We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here recently, my third stay at this hotel. This is a great place, centrally located, safe and convenient. The rooms are fine, and the grounds are particularly beautiful, with flowers and birds, and a wonderful spa area. My favorite hotel in Panajachel. One caution - if you book online, you will get a fairly expensive breakfast included; avoid this if you can, because you can get a decent breakfast cheaper at any number of close-by restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

I lived at the lake for 3 months in 2010 so how I missed seeing this hotel still baffles me. However, when I wanted to visit with my partner I knew that Panajachel was the most convenient place to use as a base. Hotel Regis is perfect. It is right on the main street yet is far enough back that you feel like you are in your own little world. It is an amazing feeling to know there are street vendors, bustling restaurants and alot happening "outside" the hotel's property while inside you are enjoying magnificent gardens, natural hot spring pools and fabulous service. While playing Yahtzee on one of the outdoor tables, my partner lost a dice down the center hole. It was a concrete top and base so there was no moving it. He was upset as the dice had come from Vegas and was part of a set. I mentioned it to one of the hotel staff and the next morning his dice was returned with a smile. Nothing is too much work for them. The pools are lovely although because of low occupancy only one was open after our first night there. However, we had a wonderful time and will definitely use it as a base the next time we are back in Panajachel.

Room Tip: If you're like me and are a light sleeper then ask for a room further into the courtyard. I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel Regis is a great place to stay when in Panajachel. The price was right ($61) and the location was amazing. It is right in the center of Pana, just off of Santander (the main street insofar as tourists are concerned). However, it is behind a bunch of buildings and far enough off of the street to be really quiet. The rooms are a bit shabby, but are super clean. The woman making up our room took the time to fold our towels into swans (alright it may be hokey but the staff really goes that extra mile). The grounds are lovely and include a playground and a foosball table for children. There are two outdoor hot tubs made of stone that have water heated by underground volcanic springs as well as a wood-fired sauna. The hot tubs can easily fit a dozen people and we met some great folks there from all over the world. Hotel Regis has a restaurant, but we did not eat there, though it looked pretty nice.

Room Tip: We were there when school was out. There is a school on one side of the hotel which I suspect may g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The location is central and the staff was helpful but the rooms were horrible smelly fromt he cleaning detergents, the bathroom was old didn't dare to shower there, the beds were old and the room felt like a louzy dorm in a hostel. The hotel is very pricey for what it has to offer. The breakfast was ok and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

 Delightful hotel with local flavor.  Right downtown so you can can walk to the Lake and to any restaurant or store in charming Panajachel .  Free wi fi available in bar area. Great grounds on hotel site. Friendly staff.

Be sure and take a boat ride on Lake Atitlan and visit some of the villages around the lake.  Our favorite was Santiago.  Be sure to search out the house of Maximón  for a real cultural experience while you are there.

If you are interested in their traditional weavings, we found the best prices in Santiago in the marketplace.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in early November. It was a lovely garden setting with the rooms well spread out and many places to sit and enjoy the flora or peacocks. Rooms were very well taken care of every day - including water replacements and fancy towel arrangements. Breakfast was amazing with a personal omelette chef and waiters who carry your food and keep the coffee coming. It is centrally located however set back from the street and very secure. Internet excellent. A bustling army of staff at the ready.
unrelated note: go out turn right, on the left about ten minutes walk you will find Telma - the skirt lady. Choose from her stock or in just an hour or so she will have one made up for you in the fabulous fabric of your choice...also a private boat (lancha) can be just the price of 3 tickets on the public boat if you to wish to visit several villages.
note: there are rooms with kitchens - 1 BR apts available for about $400 a month

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a fairly long trip in getting to Lake Atitlan. We came in Rainy season (Late June - November) which can be difficult for the mud slides which can alter the flow of traffic or just plain delay or stop it entirely. For us, however, this time of year is the most beautiful. Finally, upon arriving we stayed at the Hotel Regis, which is located directly in the center of Panajachel. From here you can do your buying if you are in the business of importing (if you are not but would like to be, see: GettingCreative.org to learn more about the ins and outs) and enjoy all the amenities of staying right in the center of the most commercial town on Lake Atitlan. Most of all for us the Regis offers a quiet and comfortable stay with the friendliest and most helpful staff you could ask for without being home. The grounds are immaculate and you wont believe you are actually in the center of town, for the atmosphere will feel like an oasis depending on your schedule. An additional benefit is they have a full service restaurant which has a broad selection of regional and international choices, all prepared fresh to order. For us sometimes we just want to check in and take advantage of some comfort food delivered directly to our room.
We would say that the REGIS for us represents what we are most looking for when we come to Pana . . . comfort, food and a kind and helpful staff which will just do what you ask without being in the way. Try it and soon you may be like us -- just taking care of business and leaving the rest to the REGIS: from cooking to directions, to tours and transportation to the sites of this wonderful country, or to visit other towns that make the wonderful crafts Guatemala is known for. Good Luck during your travels in Guatemala and when in Panajachel the REGIS should be your first stop.

Room Tip: All Rooms at the Regis overlook the ample courtyard so all rooms are comfortable; if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GettingCreative_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $45 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing