We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Peaceful Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardines del Lago
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Views and Peaceful Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thursday night we entered the most beautiful part of Guatemala winding down into Panajachel . There was lots of shopping and bargaining for Mayan goods and many places for inexpensive but good food and drink nearby. It was the most restful part of our 8 day Guatemala vacation in tropical paradise.
Our breakfast was with a view ! Sleep was with a view ! All the settings were with the Volcanoes of Lago de Atatilan as a backdrop and Palm tress in the mild breeze. A boat ride across the lake not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We welcome your comments, which we hope we have met your expectations and beyond our Panorama enjoyed as is the landscape of Lake Atitlan and all sales of crafts with which our beautiful town Panajachel.
See you at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    83
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
64
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the Main Street, yet right on the peaceful lake, so you have the best of both worlds. Hotel staff were great, organising our lake tour to depart from the hotel dock, and the breakfast was delicious. The views are INCREDIBLE... Only wish that we had more than one night here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travelprincess1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is the perfect escape from the hectic world outside it. We found Panajachel a bit too much for our taste, so being able to retreat to the gardens of the hotel and lie in a hammock with a beautiful view of the lake was brilliant. The rooms were fairly small but pretty good overall and had comfortable chairs outside to enjoy the lake view. It's a little way off the main street but definitely worth it for the view and the quiet. Breakfast was good too with eggs cooked to order and really nice fruit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good afternoon: We hope you enjoyed our gardens and panoramic natural as the beautiful "Lake Atitlan" and quiet, we welcome your feedback as it is gratifying to have successfully met the expectation.

We wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friends and I really liked this hotel because of its beautiful grounds right on the lake -- the rooms themselves to be honest were very adequate and quite small, but the lake view more than made up for it.

Pros:
- Picturesque grounds next to lake
- Good breakfast with scrambled eggs, fruit, juice, etc.
- Reasonable location, ~20 mins walking distance from the pier to take ferriess to the nearby towns

Cons:
- Rooms were quite small (one double, and two single beds could barely fit in the room for our 3-person room) and not particularly nice
- In the morning, there is a lot of sounds coming from birds and roosters --- while this can be pleasant, it wakes you up in the morning. Bring earplugs!!
- Bathroom is not particularly nice, but very basic
- Service was so-so -- hard to communicate in English with the staff and they were not particularly helpful
- Wifi was NOT existent in the room; had to go outside the room or to the common area (where there were mosquitoes)

Overall, I think that this hotel a good choice still if you can spend more time enjoying the grounds. However, set expectations in terms of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Jardines is a quaint, beautifully located hotel. The place is away from the busy Main Street, yet it is close to the public dock. Rooms are spacious, immaculate, and have a nice hot water shower, and reliable internet connection.

They provide complimentary coffee in the lobby and you can always refill your water bottle there. Breakfast is double the price, there are a lot of places five minutes away that are 1/2 price.

The view from hotel gardens is breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houliganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments we told him that we are two blocks from the main street so we find it strange that you coment that the location is far. There are very pleased to know that you enjoy your stay. Regarding the price breakfast we offer fresh, high quality, hygienically prepared with great dedication by giving it a special flavor of our chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. The hotel is in a great location on Lake Atitlan with views of the volcanoes. The gardens are beautiful, rooms are good and breakfast was very good. There was very little atmosphere in the evening though, we returned from a meal in town and had a drink in the bar. We were the only ones in there and the staff were clearly waiting for us to leave although it was only 9.30pm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Our goal is total customer satisfaction and we like to know about your positive comments which helps us to improve every day and so provide better service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed at Hotel Jardines de Lago for one night. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. As you look outside as you eat in the restaurant, you see beautiful Lake Atilan and a volcano.A great view. The food in the restaurant is very good, and in the morning you get a free buffet breakfast.lots of relaxing places to sit and relax on the grounds and on the dock.we were picked up from the dock to go on a boat trip that took you across the lake ,and you got out to walk around three towns. This was a nice trip. The rooms were nice and clean. There was a wedding their that night. A nice place to be married. This is a very nice spot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Our restaurant "Vaqueros" is very well located as you said at the same time be tasting our delicious dishes also enjoy a wonderful view, we hope your next visit will be treated as you wish by family Lake Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardines del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Lago

Property: Jardines del Lago
Address: Calle Monterrey, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
#4 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a beautiful setting on Atitlan Lake, recognized as one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Jardines del Lago has attractive rooms. Set in gardens, it features a restaurant and a terrace with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jardines del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing