We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best hostel in Guatemala city for sure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theatre International Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Theatre International Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The best hostel in Guatemala city for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this hostel over a week when I was actually supposed to only stay a night!
The location could not be better, next to shops, parks and very safe as well. I stayed both in a dorm, a very spacious one by the way, and the other nights in a private room, which was excellent for such a small price!
I would definitely come back there, but above all, the staff made my stay memorable.
Claudia, Camille, Williams and the rest of the crew are also travelers, working there for a while and know how to make you feel at home within few minutes!
To anyone looking for a safe, well located, clean and amazing staff, that´s the place to be in Guat. city!
ps - This hostel has some traveling quotes on few walls, it was definitely a nice plus in terms of decoration!

Room Tip: Dorms are very spacious compared to the ones I used to stay in, in other hostels Private room are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedicte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
19
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hostel is close to the main Street which takes you to the main square of Guatemala City. It's very easy to catch the trans metro since there is a station just next to it or if you walk a couple of blocks you get to the intersection of the three lines of the transmetro. The rooms are good, the kitchen is big, good internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EfrainMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and the other 7 girls who were traveling with me, slept there the first night in the country of Guatemala. It's very close to the airport, maybe 15 mins depending on the trafic. When you get Inside you forget that you are in Guatemala city because everything is so cozy, there are hamacs, puffs to sit on, a fruit tree, ... They put music on to play all day which is really nice. We actually plugged in my friend's iPod for a while. I felt very safe, they lock up the place very good. When we went, there was a guy from Québec city working, it was only his third week in Guate, he took us out to eat, to the market and to walk around the city. They have lockers to put your stuff in, which I was happy about. I really liked this place, it was also VERY clean, bathrooms included. I really enjoyed my stay there, if I go back to Guatemala city, I will sleep there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

All was good,the hostel is clean, is safe,the breakfast is free,hot watter,and very easy to pay,the people is kind, i can find persons of all world ,and i can make good friends.Very good place.I love it.Was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theloveisthereason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed there the last night of my trip through guatemala. the whole crew is very friendly and helpful. they even try to show you an authentic guatamela by visiting a concert together (crew and hostelvisitors) of a local band. Thank you for a special last night!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heyyydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

A new hotel and I can see that they are putting effort into making it great. Are very helpful. We made a reservation for a dorm because that is all they had and when we got their my gf and I asked for a private. One of the workers gave up his room and moved in two beds for us. We only paid 93 or 95q each. This is probably one of the cheapest hostels that I found in Guatemala City. The only draw back was that there is only one bathroom for men and one bathroom for women for all to share. However, they said they would be doing renovations to make more bathrooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naved A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay 3 nights in this hostel and I finally ended up staying one week. The location is great, near by shops, cheap restaurants.. The staff is lovely and helpful and the hostel facilities are good. I had a really nice stay there and I definitely recommend it if you want to meet young backpackers. Would stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eugénie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#29 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre International Hostel

Property: Theatre International Hostel
Address: 8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theatre International Hostel is the only backpacker hostel (with full equipped kitchen and breakfast included) located in the heart of the Historic Center of the City and only 10 minutes from the airport. Our mission is that you have nice time traveling. We are at the side of Teatro Abril, the most beautiful theatre in the City. 38 bed hostel - With two patios with hammocks, a deck, full equiped kitchen, laundry and free wifi. 8th avenue 14-17 zone 1. We have security 24/7. We include breakfast all you can eat from 8 to 10 AM: our famous banana pancakes. Include coffee, tea, pancakes and season fruits. We have the most competitive price in the market so the hostel remains full of young travelers. We have deals for long term stays or groups larger than eight people. We also have a common computer, security camera circuit, refrigerator full of beers, city maps and chill atmosphere. Laundry machines, hot water, green patio, deck for taking sun and common hall so you make new friends. The kitchen is open so you can cook and share meals with friends and save money. The grocery store is right at the corner. We sell ice cold beers but you can buy outside your favorite spirit and drink it at our deck area. Fridays and Saturdays are perfect to go party few blocks from hostel. This Hostel is run by a young local family that loves to travel and know very well Guatemala City and the whole country. We can help you organize your whole trip around Guatemala. Any taxi driver should know the direction and should charge no more than US$10.00 if coming from airport. It is pretty easy to locate the property in zone 1. We recommend to see the picture we have of our front view to identify easily the hostel. The door is black and has a small paper with the name. No big signs outside. We have the Transmetro bus station called "Estacion Belen" 10 meters from the entrance to the hostel. Credit cards accepted (MasterCard and Visa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Theatre International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theatre International Hostel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing