We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, safe and easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Los Volcanes
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple, safe and easy!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at Los Volcanes my last night in Guatemala - I arrived at 8pm from Lake Atitlan, tired and hungry. The evening manager was friendly and immediately helped me to order dinner, which was delievered to my room 30 min later! I had to be at the airport at 4am, so missed the breakfast - however....the free shuttle ride by the evening guard was fantastic.
The hostel is located in a quiet gated neighborhood a 2-min drive to the airport. It is not fancy but perfect if you only want to spend $30-ish for someplace to sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
6
17
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here with friends recently and we really enjoyed our stay. Service was really great, room was clean and food is good too. Gaby and the rest of the staff had a good knowledge of the area, she spoke English and was attentive and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were comfortable. The shuttle to the airport was really helpful. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hostel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hostel lots of times when having to stay the night in Guatemala City, which is often, for business. I prefer this hostel to any of the others, because I really feel at home. The manager is very hospitable, helpful, funny and he always wants to make sure I am ok. They have everything you need, hot water, tv with remote control, wifi in the rooms, nice beds, a kitchen to make yourself a up of tea, or heat up food, and the manager can get food ordered in for you. The place is always quiet. I like the fact that the manager is always on call 24 hours, and will bring you to the airport which really is only 2 minutes away. Comfortable, clean, and just very friendly. Will always come back here. Super convenient and great pricing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazzieyazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hi I'm from Canada, the hostel staff treated me as I was in my home in Vancouver. The attention was very good and honest, the room was clean and pleasant. What I liked was the free shuttle from the Airport to the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaMorgan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are ok, the staff is ready to help you with your needs, they even share a beer with me making my stay really fun. Gaby and Marisol were very kind and helpful with our reservation and shuttle arrangements to Antigua and to the airport, for sure if I ever come back to gt city, I will stay again unload Volcanes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great hostal, I loved the service, and the price, Guatemala has a lot of beautiful places, but when the day has finished, you need to get some rest, and this place is amazing, I recommend it.
Everything was great, except my business, lol, but that's another story.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was a great place to a small business trip, near the airport, great price & good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#36 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 57 in Guatemala City
95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quetzalroo
Quetzalroo
#1 of 57 in Guatemala City
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 57 in Guatemala City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Volcanes

Property: Hostal Los Volcanes
Address: 16 Calle 8-00, Zona 13 Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Los Volcanes 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Los Volcanes is located just 600 meters from International Airport La Aurora (walking distance), with more than 10 years welcoming travelers from all over the world we offer you a great spot for a value price. Free shuttle to and from the airport, free wifi, continental breakfast, hot water and kitchen. We Have SUPER SPECIAL RATE $16 p.p. for groups from 6 to more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Volcanes Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing