We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas Usa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the Regis hotel in Panajachel, Guatemala in July 2011. First off the ride to Panajachel from Guatemala city is about 4-5 hours by private shuttle. The hotel was very clean and was secure. The hotel has hot water, a t.v. and windows with a view. There is a couple hot spring saunas on the property that you can rest in. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The hotel is all on one level. I opted to pay the extra 5 dollars a day for the breakfast in the restaurant which is connected to the main lobby. Excellent choice, the menu has a list of options of what breakfast you can choose. You get fresh fruit to start with coffee and or orange juice. Then you get Eggs, plantains, cheese, black beans, rolls, and sweet rolls. A very good meal every morning to start the day. I entered and exited at different hours of the day and night. There is no issue in getting in even at 2 a.m.. 24 hour security on the property. Once you leave the hotel grounds take a right and walk straight down the street will run you right into the boat dock on Lake Atitlan. Impossible to get lost. You can walk anywhere in Panajachel in about 10 minutes. The lobby will exchange money for you. The hotel staff will help arrange any boating adventures to the neighboring villages such as, Santiago, San Marcos, San Pedro. if you make it to Panajachel you have to get out on lake Atitlan and venture to some of these locations and enjoy the most beautiful lake in the world. Stunning Volcanoes surround the lake. Santiago is the home of Maximom or San Simon. Maximón is believed to be a form of the pre-Columbian Maya god Mam, blended with influences from Catholicism. Pretty strange but a great conversation piece. I would recommend this hotel. If you have questions feel free to contact.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing the courtyard. Fantastic view to just sit in one of the chairs right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impetiousdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
96
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a really cute and peaceful hotel in Panajachel. It's right in the middle of the main street and of all the action. I got a really good deal through Expedia (45$/night. can't beat that!)

There's a hot tub and two saunas but unfortunately, the saunas were not working while we're there which was a bummer.

We did enjoy the hot tub, which isn't too hot at the end of the day....

Got way more than I bargained for, for 45$/night...Room was clean, the people at the front desk were really nice.
Also, the hotel is right next door to the Atitrans Tour Agency where you can booked your tours to the lake, shuttles, etc...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castafiore002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Regis for 2 nights on my trip to Guatemala. Upon walking off the street and down the driveway of the hotel you will notice the property has a lot of trees, plants and flowers. The hotel rooms are very clean, they staff is nice and the property is kept in great condition. The rooms are very quiet at night even though being in the middle of Pana. There is a school next door to the hotel but I could only hear the kids play during the day. The hotel has a restaurant however breakfast is not included. They also have a computer in the lobby to access the internet as well as wifi. There are many good restaurants and bars near the hotel, not much nightlife during the week compared to the weekend when everyone is out. Hotel Regis is a 5 minute walk to the Lake Atitlan and there is a nice restaurant/ bar called Sunset Cafe that has a great view overlooking the lake and volcano's. My friend and I took a half day tour of the lake and during the tour we also visited the towns of San Marcos, San Pedro and Santiago. If I came back to Pana I would stay at Hotel Regis again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanikai_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I'm not a fan of the crowded tourist streets and I avoid it everytime. When arriving Panajachel to try to find this hotel, I was afraid of what I will find. The first glimpse was very pleasant: a garden entrance and a pleasant reception. We stayed in the backyard rooms and the place was like a paradise outside the noisy, crowded Santander Street. The rooms were big and pleasant (ok, the furniture is a little outdated, but is very fine). The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The garden is very pleasant. The only problems we had were related with the SPA facilities: the sauna that had smoke inside and the SPA services need to be imporooved, because it's difficult to get them, as they weren't available but... nevermind: our stay was very pleasant.
I recommend it, for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The rooms and bathroom are clean, spacious and well-decorated. The hotel grounds are well kept. Great location to walk to the lake and watch the sunset and sunrise. Excellent restaurants nearby, as well as a cheap internet cafe. We stayed at small hotels/bed-and-breakfasts throughout the entire trip, except in Ciudad Guatemala, and this one was one of the best hotels of the trip.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ben_from_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We went to Regis hotel as a part of a month long honey moon in guatemala, mexico and costa rico. This hotel is the hotel I remember most from the entire trip. It was amazing - great gardens, huge beds, very spacious and comforting. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amir_israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We loved this tranquil hotel. It's set back from the street and was very quiet the weekend we were there. The receptionist was friendly and accommodating. (I forgot the voucher our travel agent in Antigua had given me.) The gardens are lovely with lush plantings of more than a dozen different types of semi-tropical flowers. Our rooms were very attractively decorated with native art. The rooms and the grounds were clean, clean, clean. We were quite satisfied with the evening meal that we had there. The beds are very firm, but if that doesn't bother you, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Property: Hotel Regis Panajachel
Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing