We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without qualification the best place I've stayed in Pana”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Without qualification the best place I've stayed in Pana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

For the past several years I have spent 2-3 months each year in Pana. Jenna's is by far the most comfortable to date. Her delicious breakfast eaten communally with a generous serving of fascinating conversation with guests from all parts of the world alone would be enough without the beautiful gardens, the amazing paintings and antiques that abound. All of that plus great water pressure for the generous hot water, huge, soft towels, reliable wifi in the room and cable t.v. with HBO. A terrific find for a stay in a beautiful country.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pscheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    40
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
157
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in January. Jenna is very warm and welcoming - an interesting lady with a lot of stories to tell. She is very knowledgeable about the area (and Guate in general) and has lots of recommendations and ideas for things to do and places to go. Our room and bathroom were clean, and the hot water was good and hot. There is a rooftop deck with a view out to the lake - ideal for afternoon/evening drinks.

Jenna's sumptuous breakfasts are a real social occasion, giving the opportunity to meet travellers from all over the world. The ample breakfasts are varied, from pancakes to traditional Guatemalan-style fare, and breads baked fresh daily. Not to mention the beautiful Guatemalan coffee! When the weather is suitable, breakfast is held in a charming corner of the garden.

The location is ideal, being only a couple of minutes' walk to the lakefront, and not much more to restaurants. It is quiet at night, so no problems going to sleep!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Jennifer is a great host,a warm and friendly women and also a great cook.
Her breakfast is very good with home made bread,pancakes and jam from all kind off fruits.
The palce is clean and well kept with a beautifull garden.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wella645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Descriptions like 'quaint' and 'full of character' cannot be used to excuse a dingy home. I never felt clean there. Shiver. Tacky rooms, creepy bathroom, wouldn't take a shower for our two nights, way overpriced. Worst place we stayed in our 3 weeks in Guatemala.

Room Tip: there are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had a short, but very enjoyable stay. Had to catch an early morning ride to the airport. Jena was up early to have coffee ready. Told her not to fuss, since we were stopping for breakfast later, but she insisted on sending us on our way with a cup. The cinnamon roll was pretty special too!! Beyond that, the accommodations we very comfortable and yes the hot water for that early morning shower felt good. Will stay with her again when I come back to Pana.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked Jenna's B&B after reading all the amazing Review here on TripAdvisor and that was a blessing.

Jenna was really helpful and approachable even before we got to Pana and was willing to help with everything from transport to activities.

The place itself is Homey and the back yard is charming as well as the rooftop. Breakfasts were the best I had in Central America and were a real treat.

Our stay was a pure bliss and it was so hard to leave. Highly recommended.

Idan & Ofer

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdanBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in Jenna's.
Our room was at top of stairs in main house and was tiny and a little unkempt.
The shower and the toilet were squeezed into the corner of the room in touching distance of the bed.
Sink in room was very wobbly and on a slope.
At best you could say the room had character.

Jenna herself was a wonderful host very friendly and helpful with tours etc.
She realy put herself out on last morning getting up at 5am to prepare us breakfast and ensuring our shuttle arrived.
Her breakfasts are an amazing array of freshly homemade breads and jams , omelettes and vegetables a veritable feast.
Location is excellent just 2minute walk to lake and felt very safe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bobcatbindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast
Address: Casa Loma | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices include all taxes and full breakfasts.Situated half a block from the lake in a quiet part of town, Jenna's River bed and Breakfast is close to Restaurants, the Natural Reserve and Galleries, The house is a comfortable and homey place to go forth from to explore the Mayan highlands and villages around the lake. A Spanish style building with lovely gardens and terraces. The property has a total of 7 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, another with two single beds, two of the rooms have a queen size bed and day bed to accommodate a third person or child. One of the rooms has a king size bed. All the rooms have private en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenna's River Bed And Breakfast Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing