We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms are clean but out dated. Beds were comfy but noise was an issue in the mornings with the grounds keepers and a school next door.
The afternoon front desk attendant wasn't that friendly either. Wifi works in reception.
The location is good, and the shuttles from the tour agency out the front are comfy with lots of leg room, a lot better than the bus with NO leg room fro, further down the road.
Hot springs are good on a day they have refreshed and filled up the water.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and reception.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regis Panajachel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

After two gruelling travel days, arriving at the Hotel Regis was heavenly. We had a large room with comfortable beds, welcoming staff in the dining room, and very pleasant grounds. WiFi workds in the hotel lobby but not in each room. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location, Location, location! Regis is right in the middle of Panajachel, located on the main street (Santander) to all the restaurants, hotels and to the docks. You simply can't beat the location. The second thing that Regis has going for them are the natural hot springs pools and spa services. They have two huge stone natural hot springs pools in the resort which are simply awesome! They are hot jacuzzi natural pools which have a mini cascade of hot water pouring down on it. They also have a cold water cascade near the jacuzzi pools. Very refreshing water. Individual showers are also located through out the pools. The one thing I really enjoyed was the Temascal, which is a Mayan steam room made of stone and which uses real wood to produce steam inside the room. Pretty nifty.

Besides the spa section of the grounds, the hotel also offers a restaurant with above average food though a bit expensive. We opted to dine elsewhere, but did have lunch there once, it was ok. The hotel also offers various game tables which we used and had lots of fun.

I would have given Regis 5 stars but for the rooms though, they were just above average I found them to be a bit dated on the furniture and beds and probably need some renovations otherwise, Regis is one of the top hotels in Pana, in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

I would recommend Hotel Regis as an alternate option to the other major resorts around the area. For the value and spa section, Hotel Regis is a bargain.

Room Tip: There are plenty of options, I would opt out for rooms closest to the hot springs pools.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are a family of 5. We got the triple room which has 2 double beds and one single. The room was clean and quiet and had a nice porch. The girls loved the thermal pools ( the staff lowered the temperature for us.. ). It is right in the middle of things yet isolated enough for the girls to run free within the territory. Breakfast not included in our deal. It was OK.
We extended our planned stay because the girls really liked it. Comfortable and green.
Limited English for those who mind..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom020172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Clean, Convenient but can't really recommend...

The Regis Spa is conveniently situated, especially if you need a parking space. The outside thermal pool and ping pong table are nice too. The rooms, in our case numbers 1 & 2 were large and clean. 

However, the beds sagged inwards, the curtains were light transparent and the proximity to the reception and parking lot all combined to make sleeping a less than easy experience.

Wifi connection was ok but you needed to be less than 2m from the reception desk to get it. 
Shower was lukewarm at best! Didn't take breakfast so can't comment. Staff seem disinterested and so overall the experience is one we couldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRobertss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed in Hotel Regis because it had been recommended by friends and because it was centrally located. We were all surprised that a hotel of this quality could be right in the center of Panajachel amidst the hustle and bustle of street vendors, artisan shops, wonderful restaurants and other businesses. And it was quiet in the evenings after 9 pm which made sleeping very nice. The grounds were beautifully kept and the hot tub, waterfall, and sauna added a lot to our stay. It was very clean with the towels artistically arranged in new shapes every day. The food was better than average for breakfast. Dinner was good but the service was a bit slow. WiFi and Internet were a plus. The staff were helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Around the hotel was a beautiful garden and big mountains and the wonderful Lake Atitlan just a few minutes walk from the hotel. I had a nice room with a new shape on my towel every
morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bontrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $47 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing