We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My stay at La Laguna was heaven on earth. Food was excellent, staff were attentive but not invasive and the setting was amazing. I am going back again shortlyy and would recommend it to everyone needing some peace and quiet, fantastic views, food and accommodation. It was a very exceptional time for me and the that knowledge I gained and the treatmenst I had were wonderful. My next trip will be just as good as my first and probably even better. Go and try it. it is worth it. No TV, no phones, no traffic or sirens. Absolute bliss.

Room Tip: Half way up for views and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello Jean! Thank you for gifting yourself with the full and stunning beauty that is TOSA La Laguna! We are so grateful to have such a perfect and private location at Lake Atitlan. Unlike all the other lake hotels we offer true peace and yet are just a boat ride away to any other lake activities. We are happy to see you again so soon and will do our absolute best to insure your second visit meets or exceeds your first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Friendly staff. Nature at its best-mountain, lake and star-filled sky. Super delicious meals. totally relaxing best spa services ever. Lovely accommodations. Great in every way. I never knew OSS-grid living could be so good.

Room Tip: Mayan suite
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hello Jean! We smile at your review as we are always delighted when people discover that you can be 100% off-grid and earth friendly without compromising quality and luxury! Thank you for noticing and we agree, the meals and spa are amazing! As is of course the stunning natural beauty of Lake Atitlan and our protected nature reserve. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Two lovely men, Feliciano and Daryl met us at the airport in Guatemala City with the Tosa shuttle. Both were genuinely kind and caring. I knew we were in good hands.

The drive was interesting for me in that I had not often travelled the picturesque back way to Lake Atitlan. Upon arriving in San Lucas Toliman a short trip by lancha brought us to Tosa. I looked ahead and could see buildings and footpaths built into the cliffside all the way up the side of a mountain. I was a little doubtful.

Were the foot paths and domes arranged so as to heighten one's awareness? If so, those details worked, for me, at least. It only took one trip up to our gorgeous dome to get over my initial apprehension and settle into the bliss and enchantment that is Tosa.

Lucien and Lira were magnificent. We got a welcoming foot massage and a nice drink, Lucien's cooking was wonderful. We both had the special Avesa treatment which is well worth it. It was a wonderful way to begin our trip to Lake Atitlan.

I thank Paula who recommended this to us. Kudos to the owners.

Room Tip: Choose the dome, I think it is called Zen.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iingua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings Daphne! Thank you for your kind review and sharing. Yes, the Zen dome is a very special place to stay as are all of our domes that dot the mountainside. We always do our best to make sure that every inch of TOSA La Laguna is safe and welcoming and are delighted you found it to be that way. We have placed much attention on the Avesa spa and the quality of our 100% organic Guatemalan artisanal products and the training of our staff. Please feel our heart-felt appreciation for you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

La Laguna was beyond expectations. I could not have asked for anything better. I look forward to returning once again. The dinning was exceptional, and the staff offered service with a smile. The overall experience was awesome in every way.

Room Tip: My friends and I all had beautiful rooms with fantastic views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you Raymond! We are delighted you enjoyed the service and the meals. Creating unique meals with great flavors is always a treat for us and our entire staff appreciates your sharing. We look forward to seeing you again as well. With much appreciation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

To celebrate my retirement, I gave myself the gift of travel to Guatemala! I was looking for a place that would "call" to me. A place where time would melt away and I could "let go" and find a "new" or should I say, a "part of me" I had almost forgotten! When I saw the great reviews about Tosa La Laguna, and saw the beautiful pictures I was intrigued. When I spoke to "Kat", who was so genuine and reasurring,I knew Tosa was for me! I was met at the airport by Feliciano, (with his TOSA sign) who then took us to Lake Atitlan, and the Tosa La Laguna boat. We were personally greeted on arrival and welcomed with a refreshing beverage! ( I felt pampered already!) The "casita" rooms were unique,comfortable and gave one private views of the lake. Exceptional staff,provided delicious and creative vegan cuisine,and great spa treatments like facials ,massage and steam...What I loved most was to swim in the exquisite lake, relax, melt into the sunset, and journal to my content! Tosa, where time melts away!

Room Tip: For even more pampering, gift yourself with extra luxury and request "the Royal Suite"...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrymother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hello!
We agree that time does indeed melt away while at TOSA La Laguna, as a matter of fact one of the most common parting comments we hear is how so many people wish they had booked a longer visit. Thank you for gifting yourself with the time to fully relax, and rediscover yourself. We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had the delight to spend time at TOSA La Laguna in December. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised on all levels.The location on the lake is amazing and the view from the room was great. Wonderful panoramic views of the lake, mountains and volcanos. Before I arrived, I hadn't thought about having any spa services, but once there, had a massage and ozone chamber treatment and glad I did. Both were great. I only had a couple of days, so didn't get a chance to explore some of the other possibilities that sounded interesting.

The staff was friendly and attentive. We had an issue with the water at one point, but it was corrected immediately and with smiles. The food was good and the sunset dinner views from the deck amazing. The lake there is perfect for swimming, though I spent more time in the kayak. Great relaxation place and I will be considering it again for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

HI Anton, We are so grateful that you were able to relax and enjoy some of the unique experiences we have available at TOSA La Laguna. We agree that the views are for sure amazing and even while in the Ozone steam chamber you can enjoy the full majesty of the lake! Many of our guests find that kayaking on Lake Atitlan is a wonderful experience and we are glad you did too. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

TOSA La Laguna is a special place to reconnect with the sacredness of life, all while staying a one of the most beautiful places on the planet. The accommodations are very peaceful and fulfilling, and the food you can tell is made with love and integrity. I've been to TOSA La Laguna twice as of this writing, and each time the effects of my visit have transformed my life is very positive ways, many of which are still unfolding. I know I will visit many more times over the course of my life, and I am grateful for the opportunity to do so.

Room Tip: As this is a "vertical" retreat center/spa, make sure you have the capacity to make the wa...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello Wendy, It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to TOSA La Laguna and we appreciate your kind words and sharing. TOSA La Laguna is most definitely a one-of-a-kind experience and we strive to offer each person a customized stay to achieve their personal goals while on site. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Atitlan hotels
7.5 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atitlan Villas
Atitlan Villas
#1 of 2 in San Antonio Palopo
49 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
288 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa

Address: San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala (Formerly TOSA La Laguna)
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
Price Range: $189 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOSA LL is a unique boutique eco-resort and private nature reserve on the shore of beautiful Lake Atitlan. Located at the cleanest and deepest part of the lake, the center is 100% eco friendly. Delight in the luxurious custom spa treatments and indulge in holistic health programs. All-inclusive, (3 meals per day plus snacks), with personalized cuisine and attention.Each of the five casitas is a stunning suite with tempur-foam beds and organic amenities. Abundant and unlimited clean drinking water along with personalized attention highlight your experience. While on-site enjoy hiking, spa services and gourmet cuisine or simply relax into the best sunset view of the lake.Discover peaceful tranquility, privacy and the gift of boat only access. Easily access all other parts of the lake for day tours and return to your sanctuary in the evening. TOSA La Laguna is designed to accommodate your comfort and assist you to vision your dreams...relax, rejuvenate and discover the unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing