We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is AMAZING!!!!”
Review of Villas Balam Ya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Balam Ya
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Anyone interesting in visiting Lake Atitlan and is not too concerned with budget, this place is totally worth it. The place is immaculate, the service is excellent, and the view is to die for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totallynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Villas Balam Ya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

We recently went to Guatemala for a week. We went to Tikal, Lake Atitlan and Antigua. We stayed at Villas Balam Ya in the Villa Bambu. The property is located about 3km outside of Panajchel-but a tuk tuk is only 10-15/person quetzales. We had a fully equipped kitchen-and went to the town to get groceries. There is also a bbq grill. We had a cook come in one night to make dinner. Every meal we had on our balcony overlooking the lake. They do have an onsite "grocery" but of course the prices are much higher. There isn;t a pool and the water wasn't suitable to swim in during the time we went. So, that was a downfall. Great views! Floor to celing windows. If you don't like stairs-this place isn't for you. All the villas are nestled in their own area-so alot of privacy. Wi-fi in the villa. The rooms are open-no doors. Beautifully decorated!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winerunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

On the right side of the lake to see the volcanos we had the big villa on the waters edge a must if staying here it will take your breath away the staff here were fantastic as per the other reviews you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillimudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

With a spectacular setting right on the lake, this is a superb place to "get away from it all", while still being within easy reach of the main town (read: pizza delivery). The lake views and gardens are gorgeous. The accommodations are luxurious and comfortable. We stayed in the main villa B'alam Ya (didn't see the other villas), which was full of creature comforts (stocked kitchen, spacious bathrooms, DVD player, etc.), artwork, and delightful spots to soak up the views (several outdoor seating areas, a private lakeside jacuzzi, and -- my favorite -- a comfortable king bed on the first floor next to floor-to-ceiling windows). The staff was friendly and service was great. Lesly is a terrific manager; she provided prompt and helpful responses to emails prior to our visit; and she was just a phone call away if we needed anything during our visit (she gave us a cell phone to use during our stay, which came in handy while at the villa as well as when we were out and needed a tuk-tuk or boat taxi back home). She arranged everything seamlessly for us (a private boat tour of nearby villages, taxis from Antigua and to the airport, massages, etc.). Don't miss Rosa and Luisa's delicious cooking (they come to your villa and prepare meals) -- we enjoyed everything they made for us (tipico breakfast, pepian chicken dinner, and lime chicken dinner). Villas B'alam Ya is a real treat!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Excellent small villa & staff! The only thing needs to be improved just Spa could be better.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
Thank Alannalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Gorgeous villa in a beautiful location. Very private, brand new, modern, beautiful grounds and amazing view of the lake. Great service. Enjoyed every minute of it. Javier arranges boat rides and meals delivery for you. Whatever you want, just ask. They are still new so they are getting things organized. Great friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Villas B'alam Ya are most likely the best option you can select when visiting Lake Atitlan and the surrounding towns. I believe there is a total of 4 villas (2 newly constructed) we stayed at the Grand Villa and got a great deal.


Service:
Not only do you get the best accommodations but also 5 star service. Essentially you have your own staff on hand. Javier the manager of the property makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay (just ask him). You also have your own cook who will make you breakfast at the time you choose to wake up; just let her know when you want her to drop by. There are also guards (great and noble guys) who watch over the property and will lend a helping hand when you need it. The staff essentially makes sure you are well taken care and enjoy your stay the way you want to.

Location:
Not only do you get your privacy you are close to everything. Apporiximately 5 min. from Panajachel the villas are idealy located. The property is on the shores of the lake and has a breath taking view of the water and valcanos. Not only can you enjoy the view from the rooms and balconies but even while you take a shower (see picture).
While you have the option of a taxi or tuk tuk you can even hop onto a water taxi as the villas have its own dock. The property is also just around the corner from some natural hot springs. Hop into some kayaks from the dock in the morning, complements of Villas B'alam Ya, enjoy the soothing hot water, and paddel back for a great breakfast.

Creature Comforts:
During your stay you will probably be content enjoying the view from your balcony's hammock while enjoying a drink, but you have the option of enjoying your everyday modern essentials, which includes: Wireless internet (WiFi), TV, DVD, movies, bbq/grill, jacuzzi, stocked kitchen, stereo, even an iPod and doc if you didnt bring yours. While I am not a green thumb I have to say the gardens and freash flowers in the house were beautiful. Well landscaped and full of exotic flowers hanging just outside on the patio with humming birds pay visits throughout the day adds a real visual impact and enjoyment to your stay.

In Conclusion:
As the title says I loved the place so much I stayed another night. I got more than I could ask for at a great price and left Lake Atitlan and Villas B'alam Ya already planning my next visit back.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hachi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
1.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Balam Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Balam Ya

Address: Palopo Km 4, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $124 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Balam Ya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Balam Ya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Balam Ya Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing