We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Pana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regis Panajachel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heart of Pana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location except to be on the water!! Rooms are nice for the area well maintained grounds, but the plus are the spas. Make sure to spend an afternoon or an evening in one. Made from rocks,with two other water features as well as a Mayan sauna, tucked away in the corner near the peacock aviary the setting is pure tranquility. A little pricey and the food too, but you are in the heart of Pana and every choice available is in short walking distance. The shops and eateries of all types and the vendors especially the weekend market are right out the guarded security gate, the best on the Lake.

Room Tip: Child friendly, so if you are traveling with children this is a great fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
88
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the grounds of Regis Hotel. The garden was spectacular and the private, separate, small buildings the housed the rooms were adorable. Always hot water. Nice sized bathrooms and showers and a very pleasant, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again if I ever find myself in Panajachel which I hope I do. It was peaceful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estigirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent three nights here. As others have mentioned, the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping area and close to many restaurants but once you enter the grounds it is quite peaceful. Security was good with someone always near the entrance watching who comes and goes. The room we had was adequate with two beds a sitting area and bathroom. There is no air conditioning which OK since the temperature is moderate but a fan would help. Opening the windows at night helped but in the morning the birds wake up early so bring ear plugs. We eat breakfast at the hotel and felt it was a good value. There is a travel agency right in front of the hotel that we used and were satisfied with their service. We would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at The Regis 5 nights with the the hotel and grounds offering seclusive break from the hustle and bustle Calle Santander of Pana. My room was spacious with a sitting room and walk in closet and a bed big enough for 3. The grounds were well maintained and I enjoyed the thermal hot tubs and sauna with an attendant on site to keep it maintained.(they also raise peacocks onsite) The stone masonry and 1930s bungalow style construction are of a bygone era. I had breakfasts in the guest only dining room (one was eggs with med rare beef tenderloin with fresh danish roll, toast, fruit plate to start, juice and coffee for $5) and extol the staff for helping a new visitor without pestering me. It was a great base for exploring Lake Atitlan and surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinofCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while we explored the area. Our room was at the back of the hotel and had a lobby come sitting room and a bedroom with a small dressing room. We arrived very late the first night and found that the restaurant closed very early so went straight to the very comfortable bed. Next morning breakfast was served to us from a wide choice on the menu.
The hotel has pleasant gardens, an outdoor sitting area and a hot tub which we did not use. It is very centrally placed for the town but away from the lakeside. We used the laundry which got everything very clean but it was all returned one size smaller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It is by no means the worst hotel we have stayed in but is tired and out of date. The rooms are very dark and dingy for the cost. The restaurant was unappealing so we ate out. It is probably best for tour groups as it is central. The gardens were the best part of our stay but we would not stay there again or recommend it as it did not work for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackthornwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen, bedroom and small sitting room. The gardens were a terrific addition to the facilities. We enjoyed the thermal tubs almost every day and sat out enjoying the sunshine after all of our outings with Mayan Families. The hotel staff, especially the maid service were top notch. My wife had a health problem and the hotel staff had a doctor there to help her within a half hour. He even went to the pharmacy and brought back the prescription as well as some Gatorade to rehydrate her. We ate several times in the dining room and enjoyed the meals there. We stayed for three weeks and were reluctant to leave. The only negative I can think of was the noise from the elemenary school next door if you happened to be at your room during school hours. They were celebrating Mardi Gras so I guess they can be excused for being so loud. I took some great pictures of the flowers around the grounds that I still enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#16 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Property: Hotel Regis Panajachel
Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing