We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regis Panajachel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel was small and the town was pretty quiet when I was there. It was right on the Main Street so close to everything, including the lake which is about a 8 min. walk away. Rooms and bathroom were clean. The front desk people aren't especially friendly or helpful. The sauna was nice it got really hot and nice since it was so cool outside (cold front was moving through), which you have to let them know that you want to use it 2 hrs ahead of time so that they can get it hot. The hot tub/hot springs, was always too hot to even put your foot in or too cold (they would try to make it warmer but then it would be scalding). So you have to work with them a bit to get it right. They let people outside of the hotel buy passes so it got a little busy a few times. The massage area is outdoors so you'd probably get cold, if it is at all cool. But they will come to your room too. Lots of pretty flowers and grounds are nice. Only wifii in small area by check in, couldn't get it to work for me.. Lobby isn't open very late, so it is hard to find anyone if you need something. There aren't phones in the rooms either. Dining area didn't look too inviting, so I went out and found some nice places for coffee and to eat. Lots of places to choose from. Pretty basic but decent location. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ones in the back are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ac1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
88
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Regis hotel is an oasis in the middle of Panachel. It has clean rooms, nice bathrooms, a spa, a beautiful sauna and hot tub, good breakfast, and an area to play ping pong or foosball. Being in the middle of town, it is not the most quiet location, but the security is good, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgh_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Hotel Regis on Oct 4-5. As it happened, Thursday night (10/4) was the annual Panajachel blowout festival celebrating San Francisco de Asis (the town's patron Saint). There were fireworks every half hour and music and a lot of celebrating.

I say this because what I can guess is the local school band seems to be situated right next to the hotel (on the lobby side). They were playing all night Thursday (which I guess was expected) but they were also practicing on Friday late into the night, even though the town was practically dead everywhere else. I don't know if it's a ongoing issue or leading up to the festival or during a certain time of the year. Since it's right next to the hotel, I definitely recommend asking about it...or at least managing your expectations. The hotel is worth it.

Other Thoughts:
1. The hotel is gated and the gates close around nine or ten at night (though an on site guard is there to open it for you) and some relatively high walls. Definitely a safe feel and it's quite peaceful during the day (nice landscaping). Also, it's located closer to the lake (further down the hill?) and is literally seconds from a nice group of restaurants, cafes, sourvenir stands, etc. So you get both a secluded feel inside and a "right-in-it" feel outside.

2. As mentioned in other posts, the wi-fi only works ONLY in the lobby, though they also have a connected computer there for public use/printing. You won't be accessing the internet from your room, but if you do need access, the lobby is there. NOTE: the lobby closes around nine or ten at night so get in early if you want to check your email.

3. The amenities are what you would expect; not a luxury hotel, but very clean and well kept. We slept well both nights.

4. As with all places in Panajachel, there is a large sign/warning about not using the water in the sinks for drinking (something about sulfer from the lake's hot springs). A few purchased bottles of water took care of everything nicely.

5. We picked a room in the back of the complex, furthest away from the lobby and local school band. You can still hear the music from there, but not enough to ruin a good night's sleep. Also, there was a mini kitchen and a small dining table (and a small fridge, but it was unplugged when we arrived).

Since we only stayed at the Regis, I can't really compare it to the other hotels in Panahachel (freebies, extended wi-fi, etc.). I will say that we really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely returned (though we'd keep our room in the back by the hot springs stone jacuzzi, just in case the band was playing) .

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms are clean but out dated. Beds were comfy but noise was an issue in the mornings with the grounds keepers and a school next door.
The afternoon front desk attendant wasn't that friendly either. Wifi works in reception.
The location is good, and the shuttles from the tour agency out the front are comfy with lots of leg room, a lot better than the bus with NO leg room fro, further down the road.
Hot springs are good on a day they have refreshed and filled up the water.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

After two gruelling travel days, arriving at the Hotel Regis was heavenly. We had a large room with comfortable beds, welcoming staff in the dining room, and very pleasant grounds. WiFi workds in the hotel lobby but not in each room. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location, Location, location! Regis is right in the middle of Panajachel, located on the main street (Santander) to all the restaurants, hotels and to the docks. You simply can't beat the location. The second thing that Regis has going for them are the natural hot springs pools and spa services. They have two huge stone natural hot springs pools in the resort which are simply awesome! They are hot jacuzzi natural pools which have a mini cascade of hot water pouring down on it. They also have a cold water cascade near the jacuzzi pools. Very refreshing water. Individual showers are also located through out the pools. The one thing I really enjoyed was the Temascal, which is a Mayan steam room made of stone and which uses real wood to produce steam inside the room. Pretty nifty.

Besides the spa section of the grounds, the hotel also offers a restaurant with above average food though a bit expensive. We opted to dine elsewhere, but did have lunch there once, it was ok. The hotel also offers various game tables which we used and had lots of fun.

I would have given Regis 5 stars but for the rooms though, they were just above average I found them to be a bit dated on the furniture and beds and probably need some renovations otherwise, Regis is one of the top hotels in Pana, in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

I would recommend Hotel Regis as an alternate option to the other major resorts around the area. For the value and spa section, Hotel Regis is a bargain.

Room Tip: There are plenty of options, I would opt out for rooms closest to the hot springs pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are a family of 5. We got the triple room which has 2 double beds and one single. The room was clean and quiet and had a nice porch. The girls loved the thermal pools ( the staff lowered the temperature for us.. ). It is right in the middle of things yet isolated enough for the girls to run free within the territory. Breakfast not included in our deal. It was OK.
We extended our planned stay because the girls really liked it. Comfortable and green.
Limited English for those who mind..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom020172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#16 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Property: Hotel Regis Panajachel
Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing