We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place!”
Review of Hotel Cacique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cacique Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Place!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I just returned from our first trip to Guatemala. We were on a mission trip and our group was put up in the Cacique Inn. Everything about this place is excellent. It made me want to come back for a vacation. The service is outstanding, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the grounds are paradise! Everyone is friendly and responsive. If you need anything or have any questions, someone is always available to help you. We felt safe 100% of the time. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: The end rooms are very large with 4 beds. I did not see it advertised, so ask them about it if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
28
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I brought a group here after having a terrible experience around the corner and this place was a breath of fresh air. The place has it all- nice swimming pool, breakfast included, wifi, great rooms and all the staff are wonderful. Also has a large parking lot if you are driving (it fit our large bus). It's in a great location just out of the center, so it's a lot more quiet, but easy walking. I'll definitely be bringing groups back here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Inn is walking distance from the shops and nightlife but far away enough to have peace and quiet. The pool was fabulous and the grounds wonderful - staff very attentive and the breakfast was great- hot bread, eggs, fresh squeezed OJ and it's included with the room price. The rooms had little ventilation and were dark but spacious and very clean with HOT water! A good deal for the price. I would stay again!

Room Tip: My room faced the pool and garden and was fine - all the rooms seemed to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a great hotel to relax in after a day of sightseeing in Panajachel and Lake Atitlan. All rooms are very large, very well appointed. The grounds are lush with trees and plants and are extremely well looked after. The pool is kept as clean as one could wish for.
The hotel is very close to the centre of town, a short tuk-tuk ride away.
We have stayed here with family and friends for a number of years and have no regrets whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benzonia, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just left the Hotel Cacique Inn in Panajachel after our most recent stay there, and every time we love it more! The rooms are spacious, with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The swimming pool and grounds are beautiful and perfectly maintained, with lush flowers, trees and exotic plants all around, and plenty of places to lounge, eat al fresco, use the free internet, read or just relax outdoors. The restaurant is always open for meals and snacks, and the food is very good, thoughtfully prepared, and served with great care and efficiency. And every with all of that, the best thing about the Cacique is the wonderful staff and management, always helpful, friendly, smiling and ready to help with anything that comes up. We travel to Panajachel to shop for our store in the U.S., and some of our days are long and very busy. It is so great to have the Cacique as our home away from home. A tremendous value and a real treat, whatever your reasons for travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a week as a mission team. This is a comfortable relaxing place with a beautiful garden and pool area. The staff and manager responded to all of our needs very well. They made us feel very welcome.
One tip: the candles in the fire place actually create an air flow that helps to dry hand washed laundry. They also help take the chill out of the room on a cool evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willson9112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

While living in Santa Cruz, I would come here regularly to have breakfast and lunch and work while my girls were at school in Pana. The hotel staff and the owner are all really nice people and very welcoming. The atmosphere is very nice and my girls love to swim in the pool after school. I also use the wireless Internet which is fast and reliable for work. I highly recommend as a place to stay or just to visit while you are in Panajachel or at Lake Atitlan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpowell623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cacique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cacique Inn

Property: Hotel Cacique Inn
Address: Calle del Embaracadero, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cacique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1973, Hotel Cacique Inn in Panajachel, is a pioneer and icon of hospitality in Solola, in the wild and mystical Lake Atitlan, Guatemala pride.The Hotel Cacique Inn is located in the heart of Panajachel, Solola, just one block from Lake Atitlan and its pier; where you can take one of the public or private ferry to the surrounding villages. Is by far one of the most beautiful lake in the world.CNN - "World's top destinations for 2011"British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) - "Guatemala, selected number 1 of the top 10 vacation destinations in the world in the cultural segment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cacique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacique Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Cacique Inn Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing