We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The gardens here are groomed to perfection, there are birds in aviaries, a pool and jacuzzi, and our room looked out to the lake and volcanoes. Sunset from the bar was sublime in delicate shades of pink and blue. There is a nature reserve up the road as well which we enjoyed and we never did get back to Panajachel after the first visit. It seemed everything we wanted was at the hotel. I got laundry done at the hotel and it was the most expensive of my trip around Central America! The staff in the restaurant were not very attentive and provided slow service but reception was very efficient. I was concerned about the treatment I saw of some stray cats near the restaurant. I hope they were either better tolerated or humanely dealt with, not attacked by the large guard dog on site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    201
    61
    22
    30
See reviews for
170
270
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

You can feel the pride and the love that has been put into Hotel Atitlan over the years. The gardens, rooms and grounds are tended to perfection are a perfect compliment to the incredible scenery. The food is excellent in the restaurant and the doting staff are very professional. We would have liked to stay longer. There is always next time. Thank you for some great memories!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are a nature lover, please try seating down inside the jacuzzi at sunset with the lake and volcanoes as a view. You will love the sight. Rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, amazing service and a helipad in case you don't want to drive to Atitlan. There are losts of birds on the premises to take pictures and you can organize a boat tour of the lake from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you can see the sunset or sunrise from a better position. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESolorzanoLemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After staying at Palacio del Dona Leonora we came to this sister hotel at Lake Atitlan. A beautiful location on the lake surrounded by beautiful botanical gardens. Our room had a balcony overlooking the lake and the pool. Great pool and hot tub. The owner of these two hotels was a very gracious hostess. We happened to be there on her father's 91st birthday. Beautiful birds in aviaries on the grounds. Food was great and service was excellent. We had a warm and welcoming feeling like part of the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very good hotel.The location is beautiful. The gardens and swimming pool are great and clean
The rooms are nice in size and are also clean.
The food was very tasty, able to eat outside was a treat for the eye (so much beauty.).From it hotel we where able to take a lovely boat trip around the lake.
I do recommend this hotel for the beauty and the peaceful place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely hotel on the shores of Lake Atitlan. The gardens are lush and extensive. Views of the volcanoes are perfect. Enjoyed the restaurant and lounge. About a two minute walk to nature preserve and zipline.

Room Tip: Room on upper floor with good view of lake and volcanoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel and gardens are just stunning (the view from the restaurant which overlooks the pool area, onto the lake and volcano is just beautiful). The rooms were large and clean and once again, the view from our balcony was incredible...we slept with the curtains open so we could wake up to that view. The staff were helpful and friendly, and despite other reviews, I thought the food was excellent and not over priced. Loved the infinity hot tub with the lake & volcano view. The wifi is free in the restaurant & bar but $10 for access in the room (not per day, but per stay...so no big deal). The hotel is out of town a bit-you could walk it but with the big hill and not much room to walk on the side of the road, we just used the Hotel's tuk tuk...at less than $3 for both of us, certainly worth it--and it was easy to catch one back as well--same price. The grounds, the flowers, the birds, the parrots, it was like walking in paradise. We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor to have the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55Rose555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Property: Hotel Atitlan
Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing