We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic...it's a don't miss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossroads Cafe

Crossroads Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Cash Only, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is one of the most popular coffee shops in Panajachel especially with the ex-pat population. Run by Michael, he finds, buys, roasts, grinds, and serves the best beans in Guatemala! And then washes the dishes and loves every minute of it. We hope to meet you soon over a cup of coffee and hear your story!
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic...it's a don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Our interpreter, and friend, highly recommended we stop and have coffee with Mike and Adelle. What a nice experience and what fantastic coffee! Liked it so well we bought 10 bags for home. If you have a little time, make sure you stop in!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    20
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“A great experience in coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Heard about this place from my dentist who asked that I bring him back some coffee during my visit to Panajachel. Our interpreter led us to the cafe which was helpful as it is certainly off the beaten path. Loved the atmosphere. The owners were great and gave us a tour of the famous back room. Took home enough Amazing Grace beans to share and enjoy for many months. A nice place to relax and visit with other tourists and locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_S49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fair trade coffee and the most wonderful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mike and Adelle will turn your head around about coffee and life in a few short minutes. First off, the fair trade coffee is excellent - perfect roast, generous pours and what aroma. Mike is a walking coffee roasting encyclopedia. Crossroads Cafe has a generous, open, infectious spirit which pervades everything they do. The love shows in every cup they brew. And you're guaranteed to meet some great ex-pats who know their coffee and have their hearts in the right place. Don't miss this place. It really is that good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute little coffee bar with average coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

After reading many positive reviews, we hunt down cross rd cafe. It was very small but cute & warm atmosphere. The lady behind the counter was very friendly & service was quick! It was fill with expat & tourist as customers. However, I cannot say the cappuccino live up to the positive review's expectation. It was only ok, it was bitter & not creamy, & the froth was watery if that make sense. Its first time in ages i had to put sugar in my coffee to balance the taste. Taste very much like a homemade Nescafe kind of espresso coffee, not a professional barista coffee I was expecting. Although, to be fair, being an Aussie myself, we are spoiled by excellent barista serving spot on espresso coffee just like Italy,so may be its a matter of different standard. It is no doubt much better coffee than a bad coffee you get from hotels & restaurants, but its with regret to say it was far from deserving of its raving review it gets. It's only 'ok' coffee, not good coffee, sorry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairyland_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Coffee addicts paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Every tuk tuk driver I asked drove me over with no address required. Popular spot and after you indulge you will understand the the consistent crowd it gathers.
Buy a pound and get a cup on the house! Excellent sweet treats too!
Note they close afternoon for a siesta and reopen.Many times I waited with others sitting on the curb for it to open!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossroads Cafe also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Crossroads Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing