We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful gem”
Review of Lake Atitlan

Lake Atitlan
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Hike Around Lake Atitlan
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Day Tour to Atitlan Lake from Guatemala City
More Info
$96.99*
and up
Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The lake was a perfect place for us to decompress after 4 days walking around Antigua. We swam and basked in the sun, and explored a few local villages. 2 nights is enough to see some sights, but I wish we gave it at least 3 nights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    117
    22
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

To get to Lake Atitlan is not a journey for the faint of heart - but if you don't mind the 3 hour drive from Guatemala City - it is absolutely worth it. We stayed in Panajachel - which has many nice hotels, restaurants and things to do (kayaking, hiking, zip lining, and shopping). The lake is surrounded by 3 volcanoes and is absolutely stunning. One night we sat at a restaurant called Sunset Café and watched the sunset. I have traveled a lot and this is now in my top 10.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and serene”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you find yourself in Guatemala, Lago Atitlan is an absolute MUST. Stunning views, volcanoes, huge mineral lake and adorably chill little towns sprinkled around it. It is rumoured that a swim in the lake has healing properties, so go ahead and give it a try. San Marcos and San Pedro were quiet and lovely. A pilgrimage to Santiago is also worth the journey. Sunrise over this beauty is not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YYZ2SJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The most beautiful lake in the world!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Words can't describe this place. We spent and entire day during our first visit and entered crossing the mountains. The first time you see the lake you will be speechless. Stunning beauty that never gives way....one of those places that is in itself worth the trip alone just to see. Unsurpassed natural beauty.

Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A unique combination of amazing views, friendly locals, and a relaxing atmosphere.

The vibe in multiple villages around the lake vary: some offer an isolated calm relaxing experience, while the others are more touristy, offering the inevitable crafts markets. Overall, this place is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Dont miss kayaking in a flat lake surrounded by volcanoes.

We spent three days around the lake, in Panajachel, San Juan and Santa Cruz la laguna.
We're a family of four, with two young teenagers. I wish we spent more time here. My suggestion: Minimize your time in places like Antigua, and spend it in on the towns or villages around the lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Atitlan also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Lake Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing