We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking paradise!”
Review of Chalet Tony

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tony
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This winter at the beginning of the year my aunt and I took one last trip to paradise..she was diagnosed with cancer and had a few special needs to be accommodated on this trip. Our hostess Marion was an angel in animal print, she made sure that we were well taken care of and extremely comfortable. The rooms were simple and homey and quiet spacious , and the Roman style tiled bathtubs were beautiful along with the unique pieces of art scattered thru out the compound . The compound its self is a beautiful lush garden of different plants and animals all framing a beautiful view of the lake and volcanos. Because of chalet Tony and Marion it was truly one last trip to paradise that I will cherish the memory's of for the rest of my life THANK YOU CHALET TONY!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just attended a function at Chalet Tony and it was excellent. Beautiful relaxing grounds, very nice spacious rooms with kitchenette, centrally located and a great party. Marion is a gracious host, interesting place and interesting background. A fun lady and a nice party. I found nothing wrong with Chalet Tony.

What I did find wrong was 2 bad reviews and the rest all good. Obviously whiners that will never be happy and completely wrong on their review. They probably whine on all their reviews and should stay home.

It was a great party, great place, great food, great hostess, great band and I will let you judge for yourself.

Room Tip: Check the rating, like Chalet Tony. All rated high and two whiners. Don't let them stop you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The best part of Chalet Tony is the garden. That is the only pleasant comment to be made, except for the staff who were kind. The rooms are depressing and dated. Kitchenettes and bathrooms are really ancient and ugly.

Everything in the rooms scream old, used, and worn out. If you are a hippie you may find it a likeable stay - but be warned this place is overpriced for what you get.


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogoglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As Marion the owner has said "Chalet Tony is a soft landing." It is an oasis in the middle of Panajachel and a perfect spot for relaxing or traveling on Lake Atitlan. We had Sunday dinners, played scrabble and met new friends, Chalet Tony is a unique experience and the grounds are magical. The Peacocks and the Dog, "Tina Turner" make the place feel homey and friendly. If you like to laugh, love and relax in a laid back safe and secure location. Chalet Tony is what you need.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My husband John and I stayed with Marion at Chalet Tony this past October. We fell in love with the beauty and charm of both Marion and CT. Our room was spacious and comfortable and clean. The area was a wonder and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmfouraces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Chalet Tony is a quiet and comfortable Panajachel retreat. Conveniently located near the center of town, while tucked away off the road in a large, lush garden. Spacious rooms include a kitchen and porch, with large windows overlooking the lovely garden, and framed by the long view of the volcanoes. The menagerie of dogs, cats and peacocks are welcoming, and add to the cozy, intimate environment.

I have been traveling to Guatemala for 20 years, staying with Marion at the Chalet Tony. I can count on her upbeat, and generous spirit, and I appreciate the family atmosphere she has created. Marion and her gracious staff go out of their way to make my stay wonderful. Chalet Tony is safe and clean, and is a fabulous place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenmuntainmama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Chalet Tony in Panajachel was our extended family base of operations for a Lake Atitlan wedding. Seventy three of us came in from abroad and mostly the northern parts of USA. The bride and her closest family were living at Chalet Tony. Others were gathered at traveler lodging nearby. You would hear the gates of Chalet Tony opening at the street and friends and family would suddenly appear out of the lush greenery and flowers. What a treat. We stayed here for almost two weeks, shopping for food in the local market, cooking in our rooms, sharing meals on the marvelous wide veranda, taking off across the lake to sight see and then coming HOME again. We had an family X-mas Eve celebration, a day after the wedding brunch put on by the family in the beautiful yard, and a New Year's Eve party. The gardens were lovely, a patch of green paradise in a dusty little city. The accommodations are generously sized and simply furnished. A table, chairs, beds, dresser, basic cookware, stove-top, frig and dishes, a fireplace with wood for chilly lake nights, what more do you need?

You wash your own things, unless you are willing to pay the staff to come in and do so for you. I am sure that was an option. This a third world country, we were happy to have a flushing toilet, running water and access to a laundry facility. In a city without sewage treatment, we first world westerners have a responsibility to use the water resources wisely and little. Each room had a large glass tank of safe drinking water , that could be replaced when empty for a very small amount of $$, just ask one of the staff. Relaxing in a porch chair on the sunny veranda of Chalet Tony is my favorite memory of Guatemala.

We were amazed and fascinated by the owners peacocks. They are a noisy crew, and glorious beyond belief when the males preen for each other and the girls. The staff shooed the birds off to a back compound parts of each day. The owner, Marian, lives on site, and has her own family and friends visiting, like your neighbors house next door in the states.

Hot and fresh tortillas were available practically at your doorstep, good breakfasts were a short walk away at a simple and very clean restaurant, shopping was blocks away, the kids found an internet cafe 4 blocks away. This was my first time visiting a place outside the USA. I cannot imagine staying any place but Chalet Tony in Panajachel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpokaneRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tony

Address: Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chalet Tony Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing