We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Cacique”
Review of Hotel Cacique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cacique Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience at Cacique”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for one week with my wife and daughter while working with service projects in the Panajachel area. Emelio was a great host and saw to our every need, especially after we experienced a 6.9 earthquake during our second night! We lost power and water initially but water returned later the same day and power was back the next day. He made arrangements at another hotel at his expense but our team decided to stay. Our room was large and well taken care of by the staff.The grounds were beautiful and birds plentiful. Breakfast each day in the restaurant was delicious and the staff was very courteous. The pool was very nice and the youth in our group enjoyed it immensely. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs since your windows are open for the cool night air.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan20015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
28
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The pool was very nice, along with the surrounding garden. The waiters from the bar were very good and attentive.

The rooms....well, they are TIRED! They need a makeover just to come up to 1990 standards, and very loud at night. This hotel is at the bottom of the hill coming into Panajachel, so the brakes from loud trucks and motorcycles are periodic though out the night, bring your ear plugs.

Room Tip: IF you want a good room, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good value and a truly 1960s-type vibe in the large rooms. A quirky ever-present general manager who loves to entertain with stories. Emelio also offers advice about everything from life in general to the best place to take pictures of the stunning volcanic crater lake.
Set behind okra-colored walls on the edge of town, about a 10 minute walk from the noisy tourist core.
Very accommodating for groups. Has a large breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are the favorites. Be sure to take your key with you when exiting the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2275Waves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour. Not the hotel on our itinerary, so a bit of a surprise.

Beds comfortable, big rooms, hot showers. Pretty gardens , good size pool . Did see people in it but did not use it myself. Used restaurant our first night , food ok , staff nice.

Breakfast was ok, we had choice of fruit or pancakes or omelette .

Not far from centre street. You may need a torch . Ladies try flat shoes as it a cobbled street.......you won't make it in heels !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston/New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mad Men should shoot an episode there. This place is very 1950's and it's easy to see it was a modern, happening place...then! The rooms were somewhat clean, but infested with mosquitoes, and the staff did their best to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. But, it was definitely not good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is away from the noise of Panajachel's center area but close to the ferry docks that take passengers across the lake to other communities. Our clean room was very large with comfortable chairs and a fireplace. Just outside the door was a sitting area where we enjoyed hummingbirds daring around the gardens just a few feet away. We spotted numerous other birds including a woodpecker. The bar area was relaxed and quiet. Our restaurant meal was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to look out over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I came to Guatemala to learn Spanish and took a trip to Panachel and Lake Atitlan. Stayed at the Cacique Hotel and enjoyed it very much. The pool and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service was excellent. The food was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cacique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cacique Inn

Property: Hotel Cacique Inn
Address: Calle del Embaracadero, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cacique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1973, Hotel Cacique Inn in Panajachel, is a pioneer and icon of hospitality in Solola, in the wild and mystical Lake Atitlan, Guatemala pride.The Hotel Cacique Inn is located in the heart of Panajachel, Solola, just one block from Lake Atitlan and its pier; where you can take one of the public or private ferry to the surrounding villages. Is by far one of the most beautiful lake in the world.CNN - "World's top destinations for 2011"British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) - "Guatemala, selected number 1 of the top 10 vacation destinations in the world in the cultural segment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cacique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacique Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Cacique Inn Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing