lake of the world, this hotel has all it needs to have a relaxed couple of days. Only the parrots or peacocks may wake you up, but who would not enjoy such morning call?
Make sure to have a room in the middle of the hotel in order to enjoy a view on all of the 4 or 5 volcanoes from your balcony!
The garden is a pleasure and meticulously kept. The food is tending to being American, although the straightforward Maya frijoles and tamales are certainly not kept hidden.
The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it may cater to too many guests.

  • Liked — setting of the hotel and sunrise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    226
    70
    26
    35
See reviews for
182
300
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Stayed two days and nights in mid February at the Hotel Atitlan in Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. We stayed in the third floor junior suite with a private balcony that provided spectacular views of the lake and the volcanoes around the lake. The room was well appointed with a comfortable king size bed, pleasant sitting area around the wood burning fireplace, and a large bathroom with beautiful tile. The location of the hotel (about a mile outside of Panajachel) was very tranquil and getting into town on a tuk tuk cost only 15 to 20 quetzales and took but a few minutes. The only real negative about this hotel is the service. The front desk was understaffed (only one employee), at best marginally helpful, and often seemed annoyed to help the guests with even the most modest of requests. A hotel of this caliber that commands $189 per night (quite expensive for Lake Atitlan) should have a concierge or at least more staff to assist their guests. We did not have dinner at the restaurant, but the menu was nice, albeit a bit expensive. Breakfast was not included but there was a breakfast buffet which was quite popular amongst the other guests. Very nice outdoor dining area near the pool with great view of the lake. Service issues aside, this is a truly wonderful, immacutely maintained hotel that should not be missed if staying in Panajachel. Make a point to have dinner at Chez Alex on Calle Santander. Outstanding French and Guatemalan food with great service and very nice ambiance.

  • Liked — The view and the rooms
  • Disliked — The service of the staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jsakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We just returned this week from a 3-night stay at the Hotel Atitlan. It was everything the prior reviews had indicated: gorgeous grounds, spectacular views, romantic ambiance, wonderful food. The infinity Jacuzzi overlooking the lake and surrounding volcanoes was a particular high point, as were drinks and dinner on the terrace. Our room (309) was large and well-maintained, with a great balcony and view. While the hotel and food were a bit pricey by Guatemalan standards, the special ambiance of the Hotel Atitlan was worth every quetzal, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Our only disappointment was the front desk--it was a bit difficult doing basic things like reconfirming airline reservations, getting sightseeing suggestions, arranging special transportation, etc...they were not very helpful with anything beyond the basic room and food needs. Given the clientele, the Hotel Atitlan could really benefit from a concierge or, at the very least, printed information on sightseeing and transportation options. There are wonderful things around (like the Nature Reserve and the public boat to Santiago) that we stumbled into.

  • Liked — Grounds, views
  • Disliked — Front desk/concierge services
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Hotel Atitlan is pretty expensive, but you'll get something in return. Like a beautiful view over the lake and the vulcanoes, a quiet atmosphere just far enough from the crowds of Pana, great food and a nice room. Make sure you'll ask for a nice room with a nice view. We first got a very small room, almost without a balcony, but we were able to change it to one with probably the best view of the hotel...
No baths, just a shower. Nice bed. Great food in the beautiful restaurant. Parrots in the gardens.
Only minus: you have to take a taxi to Pana (and they'll make you pay...).
The boatsmen in Pana try to have you overpay for the trip to the other side of the lake, but it's still cheap compared to the prices of the hotel.

  • Liked — Location, views, food and service
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&CUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

From the moment that we stepped into Hotel Atitlan we knew it was a special place. There were candles lit and beautiful Christmas decorations in the lobby. We could not wait until sunrise to look at the gardens and the lake. The food was a bit pricey for Guatemala but very good and we had excellent service from our waiter. We took the hotel's boat trip for $15 over to Santiago Atitlan- the $15 includes the boat trip r/t and they allow you two hours to walk around the town. Don't miss the nearby Nature reserve - it is an easy hike from the hotel to a platform for viewing the monkeys and a nearby waterfall. We also had a massage for $35 an hour- the setting for the massage was nothing special but it was a good massage. There are some beautiful items in the gift shop and they are reasonably priced.

  • Liked — the views and the gardens
  • Disliked — the restaurant was a bit over priced for Guatemala
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss the nearby nature reserve, also walk into Panachanal and take a tuk tuk back to the hotel- it is fun on the hills!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Just returned from two nights at the Hotel Atitlan. We were in the king suite, number 314, with jaw-dropping views out to the lake and over the hotel's gardens. The room itself was large and comfortable, with a working fireplace and large balcony. The grounds of the hotel, including the bar and pool area, were incredibly well kept and absolutely gorgeous. The only minor negatives we had were that we found the bed too firm for our tastes, and the front desk staff sometimes less than helpful. Otherwise, everything about our stay was utterly relaxing and entirely too short--we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Stunning views and immaculate grounds
  • Disliked — The hard bed!
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're trying to get back to Guatemala City to catch an afternoon flight, pay extra for a taxi and go direct. The shared shuttles through Antigua take much longer and are less reliable.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frednzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Property: Hotel Atitlan
Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing