We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I last stayed here two years ago. This time it was a 5-day business trip. Hotel is very clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet has something for everyone. The bed is a little hard but the six pillows are comfy. Finishes of are good quality and rooms spacious. The airport shuttle is a plus and the location in Zona 10 convenient. The fitness room is very small, with only three pieces of equipment. The machines are very old, even to the point of being dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    105
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
24
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Business stay. This hotel is a great alternative to the Camino Real, just two blocks away. In the heart of Zona 10, with numerous restaurant choices in the area. Rooms are spacious (two room suites) and very well appointed. Excellent soundproofing. Hotel restaurant food is of good quality and staff is courteous and upbeat. WIFI included in the price. The beds are a bit hard, though. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetdriver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Rooms are large, with nice beds and furniture, small kitchen, iron and board, good TV channels and fast internet, although wifi won't reach everywhere in your room. There is a small gym, ATM, restaurant and a couple of computers at the lobby you can use.

Watch out that check in is at 3 PM with an early check in fee of USD 30.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. As someone else stated you buy a room and get a suite. There is a mall right across the street and a couple blocks down there is a nice bar. The staff we more that willing to help but is appears that they only have bilingual people working at the front desk. So if you go to the bar and try to order a drink and you don't speak Spanish be prepared for them to run to the front desk to get someone to translate.(this is the reason for the 4 stars) Besides that the breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. They had a nice mix of local and traditional American items on the buffet.

Friendly tips: Let the front desk call you a cab. Do not walk out on the street and try to get your own,it is safer this way.Take a cab everywhere. When checking in, ask them to unlock your sliding glass doors to the balconies.

I would definitely stay there the next time in Guatemala

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is comfortable, and right in the heart of zona 10, within easy walking distance to nightlife, restaurants and business hotels in Guate city. The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice, and the breakfast buffet was sufficiently satisfying- lots of guatemalan breakfast faves, and an omelette station. There were some significant problems, though- the wireless internet signal was not strong enough to reach the 7th floor, although the staff was very accomodating and brought a modem to my room so i could work. Others staying on lower floors experienced the same problem. also, the water in the sink never got hot, and showers were not very hot during popular showering times (morning at 7/7:30ish). Finally, although the cost of breakfast is included in the price of the room, it was broken out as a separate charge on the bill, which may cause a problem for business travellers who have to do expense reports.

Room Tip: lower floors probably have a better chance for wifi access, but there may be an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had an average experience with this hotel. Staff is helpful and welcoming.
The bad part of my story is the change of rooms. First room I was giving was very dirty, didn't smell good and curtains were somehow brownish. Not so sure if the original color was white. Fortunately the girl at the front desk found another room for me. The second room looked cleaner, better, newer. There I had a good stay, quiet, considering that the city gets very noisy at rush hour. Food wasn’t the best but so far my only reference of Guatemalan food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeros321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent hotel in a good neighborhood of the city, 5 minutes from the airport and good restaurants in the area. Very helpful staff, and there is also a pretty nice restaurant with international food. On my way back, I stayed there again and definately would go back next time.

Room Tip: They upgraded me to master suite and the second time, I was given an upgrade again, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala

Property: Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Address: 12 Calle 1 24 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unmistakable style and Quality, we belong to ACCOR HOTELS world group, with more than 4,000 hotels around the world. We are in Guatemala City just 8 minutes from La Aurora International Airport, located in the heart of the Living and Financial Center City Area, near the best shopping centers. We have 99 suites with 1 or 2 rooms, with up to 4 connected rooms, all with air conditioning, fully equipped kitchenette, safety deposit box, internet, LCD TV, cable, DVD, work desk, mini bar, electronic locks, windows with noise lock. All our suites have balconies overlooking the city and the volcanoes, business center, restaurant and 4 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Guatemala City
Accor Guatemala City
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing