We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to a volcanic eruption (50 miles away)”
Review of Maya Moon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Atitlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maya Moon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Maya Moon Lodge is very different to most places we have stayed at. Different for all the right reasons. We stayed in the Blue Heron room conveniently located not too far up the hill above the Bar area with wonderful shaded (by tree) views over the lake. Stunning sun rises. Room was great for our 7 day stay needs.
It was a 20 minute walk to San Marcos; alternatively the lake ferry launches stop at the Lodge's pier to take you to the other villages.
The food was good and the variety of travellers (and some local ex pat residents) passing through meant conversations were wide and fun.
Conversations became even wider and more fun with the owners (Chris & Fiona) and ****trick whose life stories could probably fill a book.
One morning a tremor told us Volcano Fuego was erupting and sure it was. We could view from our balcony.
Great experience which we will treasure. Enjoy it in its start up phase before it gets too well known !!

Room Tip: Blue Heron very good for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have fond memories of this place. A lake house situated in between San Marcos and Tzununa, is a little hideaway that offers plenty of peace and quiet as well as unrestricted views of the lake. A very comfortable stay and Fiona and Chris are totally laid back and accommodating.

We stayed in the Gecko rooms which were rooms set up for 3-4 beds per floor. Plenty of space within the rooms and big and comfty beds. We had a beautiful balcony which we spent most of our time on. Stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinhMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Amazing little oasis on the shore of Lake Atitlan. Hours can pass gazing at the distant volcanoes and the beautiful blue lake and what better way to do it than at Maya Moon Lodge. Lie in a hammock and let the hours pass, eat delicious home cooked food and kayak/swim/tube in the lake. A perfect place to leave the real world behind. Our 8 year old daughter has decided she would be perfectly happy if she never had to leave here! Great relaxed and friendly hosts and staff, nothing is too much trouble!

Room Tip: Dragonfly is a perfect family space with its own kitchen and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidideB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaMoon11, Owner at Maya Moon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks ,We enjoyed your stay here. Your daughter Amelie was charming and our dogs miss her We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Moon lodge is the sort of dreamland you stumble upon and then want to never leave. The Dragonfly room is absolutely INSANE, with three sets of ceiling-to-floor windows that span the width of the entire house. The pillows and beds are the comfiest I've slept on anywhere in guatemala. The house is set on a sleep slope, so the view is as good as it gets anywhere on the lake, with at 180 degree vista perfect for sunrises and watching boats pass one another the lake. There is a perfectly placed hammock inside the house where you can louge and open the windows all the way to enjoy the breeze without ever leaving your room. But you'll want to leave the room and head down to your own PRIVATE TERRACE, with hammocks, couch, table and yet another incredible view. You also have your own PRIVATE BATHROOM with really hot water and windows that open up so you never have to spend a moment without enjoying the epic volcanoes in the background.

Walk down the steep hill to the restaurant/bar/hammock/private dock area and you'll be greeted by the wonderful staff. There are kayaks and intertubes for swimming and you can dive off the dock into the lake. Everything is very chill and the general attitude the staff encourages is "take your time, do whatever you like, enjoy your stay and tell us how we can help." Twatrick, one of our kind hosts, told us "speak up when you need anything. I'm a miracle worker not a mind reader"

Fiona and Chris (the owners) and Twatrick couldn't have been more hospitable. Even before we arrived Fiona helped us arrange a ride from San Marcos in a tuk-tuk (though you can arrive in extra class by using their own private dock, which you can catch a boat going either direction on the lake every 20 minutes - extremely convienient and classy). Chris and Twatrick manned the bar and served us with humor and patience and were wonderful company. Fiona cooked incredible food - great pizzas and pastas, vegetarian lasagnas, thai chicken curry, and probably the most incredible pancake-fruit-roll (drizzled with honey which they provide for free) I've ever eaten. Everything we ate there was reasonably priced and delicious.

I thought it would be weird AirBnBing a room at a "lodge" rather than getting our own house, but I was wrong. The company and advice of the owners, the relaxed and welcoming vibe they create, and the food they provided were all gifts that we wouldn't have had at our own house. I highly recommend Maya Moon Lodge as a place to stay. The dragonfly room was amazing, and the dorm rooms down the hill as well as the private double room are also great so send them a message even if this room is booked.

Room Tip: All the rooms (including the dorm) are beautifully constructed, have private patios and really comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaMoon11, Owner at Maya Moon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks .So glad you enjoyed your stay here ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can't reccomend this place highly enough. 10 stars! The Mayan Moon Lodge is the absolute best place to stay or eat on Lake Atitlan.It is a great place to recharge one's batteries and feel close to nature. The owners and staff are lovely people, good company and great cooks. The food here is delicious and varied, especially the pizza.The lodge is very well designed, with space to relax, do yoga, meditate, read, study, as well as social spaces inviting conviviality. The company here is great; many interesting conversations over the delicious home cooked food. Fast wfifi too!

MML is such a great value... the location is perfect; all towns on the lake are easily accesible. San Marcos is a short, enjoyable walk away if one needs more bustle. Being right on the lake was magical; this is a great place to feel connected with nature. The gardens are beautiful. The views of the lake and volcanos are beyond compare. I can't wait to come back to this magical spot!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 907Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Breathtaking location. Great food. One of the most chilled, breezy dining areas I have ever seen. Eat, listen to music, read or just chill and doze. The grounds extend from the road to the lakeside with a private dock which is great for swimming from. WiFi is available for free. The food is all home cooked. Just delicious. At night the silence and starry skies are sublime. Cool accommodation and charming guests, some of whom stay for several months just top it all off. Great value.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is a giant fresh water lake! Dive in from the private dock. Breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Randomly stumbled upon this place while researching for places to stay at the lake. I trusted the very few reviews on Tripadvisor and made a booking. Did not regret for a second.

Fiona and Chris (the two owners) are from the UK and have been around the lake for several years. They've recently build this place that is right on the lake. This means everything is new and in good conditions.

The dorms all got seaview, a balcony with hammocks, power sockets, really fast wifi and at night you can hear the waves clearly.

All meals are homecooked and you can easily get them to change ingredients or make a bigger portion if you're extra hungy.

There's free kayaks, hammocks scattered over the place, a small bar with couches just by the lake, music etc.

It's a bit out of San Marcos (20-30 minutes walk), but the public boats pick you up right at their dock, so it's pretty easy to get to other lake-towns.

I can certainly recommend this place. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOP (you'll know when you get there).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaMoon11, Owner at Maya Moon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks , We are glad you found us, We hope to see you again .Booop Boop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Atitlan hotels
2.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
3.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
499 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Moon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Moon Lodge

Address: Tzununa | Tzununa Lake Atitlan, 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Lake Atitlan
Price Range: $10 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge/Guest house. We have 3 private rooms/cabanas: The Casa Suena is our Cottage on the lake sleeps 4 :1 kingsize bed upstairs,downstairs 1 queen bed,a large balcony,hammocks,deckchairs,fridge,kitchenette,private patio area on the lake. Two private cabanas en suite: The Colibri sleeps 4. The Blue Heron sleeps 2 Shared Accomodation is The Gecko Rooms sleeps 10 The Gecko Rooms are a large wooden two level house on the lake with two rooms with new single beds,which can used for individuals, families and groups.No bunk beds.Fantastic views of the volcanoes and amazing sunrises. 10 Beds strategically placed to give space in a dorm style room. Shared bathroom. The lodge is set in a lush tropical garden 40 Metres of lake frontage, Great to swim or kayak,we have 10 tubes for floating on the lake. Easy access to all the surrounding villages. Maya Moon Lodge sits on the shores of the Lake in the small Mayan village of Tzununa. Lakeside restaurant and bar. We have a private boat dock, great for swimming. Tropical gardens, spectacular views,road and lake access. Private bungalows, dorm style spacious rooms, ideal for individuals, groups or families. We have WIFI in all rooms, the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing