We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Villa Toscana
Ranked #2 of 52 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Chose this hotel on the basis of the reviews on here but was disappointed. A few small points which added up to an overall negative experience. When I arrived my room wasn't ready and so I went out into the city for an hour and a half and when I returned my room still wasn't ready so had to sit about waiting! Paid in cash and the receptionist said she had no change and could she give me it later... She never gave me it and I felt too awkward to keep reminded her. Ordered a club sandwich and specifically requested no egg, as I have an allergy, but sandwich came with lots of egg. The wifi didn't work. No hot water in my shower.The hotel uses their own taxi drivers which at first I thought was great until one picked me up to take me to the bus terminal for 6am and didn't know where it was! Ended up having to call someone back in the UK and asking them to Google directions. Very stressful and nearly missed my bus. Not necessarily the hotel's fault but one of the taxi drivers they personally call.

Positives were that it was very clean and conveniently located for the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    85
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
83
56
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
632 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hostal Villa Toscana is a skip from La Aurora airport. The hostal will make sure you are picked up from and/or dropped off for your flight. If you're planning on spending time in Guatemala City, you'll have to take taxis from this place. There are no restaurants in the area. You can order food in for dinner from a few eateries. For touring Guatemala City, the location may not be the best. But, if you are looking for a safe haven for traveling in & out of Guatemala, this could be your place. For this purpose, it is the perfect solution! Reasonable price. Good breakfast included. The staff is very helpful and nice. Only drawback is it can be a bit noisy at night. The walls are thin & you'll hear the other guests as they come & go. My understanding is there are 12 rooms at the bed & breakfast. There are singles, doubles & triples. Recommended. I'd stay her again when traveling in and/or out of Guatemala.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We (a large group) stayed here a week while working in The City. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the private bathrooms are decent. We had plenty of hot water, but others were complaining of lack of hot water- maybe it's a room-by-room problem? Wifi was excellent. Breakfast was ok- the usual- eggs and beans. But some fruit would have been nice. Coffee was good, and the pan dulce was great. The outside sitting area was wonderful. A couple of cons: no free drinking water and no close restaurants. We were stuck ordering off the to-go menu- mainly Pollo Campero, Chinese, Mexican and Telepizza- not so great after a week. Also close to the airport and a military training facility- so not all that quiet, but it didn't keep me awake either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WetlandsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed just one night in this lovely place ... very well decorated, very clean and nice!!
They have a delicious garden to take the breakfast and dinner or to work if you need (wi-fi works well in the garden).
The staff was very good and helpful.
Just take care about the room that you choose: we stayed a the room downstairs in front of the reception and this room is noisy. Is better to choose a room upstairs.
They provide free pickup from the airport ...

Room Tip: Choose upstairs rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in early April.
We flew in late one evening prior to flying out to Flores early the next morning.
Our objectives were to find a nice, solid hotel close to the airport. You will struggle to find a better place if you are looking for something similar.

The hotel is 2 minutes from the airport and the room includes a freee transfer to and from the airport. The hotel is very safe and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The top floor room we requested had a beautiful outdoor terrace overlooking the Italian themed courtyard.

Reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike80Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iles de la Madeleine, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed there three nights in april 2012, on arrival in Guatemala and before departure. The hotel is very close to the airport: you can walk over in less then 10 minutes. The hotel is located in a safe, guarded area. There are no restaurants around, but the hotel order a lunch or dinner for you. For any restaurant, you must take a cab. The owners and staff are nice and kind. The manager speaks english. The included breakfast is simple but tasty. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Can be noisy if your room is on the first floor, especially if they give you the living room because the hotel is full! There is also some noise coming from outside since the hotel seems to be near a military setting: they get up early and they sing aloud as they exercise!

Room Tip: Ask a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here on my first night in Guatemela (we were on our way to visit a missionary in Shay-la). The triple room we had was very nice and breakfast was good.Since I wasn't feeling well on my last night in the country, I decided to get a private room. They had Room #4 available which had a king sized bed and private bath. It was wonderful and I really appreciated such lovely accomodations at that point in time. The staff is great as others have said!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#2 of 45 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mariana's Petit Hotel
Mariana's Petit Hotel
#1 of 52 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca Inn
Hotel Casa Blanca Inn
#23 of 52 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Toscana

Property: Hostal Villa Toscana
Address: Calle 8-20 16 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Villa Toscana!Since 2007, we are a hostel that offers all the comfort you need to feel at home in Guatemala City.We are known for our friendly service in a family atmosphere.Located in a strategic spot, just 1 minute from the airport and near the major tourist sites and business centres, makes us an attractive place for national and foreign visitors. We offer our guests a pleasant, safe and comfortable stay at a great price. Our goal is to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience!ROOMS AND RATES All our rooms are private and include:• Cable TV• Wireless Internet access• Bathroom with hot water• Shampoo, soap and towelsTYPES OF ROOM RATES• Single: 1 single bed US $ 38.00• Double: 2 single beds US $ 50.00• Triple: 3 single beds US $ 75.00• Matrimonial: 1 king bed US $ 57.00• Suite: 1 king bed, sitting area and terrace US $ 66.00Rate includes:• Taxes 22%• Breakfast: typical guatemalan, continental, american or cereal with milk• Private parking• Illimited internet acces in our guest computer or wireless in all the hostel• Immediate medical assistance service• Transfers airport (Intl. La Aurora) / hostel / airport** Shuttle service is included for up to 3 people from 5:00 am to 9:30 pm, outside these hours is an additional fee of $ 6.00. From 4 people on, we hired a bus for $ 15.00 per trip.We are able to comfortably accommodate up to 28 people.Check in: 15:00 Hrs.Check out: 12:00 Hrs.Payment:• Cash in U.S. dollars or quetzals• Checks in U.S. dollars or quetzals (for national companies only)• Credit card or debit card (6% surcharge)SERVICES • Meals (delivery service, fast and gourmet food)• Hot and cold drinks available at the hostel• Taxi• Tours• Rental cars• Laundry• Luggage storageWhat's Nearby?A 15 minute walk are the Museum of Ethnology, Archaeology, Modern Art, Children's Museum, Aurora Zoo and the Handicraft Market.10 minutes by car, there are the Ixchel and Popol Vuh museums.A 5 minute drive you can visit the Zona Viva, famous for its variety of restaurant bars, coffee shops and business centers.A 15 minute drive you can visit the Historic Center, where are located the National Palace, the Metropolitan Cathedral, Trade Portal and Central Park.We are also near the most famous and modern shopping centers as Miraflores and Oakland Mall, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Villa Toscana Hotel Guatemala City
Hostal Villa Toscana Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing