We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guatemala City AND Tikal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Hermano Pedro Guatemala
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Appreciated the ride from the airport and back, especially as our flight arrived 2 hours late. Feels more like a bed and breakfast, as we were in a bedroom of a home. Breakfast was wonderful.

We also took advantage of their property in Tikal (El Remate), but left after one night because it felt much more like what you would imagine a hostel would be: paper-thin walls, crying children, malfunctioning toilet, and primitive bathroom. Perhaps if you like roughing it, then you would love this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

It is not a bad place, but I was disappointed in a few things: one, that I was quoted a weekly rate but when I arrived I was not given that rate and had to pay daily.
Two: The advertising said that breakfast was included but when I arrived I was told that it wasn't.

The problem was that when Europeans or Americans came, the level of service suddenly improved and they were offered more services, including the included breakfast.

So it is not a bad place but I don't like the idea of supporting a business that discriminates.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Guatemala City can be a bit daunting when you arrive so if it's a stop over this place is perfect. 100% perfect. The staff own the business here and up in Tikal and Antigua so you get that extra special care. We had flight problems and get this, they drove us around town to travel agents and helped us out over and over. If our room was in a hotel it would be the size of a suite. The breakfast was fruit and the most incredible pancakes all in as part of the booking. The hostel is classic is design but loses nothing from being a safe and great place to stay. And the wifi in the rooms was fantastic and stable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lazyblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed at the Hermano Pedro for four nights. The hotel is only three blocks from the Zocalo (main square), which makes it quite practical. All the rooms are away from the front street so traffic noise is never a problem. The rooms are large, but all the windows open to the interior patio, which makes them somewhat gloomy during the day. The rooms are very clean, with rustic-style wooden furniture. Cable TV is provided with English, Spanish, German and French stations. Bathrooms are spotless. Free buffet breakfast, with lots of local fresh fruit and excellent coffee, is provided. The hotel accepts credit cards. All in all, not a bad choice at this price...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Hostal Hermano Pedro is a great place to stay especially if you have an early flight to catch. The Hostal is located in a residential area, just a few minutes from the airport. It is a lovely home and you will be treated like family by their owners.

We needed to be at the airport at around 5:30 am and the owners prepared a breakfast consisting of pancakes, juice, fruit, and coffee at around 5:00 am. Afterwards they dropped us off at the airport.

This is a comfortable place where you can enjoy the comfort of a home at a very reasonable price. I have stayed there two times and will continue to do so every time I need to catch an early flight.
Thank you so much to the family who runs the place!

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank r100g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bei Mehrbettzimmern ist Nr. 1 sehr gut, großes Badezimmer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0 mi away
No photo provided
Reforma Hotel y Cafeteria
#31 of 59 in Guatemala City
1 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,671 reviews
4.6 mi away
Huellas Hostal
Huellas Hostal
#24 of 61 in Guatemala City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 61 in Guatemala City
137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 49 in Guatemala City
59 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hermano Pedro Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hermano Pedro Guatemala

Address: 6ta. Avenida | 20-53 Zona 13 Colonia Aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range: $16 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Hostales Hermano Pedro you’ll find an atmosphere different from the other inns in Guatemala and Latin America. We tried to maintain familiar, calm, pleasant and mainly economic, taking care of you with pleasure by its proprietors, Arturo and his wife Isabel, they will make you feel like home. Hostal Hermano Pedro Guatemala is just a couple of minutes from international Airport La Aurora ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Hermano Pedro Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing