We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sammy the wiener dog is the friendliest creature alive.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Jenna's Bed and Breakfast. Her new location is gorgeous and the beds, showers, and friendly environment made for a perfect weekend at Lake Atitlan. Sammy (her wiener dog) was so friendly! We enjoyed drinks on the roof every night and Jenna's home-cooked breakfasts were delightful! Thank you Jenna!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Sammy has very quickly taken over to being top dog! Maybe it's just a sausage dog trait, the others seem to have accepted it. Certainly they all get enough attention from everyone. It was lovely having you here. I do hope you make it back here one day. J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 377 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Jenna's B&B is in a whole new location and it is gorgeous! Every room has a private bathroom with fantastic showers, the towels are fluffy and huge and the beds are fantastic. I travelled with a group of friends/my boyfriend and we loved the garden and rooftop for drinking coffee and cervezas. Jenna had fantastic advice for restaurants (go to Maya Vietnamese Fusion) and activities. She also cooks a stellar breakfast with homemade breads, jams and chutney. I will without a doubt return to her bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. She has rooms with one queen bed, two twin and two queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

It was lovely having you here. I always look forward to having people return. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Jenna's 3 nights in April. What a great place! Spotless rooms, comfy bed, nice big towels, robes.Her breakfasts were excellent. The garden was lovely, and we enjoyed a cocktail or two after exploring the town. We were exploring Lake Atitlan as a possible retirement spot, and will definitely be returning to Jenna's for a return visit next year. She was very helpful, and introduced is to a real estate agent in the area. We can't wait to return! Thanks so much Jenna!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyBatavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I look forward to seeing you guys again. This time in the new place! It's brilliant, roomier and with more places to hang out in, watch the sunset on the terrace....I missed that in the smaller house. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at Jenna's Bed and Breakfast for eight nights in April. I went there primarily to ride a bicycle around Lake Atitlan. I selected Jenna's Bed and Breakfast because of the outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, I crashed my bike on the first day out and was forced to find alternative things to do. Thanks to Jennifer's help and knowledge of the area, I was able to find many other attractions: taking the boats to other villages around the lake, excursions to nearby cities, hiking, galleries, restaurants and coffee shops. Jennifer was invaluable in helping to point out these trips or actually arranging them for me. I also spent a lot of time relaxing in the beautiful gardens or in the home. The breakfasts were incredible. My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs. Jennifer is far and away the friendliest and most helpful hostess with whom I have come in contact. My wife and I will return next year.

Room Tip: The single room is very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

You never know when you take a trip if your going to get an upset stomach, take a fall or any other number of scenarios... it's nice to think that people feel comfortable in my bed and breakfast. I look forward to having you and your wife next year. Do please come back, then you will be able to get in those bike rides you missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Jennifer has thought of everything you could possibly need or want, from the high tread count sheets, to the soft, luxurious towels, "his & hers"bathrobes, gourmet breakfast with homemade breads, jam, chutney, special potatoes & eggs, or fruit pancakes, fresh fruits and of course, freshly made Guatemalan coffee! She makes you feel right at home around her roaring fire and lovely garden surrounded by beautiful plants and well behaved, darling dogs. We had our car, so she let us park in her garage.
She made many recommendations and made reservations for us to be picked up by the shuttle to go to the big market in ChiChi. She is an accomplished artist with many of her paintings, wall hangings, quilts, ect. for your viewing and purchase. She also has a nice collection of wooden masks, and quipils that you can also purchase if you'd like...just do your shopping there!
Her place is centrally located and just a 5 min. walk to the lake and boats to take you to all the different villages around it.
Just wait...she will have a view of the lake and volcanoes from her new place that she is preparing, right now, just FOR YOU! I can't wait to return, Jennifer!

Room Tip: We stayed in her annex, which was off the main house, with kitchen and large bath, outdoor table, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Well!! I don't speak Flemish, and I'm trusting the google translation, but what a lovely review. When I started the B&B I thought back to years ago when one would drive out to small villages in the countryside in England and look out for the piece of paper in the window with B&B on it, stop and ask if there was a room. You ate breakfast with the family and usually had a lovely experience. I'm glad to think that you consider this like a real Bed and breakfast. That's a real honour. Thank you for coming and being a guest here. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Jenna helped make our time in Guatemala a success. She arranged pick up at the airport and helped with ongoing travel when we left. Her bed and breakfast place was homy and welcoming with a beautiful garden. She was a fund of information about local stuff having lived in the area for some time. The breakfasts were delightful and varied. The room was comfy and secure. I would highly recommend using this as a base for exploring the Lake Atitlan area. While we were there, Pana became very busy as the Semana Santa crowds filled the streets adding to the bustle but detracting from the local character of the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

You are right about the character of the town during these busy periods. Normally it's just a sleepy little town on the edge of the lake. Ideal for going to other places near here. It does get really busy at Easter and at New Years, otherwise, a nice relaxing place to be. Thank you for visiting and I certainly hope you come again. Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Jenna's April 1-10th .By we, I mean myself , my wife and- two daughters ages 6 and 17.As a previous review stated Jenna's is a serene private oasis. Beautiful plants, sumptuous delicious breakfasts and a hostess that makes you feel like you are part of her family. The resource of Jenna's is Jenna herself. She has a thorough working knowledge of the country, the area and in short is one of the most capable humans I have met. I have traveled a good portion of the world as a merchant seaman, and called many a hotel/port's my home.This experience was exceptional( noI am not being paid, nor am I a relation of Jenna's)We will be back.By the way-our last two days were in Antiqua at Hotel Posada Don Rico. Nice place, but not as comfortable as Jenna's.Love to you Jenna, Captain Mike Leslie and Family.

Room Tip: Listen to Jenna about Street food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAltarations S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Well, I'm so glad that you were comfortable. It's not always easy to travel with small children and your kids and family are lovely. It was a real pleasure to have you here and I look forward to future visits from you. Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
1.3 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
1.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

Address: Road to Santa Catarina | Solola, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: $45 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jenna's River bed and breakfast is located on a slope 1.5 km from Panajachel, this location presents our guests with the most spectacular views of the lake and it's volcanoes. Quiet seclusion with the convenience of being a 5 minute Tuk Tuk ride to town. The accommodation at Jenna's is made up of 7 luxurious Yurts with solid walls nestled into the hillside. Each Yurt has en-suite bathrooms with bath tubs and showers featuring large picture windows facing the lake. You can relax in your bath tub or Jacuzzi enjoying sunrises and sunsets over the Volcanoes. It's all about the fabulous views. Aldous Huxley compared Lake Atitlan to Lake Como, he said Lake Atitlan is one of the most beautiful lakes of the world. Jenna's also has a world class restaurant, two Mayan saunas and hot tubs and spa where you can enjoy massages and other spa services. The NeighBar is the perfect place to have a cocktail and enjoy the sunset before dinner on the premises or heading in town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenna's River Bed And Breakfast Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing