We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, gorgeous pool and garden area.”
Review of Hotel Cacique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cacique Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Big rooms, gorgeous pool and garden area.”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Panajachel is the main tourist launching spot for Lake Atitlan. I really wanted to see the towns on the other side of the lake, and Panajachel is a good base for that. The Cacique Inn is close to the docks. (1 block or 4 blocks, depending which docks you're using.)
I was surprised how big my room was. Everything was clean and worked well. I had dinner in the restaurant one night, and the food was good.
My hotel owner in Guatemala City booked the room in Panajachel for me as a part of a package, so I don't know the specific rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZJOHN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
28
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Heights, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at Cacique Inn for a night in 2010 so when we planned another trip this Spring, I knew I wanted to come back. This hotel is very affordable yet super classy--it makes me feel like I've travelled back to Havana in its heyday, with leather furniture, huge art deco frosted glass sliding doors to the hotel rooms, and a very pretty pool area. For no extra charge, you can get room service and help lighting your fireplace. Nights can get cool with the mountain air and I highly recommend getting a bottle of wine and the excellent sun-dried tomato dip and eating in front of the fire!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Very helpful staff ( particularly the manager / owner Emilio - whose good English made life easier for me ! ) , lovely gardens, pool area and bedrooms. Peaceful setting . Quick walk to the Lakeside and the town itself .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpleburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the Cacique Inn for three nights during a buying trip and enjoyed the large, comfortable rooms, good ventilation, relative quiet, good breakfasts in the restaurant, tropical landscaping and lovely pool. Meeting the owner, Adele, was a special treat. The hotel gave us easy access to the main street where we spend most of our time. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed here while on a trip for Habitat for Humanity. The rooms were clean. The staff was great - they always had coca light stocked in their fridge for me. The owner and her daughter were a delight - along with their dogs. They kept the bar open late for us every night - we needed our gallo. We could easily and safely walk into the town. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sls1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cacique_Inn, Manager at Hotel Cacique Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to let you know, for more than three years, the managment of our hotel has changed and thereby also changed many of our staff members. Since then, our focus has been to give our customers the best possible accommodation and service. If you ever visit again Panajachel, I invite you to visit us and see the changes we have made especially for you, our dearest guests. We hope you visit us soon and give us the chance to serve you once again, as you deserve!

Sincerely,

Cacique Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

THIS PLACE SUCKS. the staff stole about 100$ worth of toys ment for school kids. DONT STAY HERE!!!! I was on a global village trip for Habitat.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank volunteer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Cacique_Inn, Manager at Hotel Cacique Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear volunteer3,

I want to issue you my sincerest apologies in the event you describe us in your comment. I would like to let you know, for more than three years, the managment of our hotel has changed and thereby also changed many of our staff members. Since then, our focus has been to give our customers the best possible accommodation and service. If you ever visit again Panajachel, I invite you to visit us and see the changes we have made especially for you, our dearest guests. Again my sincerest apologies, and we hope you visit us soon and give us the chance to serve you once again, as you deserve!

Sincerely,

Cacique Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater,Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

One of the most pleasant and memorable experiences of our lives was our first over night stay in Panajachel.
We were (two couples) booked at the Cacique Inn. The hotel and all of the employees were wonderful. The rooms were large and very clean, with large sliding doors that opened onto one of the most beautiful gardens and large swimming pools, that you would ever want to see.
We were tired when we checked in and wanted to just relax, the bar was not open and when I ask when it opened, they sent our own private bartender and he served us at our table in the garden. I think that I experenced true peace and serenity for the first time, in that garden.
The food was as good as I have ever had and the service was Great.
Only one problem, you can't see the lake from the hotel.
We now pay twice as much and stay at the Posada de Rodrigo, so we can sit and look at the lake
I highly recomend this hotel. For the price, it is the best buy in Panachel.
MississippiJay

  • Stayed July 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mississippijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cacique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cacique Inn

Property: Hotel Cacique Inn
Address: Calle del Embaracadero, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cacique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1973, Hotel Cacique Inn in Panajachel, is a pioneer and icon of hospitality in Solola, in the wild and mystical Lake Atitlan, Guatemala pride.The Hotel Cacique Inn is located in the heart of Panajachel, Solola, just one block from Lake Atitlan and its pier; where you can take one of the public or private ferry to the surrounding villages. Is by far one of the most beautiful lake in the world.CNN - "World's top destinations for 2011"British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) - "Guatemala, selected number 1 of the top 10 vacation destinations in the world in the cultural segment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cacique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacique Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Cacique Inn Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing