We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Popusas”
Review of Pupuseria Cheros

Pupuseria Cheros
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Here are other mentions of this awesome place on the web: http://www.mayanadventure.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&catid=76%3Acheap-eats&id=291%3Apupuseria-cheros&Itemid=398 http://www.suite101.com/content/top-10-things-to-do-at-lake-atitln-a181873
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST Popusas”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The owners are Salvadoreans. They bring their ingredients from El Salvador so they are very authentic. I love the atmosphere, rustic and charming at the same time. They also have great drink prices!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“just amazing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The place is small and cozy. The pupusas are made fresh to order and are so delicious! Not to mention very cheap (Q10 for one). Ordering two was perfect for me. Very nice atmosphere and great service. Highly recommend this place

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimsa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not overwhelmed”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

After reading the reviews here I decided to try the famous pupusas. The place is simple, but nice, service is good and it's nice to watch the woman cook in front of you. The pupusas weren't that special to me, but good food and cheap. Might come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sigrita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best papusas!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Chero's is one our favorite local restaurants. Right now the World Cup is on and we're having so much fun watching the games and eating the best papusas. Chero and his wife own the place and are always there making sure everything is great. the carrot slaw is so good! It's a must of you are in Pana. Small friendly place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We ate a quick lunch yesterday after coming from a boat ride on the lake. We got caught in a rain storm. But I told the family let's go to here the kids enjoyed it after being so tired of with black beans and tortillas... But everything was excellent!!

Will definitely return!! Thank YOU!!

Helpful?
Thank Chapina415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pupuseria Cheros also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Pupuseria Cheros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing