We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Regis was quaint and comfortable with some nice surprises!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel Regis was quaint and comfortable with some nice surprises!”
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Regis on Sunday, February 15th and enjoyed the beautiful grounds and comfortable setting. The rooms were simple, although the linens and drapes could use updating. All the mattered to me was that it was clean, and there was running water, with hot shower! They offer a restaurant with many typical Guatemalan dishes. If you crave something different, there are fried chicken stands and pizza joints located right at the edge of their property, and MANY other restaurants all within walking distance. One nice little surprise, which we definitely made good use of, were their fabulous natural hot springs. Every morning they empty the (jacuzzi-like) stone-lined pools, and refill with fresh hot water. They also have a (wigwam) style sauna, which you will need to ask them ahead of time to warm for you, since it's heated by a fire with the use of real wood. So relaxing...definitely indulge! They also offer spa services, but we didn't have time to partake. The town of Panajachel is so unique and interesting. There are many street vendors, selling very similar items...but in our two week tour across Guatemala and Honduras, it was by far the best place to bargain and negotiate pricing with the locals. Definitely do not miss out on bringing home some quality handicrafts and souvenirs! Walk down to Lake Atitlan and enjoy a refreshment at the water's edge, or take a boat ride across the lake. So many fun things to do in this little town, definitely a highlight of our two week tour.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktisinwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    101
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
96
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Regis is a quiet oasis just off the often chaotic street activity of the vendors and the Chinese made three wheel taxis that scurry along the street. My room was clean, big bed, adequate storage and a large bathroom with a big shower area. I stayed here as part of an Overseas Adventure Travel OAT Route of the Mayas travel program.

The hotel is five blocks (or so) from Lake Atitlan. I walked there to photograph the sunrises. On my first day there, I was advised by the guard that it might be a ¨bit risky¨ to go out ¨so early¨but I did not have any issues and discovered that there were quite a few tourists at the lake at sunrise. The town itself is full of stalls where the locals sell their wares.

Our group took a boat trip across and around Lake Atitlan. I found that there are so many street vendors who get in your face that it was somewhat distracting to walk down the street at times.

The rating of Above Average is based on other hotels encountered on our travels in Central America and does not take into account the large resorts with the luxury hotels elsewhere in the world.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — Show did not drain quickly
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We got to this hotel after trying many other hotels in Panajachel which were fully booked, and we didn´t get disappointed. This is a very nice hotel with big clean beutiful rooms. The shower was okay but there was no stream and the hot water took ages to come.
The price was a bit higher than we expected but the service was good. The location is excellent, straight in the middle of Pana and not far from the lake. Breakfast was good.
They have internet, but we prefered to use one in the street which was much cheaper.
There is a spa in the hotel that includes two natural thermal pools and sauna (free). The pools were very nice but in some of the days when we checked weren´t so hot.

  • Liked — The location, the rooms, the natural pools
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seraphnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Stayed with my husband and three preteens the third week in April for three nights and was pleasantly surprised.

Having just driven from Guatemala City (which can be quite a harrowing experience), we were hot, tired, and a little overwhelmed arriving in the bustling town of Panajachel. The hotel was like an oasis. The grounds were really lovely. Though it was still pretty early in the day (about 10am) they had our room ready for us.

A very spacious and clean room with three comfortable double beds, satellite TV (mostly Spanish stations), and quite a large bathroom. We also had a small porch area with a couple of benches.

The facilities included two natural hot springs and a sauna. (If you want to use the sauna you need to let them know 2 hours ahead of time.) They also had a pretty good masseuse.

A plus was the free, secure parking...not something you find in a lot of places in Guatemala

The location is great. Right on the main street...a couple of blocks from the lake. Though you're in the middle of everything, the hotel itself is very peaceful (until the school next door starts it's band practice....noisy, but it's all part of the experience)

Though the rates are reasonable, as stated in other reviews, the restaurant is very expensive for the quantity and quality of the food you get. Also, internet access is ridiculously expensive. There's an internet cafe just across the street that's much less. For a great meal, I highly recommend "Guajimbo's" ...an Uruguayan steakhouse just down the street.

Panajachel itself is a very colorful town set on one of the most beautiful lakes I've ever seen, surrounded by three volcanos... really breathtaking! Also, we felt very safe walking around, even at night, with our three kids.

A place worth visiting.

  • Liked — location, atmosphere, service
  • Disliked — food and internet access overpriced, poor quality and skimpy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

This is a perfect of example of getting what you paid for. For how little they charge it is a nice place to stay. The rooms are large, have cable TV with an odd mix of channels, private baths, and are generally clean and well taken care of. There are no safes in the room but they have a bank-like safe deposit box room near the front desk that is offered at no charge (a great option)

The hotel is walking distance to the Lake but is just far enough off the main road not to have any traffic noise at night. What it does have is a public school as a next door neighbor. The school had outdoor actvitites every day that involved either a band or amplified sound of some sort. So the tranquility fades when school is in session.

The hotel also has this odd way of feeling like a small-time hotel that wants to be something more (but doesn't know how). In a town where internet access costs 3-6Q/hour they charged 20 to use their "business center" (aka a PC sitting on a table next to the front desk). They have a full menu for breakfast but the included breakfast is only one item on the whole menu. And that one item was by far the worst meal we had the whole trip (and it was just eggs). Finally, they have signs in the room threatening fines if you leave the lights or TV on when you leave the room (I thought this wasn't a Youth Hostel??).

So go in with your eyes open- this is an okay tourist-class hotel in a convenient location. It has nice grounds, as others have said, and the staff is not unfriendly. For a night or so it's okay.

  • Liked — Location- close to everything
  • Disliked — Worst food we had on the entire trip
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This is a great hotel with lovely grounds and a great location. It is right off the main street and close to the lake, but feels like it is its own little world. Our room was spacious, with a fireplace, full kitchen, and walled private patio. The staff was friendly and helpful. All of this for about $60US a night!

  • Liked — Location, grounds, and room
  • Disliked — the hot spring tub was often too cool to use
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,De
Level Contributor
186 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Just stayed 2 days at Hotel Regis in Pana...Great location right on main street but setback so it was quiet and convenient...Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank BARRYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Property: Hotel Regis Panajachel
Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing