We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Balam Ya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santa Catarina(Santa Catarina Palopo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tzam Poc Resort(Santa Catarina Palopo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa Palopo(Santa Catarina Palopo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradise Inn(Panajachel)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Hotel Playa Linda(Panajachel)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Rancho Grande Inn(Panajachel)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Dos Mundos(Panajachel)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (132)
    Filter reviews
    132 results
    Traveler rating
    97
    24
    3
    6
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    97
    24
    3
    6
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsjade cottagefloor to ceiling windowstuk tukfull kitchenlake atitlanprivate boat tourvilla complexhillside overlookingbedroom bathroomviews are spectacularmain flooryogurtrainy seasonwell equipped kitchenmain townlate at nighta great place to stay
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    73 - 78 of 132 reviews
    Reviewed November 25, 2013

    We were lucky enough to leave our kids behind for a few days and what a treat it was! The Balam Ya Villas were the perfect venue for our getaway. There were plenty of rooms for all of us and the villa was decorated really beautifully. The view during our evening cocktails was stunning as were the sunrises from the balcony. It was so great to have a cook come in and prepare a traditional meal. She was an absolutely lovely woman that the villa manager arranged for us. Every morning we were delivered fresh orange juice, fruit, yogurt and granola--such a great way to start the day. We enjoyed a private boat both days for a trip to San Juan and the second day a tour along the shore. When we weren't out and about, we could be found soaking in the hot tub or even doing yoga on the deck overlooking the lake. Overall it was a great experience---the setting was beautiful, the villa gorgeous and so much or so little to do---your choice!!

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sarahcamp44
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 24, 2013

    The Balam Ya villas have been perfectly constructed to take advantage of the incredible views of the lake which we enjoyed from the two terraces in the El Mirador Villa. The villa is very tastefully decorated with amazing artwork and the kitchen was fully stocked and even had a dishwasher (a rare thing to find in Guatemala!). We had brought our own champagne and they even had champagne flutes in the villa along with good cookware, etc. One night a lovely local woman (Rosa) came and prepared our evening meal and it was first class. Shrimp salad followed by a local chicken dish called Pepian which was delicious and we even had enough for lunch the following day. You can walk to the nearby village of Santa Catarina (15 minutes) which has just enough of a hill climb on the way back to make you feel like you have got the blood flowing and then take a plunge into the lake off the dock, followed by a jacuzzi! Loved it.

    Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    Thank Liz v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 23, 2013

    The Villa Balam Ya is one of several villas clustered together on a hillside near Panajachel. The Balam Ya villa is magnificent. It has two bedrooms, one on each floor for maximum privacy. Ably run by the manager Lesly our stay exceeded all our expectations. The villa is beautifully decorated with original artwork from the collection of the owner. Lesly arranged a trip to the market town of Chichicastenago. Another day we were picked up by the boat at the villas dock for a private tour of Mayan villages around the lake. While this was more expensive than taking public transport we avoided a trip into Pana and make good use of our limited time to see many villages.
    The staff at Balam Ya is superb. Rosa made breakfast for us every morning. We also ordered dinner every night so we relaxed in the villa after a busy day of touring. These meals were excellent and fairly priced. The staff couldn't have been more gracious and helpful.
    There is a steep walk from the villa up to the road but that was no problem for us.
    Thanks for this special experience.

    Room Tip: We stayed in the Balam Ya villa so this is the only one i can comment on.
    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Oregontraveller40
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 21, 2013

    We've been to Lake Atitlan several times, but each time it was at a hotel. Which is usually one room for our family. This time we wanted to be home, away from home, and Balam Ya was exactly what I wanted.

    We arrived during the rainy season which only gave us the early afternoon to enjoy the outside, and unlike hotels where you can go stir crazy inside with energetic kids, our villa was amazing.

    We stayed in Villa Mirador which is 2 bedrooms with 2 balconies. We literally spent over 4 hours hanging out on the main porch protected from the rain enjoying one of the most beautiful places on Earth!

    What a difference having a villa. The kids were able to play in their room, or watch tv, or run around on the porches. And the best, was the jacuzzi which was just a full on bubble bath party for them.

    While they were having fun my husband and I were able to chill out and enjoy wine looking out on the lake and even getting a glimpse of a short sunset, that appeared between the wet clouds.

    This is the ONLY PLACE I would recommend to stay when coming to Lake Atitlan! It's definitely, DEFINITELY, worth the splurge.

    You can see pictures and a video on my blog and a more in depth review, including the in room breakfast service on Travel Experta.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Travel_Experta
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 29, 2013

    My family and I traveled to Guatemala for first time and we decided to stay in Villas Balam ya last month. We were there for 3 nights and I have to say that I felt very welcome since the first time. The staff was really helpful at the time we were requesting things. The manager Leslie help us a lot, she was really kind to us and arrange everything we need. I really appreciate Leslie`s help when we had to go to the doctor because my wife got sick, she went with us to the doctor and help us with the medicine.

    The Place was awesome I have to say, we stayed in the Mirador house, this house was pretty nice and we were having cleaning service every day and dinners we requested to them. Lucia was the lady that cooked for us, the food was awesome and her attention to us terrific.

    We loved the place and we are planning to come back.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jason F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews