We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Guatemala City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Not as special as I expected ”
Review of El Adobe

El Adobe
Ranked #51 of 793 Restaurants in Guatemala City
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had late lunch at El Adobe recently. While my prawn dish was rather good, the atmosphere seemed to rely on the marimba band. They stopped playing halfway through my stay and everyone got kind of awkward, including the waiters, who actually were really nice. Interesting decor.
I had this restaurant on my go-to list in Guatemala City and I’m glad I did. But once is enough.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Steinthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2020

If you are looking for the best traditional and ethnic food in Guatemala, you have to go to El Adobe, the best Subanik that I ever tried, the ambiance with the Marimba music is the best experience in Guatemala downtown

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank TonoLopezBulask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

It's not easy to park the car close to this restaurant ,but don't forget to have a goood lunch with a marimba ambiance during the meal . The service is good .Lot of ambiance with the orchestra playing various musics

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alainp559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Invited by a friend to try authentic Guatemalan cuisine, I can not but give my utmost recommendation as flavor and service it is truly great.
Greatest Guacamole ever, and the bartending truly celebrates local spirituous and mixes which only here you may get: local liquor called INDITA mixed with tamarind and hibiscus (locally Rosa de Jamaica) truly a relief from the intense heat... but, as nothing is perfect, too many local politicians carrying enough armament to start a WW3, and the environment with all these armed men really made swallow without much chewing, which is unfortunate if you consider the Salsas and Typical dishes are really great at this place. My suggestion: the place is a
Most for local congress persons (congress building and offices just around the corner...) , so if your are just a tourist or visitor, have this in mind.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nicolas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

This is a unique restaurant contrasted by the busy area of mercado central. The decor is very elegantly rustic with a gorgeous marimba entertainment music as background. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. You will never thought that this elegant restaurant is a few blocks from El Mercado Central

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jsosa196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Adobe also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to El Adobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing