We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but very noisy!”
Review of Hotel El Chaparral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Chaparral
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place was beautiful, with stunning architecture, colorful rooms, a lush interior courtyard with a flowering garden and hanging plants, and a sweet balcony for sitting and enjoying it all. However, Panajachel has a very noisy nightlife that continues well into the wee hours of the morning, and this hotel is right on the main street. The rooms that have windows overlook the street and the sound comes right in the room. The walls are also very thin, and people coughing in the next room sound like they are in the bed right next to youi. Also, the wifi is spotty, and available only in certain spots on the patio. If you want a hot shower you need to go downstairs to the front desk and ask them to turn the hot water on. Then wait 20 minutes for it to heat up, and hope that no one else takes a shower before you or you’ll need to start the whole process again. Also, before you commit to a room, be sure that the light switches and all the knobs in the shower work. If you do decide to stay here, get a room on the quiet side. These rooms don’t have any windows, but you’ll sleep much easier

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took a weekend trip to the lake and chose this hotel because it received decent reviews and the price was cheap. When calling to make the reservation we were told the hotel offered hot water, cable television, and free wifi. I did not have high expectations, considering the room was only 180Q a night, but two nights in this dump was more than enough for me.

First, there was no hot water....ever. Every time we tried to take a shower we were greeted by freezing cold water. When we asked the front desk why there was not hot water as promised we were told that it is only hot early in the morning. If we wanted hot water it is best to take a shower at 6:00 a.m. That was a lie because we did take an early morning shower our last day in Pana, and there was no hot water then either. Most of the time all we could get out of the shower was a slow drip of water because the shower head looked like it had not been changed or cleaned since the 60's. The WIFI didn't work at any point during our stay, and the cable television reception was terrible. We were able to see 2 channels, and even those didn't work properly.

Here is my recommendation: spend the extra $5-$10 a night and stay somewhere else. This place is horrible and there are plenty of other affordable options in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishTexasAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had my laptop stolen from our locked private room. Before leaving the hotel for the afternoon we had asked the staff where the boats were leaving from to get to Santa Cruz, so they knew we would be out for a while. When we arrived back at the hotels laptop was missing, however, they left the case and charger. Have been told this is a regular occurrence in Panajachel at various hotels where visitors have reported having their cameras stolen, yet their cases have been left behind. My advice with your valuables, lock it up or hide it! However, overall it was a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The rooms are fairly small and the bathroom is tiny but if you are using the room for sleep only, this is the perfect place. Only $20 a night for two! It has hot water, cable TV with ABC, NBC and CBS channels and free wi-fi( which works best in the lobby). The location is the best on Satander street where all the restaurants, shops and vendors are.

Do choose a room facing the garden and not the street. The street rooms can be noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden. The rooms facing the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cavendish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came here in january 2013 and we loved it - all 5 of us. The rooms are wonderful, outside the rooms there are a big garden with many wonderful flowers. The staff was very kind also. I don't have anything bad to say about this place. The price was really good also! We will return some day!!! WE all loved it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimHakanLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated right on the main street so you are close to everything. They have their own parking area which is a plus. The price is excellent. The gardens are beautiful. It has a small swimming pool and rooms are ample with a teeny balcony. The rooms are clean and have cable tv. There is supposed to be WIFI but we could not pick it up. The street noise is quite clear and loud and goes on into the early morning. The mattresses are worn out; one went all the way to the box springs when we sat on it. Staff was attentive and helped carry our things. We had to back out another car and our own to be able to leave as the man who parked the cars could not be found.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guatechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here for one night in April this year after deciding to leave San Marco on Lake Atitlan (only lasted three hours). The hotel is on the main street close to all the handicrafts shops and restaurants. The lake is a close walk nearby.

The rooms are really big, we had one with two double beds. The cleaning could have been a bit better. The bathroom was very small and dated but sufficient. For the price it was very good value. The gardens are pretty and the pool would have been good, but we did not have time to swim.

A good hotel for a night or two but not the nicest place.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you buy. No need to book ahead here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenjojo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#19 of 29 in Panajachel
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Santander
Hotel Real Santander
#18 of 29 in Panajachel
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Chaparral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Chaparral

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: $39 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“El Chaparral” Hotel offers 20 comfortable rooms in a peaceful environment at only half a block from the shore of beautiful Lake Atitlan. Private Bathroom in all our rooms Cable TV Hot Water Wireless Internet Security box at the front office.Our rooms are decorated with an eclectic combination of local Mayan handycrafts, typical clothes or “Trajes Tipicos” from the area, hand weaved and colonial style beds hand forged. Parking garage Climatized pool Restaurant Conventions Center Quiet garden to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Chaparral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Chaparral Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing