We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot miss it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Atitlan

Lake Atitlan
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Hike Around Lake Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cannot miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was only in Guatemala for a week, spent only two 2 nights at Lake Atitlan, felt like I had been there a week! Breathtaking, no words can describe it! You need to make sure that you stay away from Panajachel, anywhere around the lake is where to be. It was the most peaceful place that i have ever been to. I would go back in a heartbeat and stay for my entire vacation on that lake!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    106
    20
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Teresa
2 reviews
“Enchanting place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Tosa la Laguna is a unique place as all it offers is healthy, purifying and rejuvenating. I highly recommend it without any qualifications.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberta, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Don't stay in a hotel on the main street across from the water. It can be a little noisy. Visit the little villages but be prepared to be "hounded" to "buy something mister". We don't like that, but it is the way they make their livings and they ar so very poor. We visted San Marcos, that has a Bohemian atmosphere. Be sure to get a massage from Beatrice and eat at the Blind Lemon's restaurant. Hire a little tuc tuc for a short tour of the area, buy fresly baked German bread at the Yoga Hostel up the hill.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lake Atitlan, Guatemala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

One of the most incredibly beautiful places on the earth is Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. Truly tranquil and wonderfully peaceful. I love the indigenous people of the region even though they have gone through so much suffering in the past three decades.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Absolutely breathtaking scenery. Boat tours availabe make it a very special visit. the vendors on shore are appreciative.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyannBrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Atitlan also viewed

San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Lake Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing