We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent drinks and great BBQ”
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Ranked #13 of 97 Restaurants in Panajachel
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: La Palapa is a thatched roof bar in the center of Panajachel nightlife. Popular with gringos during the day, night time activities attract travelers and locals looking for fun. Monday is game night, Tuesday karaoke, Wednesday open mic, Thursday trivia competition (free tequila shots for round winners) and Friday and Saturday nights live music with local and national bands. Saturday afternoon is BBQ with Smokin' Joe.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

It's totally worth it to come for the Saturday BBQ. The food is really tasty and portions are MASSIVE! I got a pulled pork sandwich, which came with 2 sides. I got the mac and cheese and the broccoli casserole, both of which were delicious! Cash only.

I've never eaten off their regular menu, so I can't speak to that.

For drinks in the evening, it's a fun place and they usually have drink specials. The ambiance is fun.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uclatraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thanks for your kind comments/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2018

Open fire grilling to oder -- fish -- pork-- chicken and beef
great selection of sides -- excellent prices -- cold beer

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thanks! Saturday afternoons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

Best burgers in town! I come to Panajachel 3 months a year (for 28 years). I love buying my own ground beef at the market and I can tell that the Palapa buys theirs fresh every day! Delicious and cooked to perfection every time! I am celiac and I get mine without a bun....very filling!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

La Palapa is a fun place to have a beer and meet people. The bar food is pretty good. Every Saturday they have a BBQ that is excellent. Choices of beef, pork, ribs, chicken, burgers and usually fish with 3 sides. Way too much food for one person, so you might want to share a meal, or take some home for later.

Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

We definitely are a fun bar. Our hamburgers get fantastic comments and our chili won the chili cook-off two times. We have over 100 different beers from around the world and Modelo Especial and Negra on tap. Bands on the weekends, karaoke, open mike, pub quiz during the week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

We were in Pana for a week and hung out here a few nights. Really welcoming bar with good staff and a great bunch of locals to chat to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RamblinTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groucho123, Owner at La Palapa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing