We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Veranda Guatemala
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a great experience during one week in the Mercura.
Room was clean, room service fast and efficient, Guatemalan tasty breakfast, helpful and smiling staff.
P.S: It would be better to just have glasses and spoons in the small American kitchen in the suite, and a box of Kleenex. Try to use the hoover for the carpet bedrooms and living room because when you make the room it's the only thing missing..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goutchou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 274 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Since security is a major concern in Guatemala city, i must say this hotel made us feel very secure. The rooms are spacious and nice with a great view from some of them. Breakfast was okay with decent variety. Staff is very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I booked this hotel for my family of four based Tripadvisor reviews. We had two rooms that were large , clean and comfortable. The location is also excellent. Our problems however started at the front desk !! I do have to state that I speak no Spanish but after travelling three weeks in rural Mexico and Guatemala this had not caused us any problems until we got to the Mecure. Firstly we were travelling with our two young children but they had put us in rooms on two different floors - wheres the common sense in that. No amount of discussion was able to change this situation. Secondly our package included buffet breakfast but as we had to check out the next morning at 5:45am to get to the airport we would be too early for the restaurant which opened at 6am. We asked the Front Desk Mgr if we have a credit for the breakfast which we could use for dinner. 30 mins later I was told no not possible. I asked them to reconsider as I didn't believe this was reasonable why could they not substitute the value of one meal towards another ? 30 mins later the answer was again no. Having spotted their Tripadvisor sign proudly displayed on the front desk I informed them that I would be reviewing the hotel and including my poor experience. Again no change. Finally I asked them if they could provide us with a box breakfast that we could take with us to the airport. 30 mins later I got the call to say that they were giving us a US$13 credit each towards dinner. Obviously they worked out that it was going to be too much hassle to provide the box breakfast and therefore better off to give us a credit for dinner and shut us up. I have to say that the room service meal we received was excellent. Another problem we encountered though was that whilst on enquiry we were told not to drink the water from the taps the Mecure did not provide any complimentary water bottles in the rooms, not even for cleaning your teeth !!! Even in the most remote towns we stayed in during our travels in Guatemala bottled water was always made available with 1-2 bottles being complimentary. After a good night sleep we checked out the next morning at 5:45am and guess what their was no note on the system regarding the credit towards dinner, on top of this they wanted to charge us for using two small bottles of water. Then as if to add insult to injury then also told me that their was a US$10 charge for the in room coffee service that we had used even though there was no notice of this in the room.
Folks this is a very comfortable hotel, well located, with huge rooms and the food is great but this has to be the most frustrating, penny pinching and incompetent management that I have ever experienced from a large international chain hotel. You can't excuse this experience because it's located in a poor central american city, we experienced some of the best hospitality we have received anywhere in the world in Guatemala. Here's a tip for you Mercure Casa Veranda take your management team to the Hotel Cirilo in Antigua Guatemala, Ricardo and his team of local ladies will give you a masterclass in real hotel management and hospitality !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwidadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the Zona Viva. Good location for business travel. The rooms are large and the service good. I can;t really think of the downside except for the fact that there's no pool. The price and location make up for that. Breakfast is OK and room service limited but convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
11
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel service is very good, specially the front desk staff. The quality of the room is also excellent.. The breakfast is reallly good and makes the staying more enjoyable. Location wise and accessibility to the city is also good. I appreciate the taxi service to and from the airport very much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Located in Zona 10, the hotel is convenient to good restaurants, shopping and the airport.
The staff is very friendly and helpful
The included breakfast is a feast.
Airport transportation is an added bonus.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel is located in the best location in Guatemala city, 10 minutes from the airport, walking distance from the best restaurants, bars and discos in the city. The rooms are suites, they have a living room, kitchen, and a very comfy bed. The windows are sound proof and the cleanliness is very good. They might need some minor maintenance in the bathrooms but generally is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_traveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
625 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veranda Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veranda Guatemala

Address: 12 Calle 1-24 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala (Formerly Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala)
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#10 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Veranda Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unmistakable style and Quality, we belong to ACCOR HOTELS world group, with more than 4,000 hotels around the world. We are in Guatemala City just 8 minutes from La Aurora International Airport, located in the heart of the Living and Financial Center City Area, near the best shopping centers. We have 99 suites with 1 or 2 rooms, with up to 4 connected rooms, all with air conditioning, fully equipped kitchenette, safety deposit box, internet, LCD TV, cable, DVD, work desk, mini bar, electronic locks, windows with noise lock. All our suites have balconies overlooking the city and the volcanoes, business center, restaurant and 4 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Veranda Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Guatemala City
Accor Guatemala City
Casa Veranda Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing