We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still the best place to stay.”
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Hotel Atitlan is still the best place to stay near Panajachel
We stayed quite a few times at the hotel Atitlan over 34 years since their opening.
The place looks better today, the bathrooms are updated, the beautiful gardens are immaculate.
The American chef does a great job in the dining room, creative and well presented meals.
A word of warning however: we tried to book through their webpage and got an answer from a certain Travel agency.
They asked for a 10% non refundable deposit over the value of the total stay,2 nights, no problem.
After they accepted my Visa payment, they then demanded full nonrefundable payment + 10% charge for the use of a credit card.
I protested, with the result after some threatening e-mails, our reservation was cancelled, no refund offered.
Arriving at the hotel, they were gracious and honoured the reservation and the deposit.
Since it was early December we knew there would be vacancies.
I complained, the hotel is working on their website, so they can book direct in the future.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank MagooVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    227
    70
    26
    36
See reviews for
184
300
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo horizonte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

it is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at. Beautiful decoration, great food, amazing views, kind staff.... I highly recommend this place...and is in great location, far from ugly panajchel

  • Liked — decoration
  • Disliked — cold swimmingpool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We decided to stay at the Hotel Atitlan because we had heard of the beautiful gardens they have. Needless to say, we were not disappointed! They are beautiful and taken care of with the utmost care. The gardens are divided into "rooms". There is a coffee garden, rose garden, knot garden. and an incredible hibiscus garden. These are just a few of the "rooms".
When we arrived at the hotel, we informed them that the airline had lost our luggage. Juan Carlos at the front desk called the airlines and arranged for them to be delivered the next day. We were happy to see that our room had a fabulous view of the lake and gardens. The room was nice and cozy.
The food at hotel Atitlan was great. we had great soups and fresh salads. If there is something you want and it is not on the menu, they will happily make it for you.
The hotel is hacienda style and is decorated with antiques and indiginous textiles which are lovely.
The hotel shop is the best place to shop and you will not find the things they have there in the markets. I made the mistake of thinking I would find some things cheaper in chichi and not only did I not find those beautiful jackets, what I did find was more expensive! I came to find out that the hotel owner designs the jackets up in her little thatch roof house and no one is ever the same!
The jacuzzi has a beautiful view and we already miss sitting there with their great margaritas. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will return!

  • Liked — The beauty of the hotel and friendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Having read reviews about Pananjachel we decided to stay at the Hotel Atitlan to see the area. As it turns out this Hotel was the low point of our Guatemalan vacation. The Hotel was build over 38 years ago, and it shows. There have been no updates, the rooms are dark and musty, and the overall ambiance is one of an old resort that has seen better days. To make matters worse bed linens are smelly and ripped, and we had to find out the following day that we shared our bed with flees. The lack of cleanliness and the overall noise at the Hotel made for an unpleasant stay.

The Hotel Atitlñan advertises itself as a 5 Star Resort, and it certainly charges prices that are up there considering we are in Guatemala (over US$200 for a mid-size room). Unfortunately our telephone reservation was changed, and we were charged a much higher rate upon arrival. It was surprising to find plastic cups in the bath rooms (albeit no bottled water). The use of a computer or a taxi ride to the village is being charged before services are rendered. It all seems like an old Hotel property that is descending fast, and an owner who is trying to get as many dollars as she can while it lasts. Speaking of the owner: her misbehaving dogs roam the Hotel, and will persistently beg for food from the tables at the restaurant – not exactly a 5 Star Resort experience.

If you feel that you want to visit the lake there are other Hotels that are less expensive and provide much better service. The Hotel Atitlan however should be avoided at all costs. Stay away!

  • Liked — Beautiful view of the lake
  • Disliked — Hotel is dirty and noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PAesbonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed in 4 different hotel during our visit to Guatemala and this property has without a doubt the loveliest gardens and views. Lake Atitlan is not to be missed and this is the place to enjoy it. Unless you take a taxi or tuk tuk you will find it to be an inconvenient walk into Pana. We had most of our meals at the hotel restaurant and it is a little pricey but the food was good with breakfast being the best bang for your bucks. All rooms face the lake. They are just average for comfort. No A/C and no ceiling fans. Shampoo, conditioner, soaps and other little comfort ammenties but no hairdryer or iron in the room. They do have them at the front desk to use in your room if needed. Flimsy lock on the room door. I bring a door stop with me just in case of situations like this and use it under the door at night for a little extra security.
Do tour the lake by boat. We arranged to tour the lake and several of the towns with our guide. We especially loved San Antonio Palopo where we got excellent bargains on linens and textiles. One loom operator has a charming "show room" where she displays her wares and is happy to allow you take photos of the looms and explains how they work. Santiago Atitlan was another town we enjoyed. Our guide took us to see "Maximon" the Mayan god who has a "shrine" located in a private house blocks from the waterside. Very fascinating. Great shopping opportunities is these lakeside villages so don't spend everything in Antigua and Chichi. So interesting to visit the Catholic churches in these places and see how the Mayan and colonial cultures mesh together.
After a busy day touring the lake, relax in the hotel's infinity jacuzzi with the fabulous views of the lake and the volcanoes.
We saw the owner and one of her shih tzu dogs during our stay and I wanted to approach her and compliment her on this beautiful property but she always looked right past me. Very unfriendly demeanor. Never a smile or nod. She must have forgotten she is in the hospitality business. Fortunately the staff has not.

  • Liked — Gardens, fountains, the lake view
  • Disliked — Better lock on the door
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2008

The hotel's setting on the shore of Lake Atitlan and its lovely gardens are the high points, however, beyond that, it's all downhill. For the price, I would have expected much more. The food in the hotel's restaurant in fair to poor. The rooms are cheap and tackily decorated, with bedding that one would expect at a Days Inn. The worse thing however, was a party that was held on the hotel grounds that featured blaring latin music with a thumping bass that kept us awake until 1:00 in the morning. After the music ended, the guests stayed around laughing and carrying on, impervious to the other guests who might have been trying to get a night's sleep. Complaints to the front desk went unanswered and the manager refused to get on the phone.

About Atitlan. It's a lovely lake with beautiful scenery and the towns around the lake are picturesque when viewed from the lake. If you don't mind being accosted by vendors aggressively hawking their wares, and I mean really pushy, the towns around the lake are somewhat interesting, but nothing so amazing as to warrant a visit of more than an hour or so.

  • Liked — The view and gardens
  • Disliked — Substandard bedding, tacky decor, loud music.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gordonwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We two women had an 8 night Grayline Package for Guatemala City, Antigua and Lago Atitlan - we are SO sorry that it had only one night at Hotel Atitlan, as that was the highlight of a lovely trip. I actually thought the hotel was a 5-star, based on all the extras in the room and the amenities and the excellent service, but it seems that it isn't - but deserves to be!

The room was large with two double beds and sufficient closet space plus balcony with lake & volcano view and a lovely bathroom with giant mirror, good lighting and plenty of hot water and thick towels. The soap and toiletries were so good that we took them home.

The food was very good - thick soups and fresh vegetables, and especially locally ripened avocados, and the service was very attentive. Our private tour of the lake for 1-1/2 hours in the late afternoon was a delight - simple villages interspaced with some gorgeous custom built vacation homes for the wealthy. I'm fairly picky and have worked for years in the hospitality/hotel business, and I came away with ZERO complaints.

We enjoyed the rest of our trip and the markets, especially Chichicastenango, but this was absolutely our favorite part, and we hope to go back soon and stay much longer.

Guatemala is wonderful - very polite, hospitable people, wonderful fresh food, beautiful colors everywhere, affordable handicrafts and lovely, energizing weather.

  • Liked — THE LOCATION
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Property: Hotel Atitlan
Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing