We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but can be noisy”
Review of Jardines del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jardines del Lago
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great view but can be noisy”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The good - wonderful views of lake and sunset from room, garden, dock, hammocks. One of the nicest afternoons we spent was in hammocks with a drink from the bar (great mojitos) a book and a view of the lake with hummingbirds flitting around - heaven. Breakfast was very good with an omelet station and great service, but we never knew where or how it would be served. It seemed to depend on what event might be taking place that day and whether they had a group staying. The rooms were very basic but there was plenty of storage and a large shower with great hot water in a small but very nice bathroom. Front desk was friendly and helpful. It's a little walk to the main street and I'd recommend taking a 10Q tuk-tuk back at night. The bad - wifi awful. Rooms are all lined up along a long walkway and that becomes a racetrack for children. Since the beds are right next to that walkway, you hear everything. We requested a fan (which was delivered immediately) and that along with earplugs made sleeping fine, but be prepared. No place to sit but beds and only one really bad light for reading. Overall, we enjoyed our stay her and would recommend it especially for its location.

Room Tip: All second floor rooms have great views. We had room 206 and maybe further down towards the end migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    99
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
42
73
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located and very cute. Gardens are beautiful on the lake.
Rooms are very simple and not insonorised at all. We have "enjoyed" doors slamming ans loud music until 3am
In conclusion, it´s a nice place if you don't want to sleep!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasiaetcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended, it's practically in front of the lake, the attention is pretty good and the rooms are always clean and cozy. Would definitely stay there the next time I go to Panajachel. The hotel even has it's own dock where you can ask for a ride to any of the 14 towns surrounding the lake which are awesome (personally recommend San Pedro), and you can even rent jetskis or other fun stuff there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
430 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights here. As others have said, the views are wonderful. The gardens were nice and there is a small children's play area. We were driving so chose this hotel as it has secure parking. Our room was nothing special. The rooms open directly onto the open corridor. It was a hot night and there is no AC so we needed to keep the windows open. Unfortunately, a noisy group of young Americans arrived late, and got up early. They yelled to each other and run along the corridor, oblivious to other guests. Thankfully they only stayed one night. There's not much the hotel can do about noisy guests, other than post signs asking people to be quiet between, say 11:00 pm and 7:00 am. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet - but there was no fruit the second day. Maybe we were too late.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ohiowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Overall good value. Worth it for the beautiful views and gardens. Let's face it, that's why you're staying at Lake Atitlan!

Stunning lake view gardens.

Comprehensive buffet breakfast included.

Rooms were basic, dated and could do with repairs.

Staff were helpful.

5 minute walk to Calle Santander (town) and lakeside restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Rooms were basic clean. All you need when all you will probably use your room for is sleeping! Lots of sleeping space for 3 adults, but you had to lounge on the beds as well. There were no chairs, etc. As rooms open to walkway, could be a bit noisy, especially in the morning if you were planning to sleep in. Buffet breakfast was adequate, but I had had better in Guatemala. The receptionist, however, did not know what time breakfast started, and had to ask someone. The gardens were absolutely beautiful. You could tell that the owners of this hotel were working hard to keep the standards up and to rebuild the grounds after the large storm Agatha.

Room Tip: Book room for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanR12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good day from Panajachel. We appreciate your comments as it helps us to improve day by day. We will consider your suggestions and ensure that your next visit will see some of the same. We are pleased to have contributed to a good rest and enjoy our facilities and gardens. But most of all we love to enjoy our natural landscape, the Lake Atitlan. We hope to visit soon. regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjoseca
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our hotel room had great view of lake, large clean room. First class buffet breakfast right next to Lake Atitlan.
Only complaint concerns reservations. Hotel had cancelled them and we had to spend first and last nights at Hotel Santander which was nice, bu not as good as del Lago.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank by_ourselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director General at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Very good day from majestic Lake Atitlan. Feedback from our customers help us to improve services every day. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit, but we assure you that on a future visit this will not happen, because we solve problems immediately. Again thank you for your comment as it will be taken into account to improve our services so that we can better serve you in an upcoming occasion. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardines del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Lago

Property: Jardines del Lago
Address: Calle Monterrey, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
#4 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a beautiful setting on Atitlan Lake, recognized as one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Jardines del Lago has attractive rooms. Set in gardens, it features a restaurant and a terrace with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jardines del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing